Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
Questions about how knowledge is produced, who produces it, and what "counts" as knowledge are fundamental to the research process. This course focuses on building understandings of qualitative research methods and methodologies employed by geographers to produce knowledge about social relations, human perceptions, and human-environment interactions. The course introduces several of the main qualitative methods available for geographic analysis and interpretation, and places these methods within broader questions of how research is conceived and carried out.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 09/21/2023]; DIST: SOC
In the Library's collections
Students in this course are usually researching their own topics for their papers. If you are having problems finding things in the online catalog, try using unique words from your thesis in a keyword search.
Introductory reading(s)
Key methods in geography by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781529772081Publication Date: 4th ed.Key Methods in Geography is the perfect introductory companion, providing an overview of qualitative and quantitative methods for human and physical geography. The fourth edition of this essential and accessible primer covers the breadth of the discipline and offer critical and contextual perspectives on research methods. ...
The Routledge companion to digital ethnography by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138940918With the increase of digital and networked media in everyday life, researchers have increasingly turned their gaze to the symbolic and cultural elements of technologies. From studying online game communities, locative and social media to YouTube and mobile media, ethnographic approaches to digital and networked media have helped to elucidate the dynamic cultural and social dimensions of media practice. The Routledge Companion to Digital Ethnography provides an authoritative, up-to-date, intellectually broad, and conceptually cutting-edge guide to this emergent and diverse area. ...
The Routledge handbook of methodologies in human geography by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781003038849The Routledge Handbook of Methodologies in Human Geography is the defining reference for academics and postgraduate students seeking an advanced understanding of the debates, methodological developments and methods transforming research in human geography. Divided into three sections, Part I reviews how the methods of contemporary human geography reflect the changing intellectual history of human geography and events both within human geography and society in general. In Part II, authors critically appraise key methodological and theoretical challenges and opportunities that are shaping contemporary research in various parts of human geography. Contemporary directions within the discipline are elaborated on by established and emerging researchers who are leading ontological debates and the adoption of innovative methods in geographic research. In Part III, authors explore cross-cutting methodological challenges and prompt questions about the values and goals underpinning geographical research work, such as: Who are we engaging in our research? Who is our research 'for'? What are our relationships with communities? ...
The SAGE handbook of qualitative geography by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781412919913Exploring the dynamic growth, change, and complexity of qualitative research in human geography, The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Geography brings together leading scholars in the field to examine its history, assess the current state of the art, and project future directions. Moving beyond textbook rehearsals of standard issues, the Handbook shows how empirical details of qualitative research can be linked to the broader social, theoretical, political, and policy concerns of qualitative geographers and the communities within which they work. ...
Where research begins: choosing a research project that matters to you (and the world) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780226817354Plenty of books tell you how to do research. This book helps you figure out WHAT to research in the first place, and why it matters. The hardest part of research isn't answering a question. It's knowing what to do before you know what your question is. Where Research Begins tackles the two challenges every researcher faces with every new project: How do I find a compelling problem to investigate--one that truly matters to me, deeply and personally? How do I then design my research project so that the results will matter to anyone else? This book will help you start your new research project the right way for you with a series of simple yet ingenious exercises. ...
Selected book title(s)
Autoethnography by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199972098Autoethnography is a method of research that involves describing and analyzing personal experiences in order to understand cultural experiences. The method challenges canonical ways of doing research and recognizes how personal experience influences the research process. Autoethnography acknowledges and accommodates subjectivity, emotionality, and the researcher's influence on research. In this book, the authors provide a historical and conceptual overview of autoethnography. ...
An introduction to scientific research methods in geography & environmental studies by Call Number: Baker-Berry G 73 .M58 2013ISBN: 9781446200759Publication Date: 2nd ed.From chapters on the scientific method and fundamental research concepts, to experimental design, sampling and statistical analysis, the text offers an excellent introduction to the key concepts of geographical research. The content is applicable for students at the beginning of their studies right through to planning and conducting dissertations. ...
Making sense: a student's guide to research and writing: geography and environmental sciences by Call Number: Baker-Berry G 74 .N67 2009ISBN: 9780195431384Publication Date: 4th ed.The Making Sense series comprises four concise, readable guides to research and writing for use by students at all levels of undergraduate study. Designed especially for students in geography and environmental science, this book outlines the general principles of style, grammar, and usage,while covering such issues as how to prepare research proposals and reports, how to carry out lab and field work, and how to illustrate one's work. ...
Qualitative methodologies for geographers: issues and debates by Call Number: Baker-Berry GF 21 .Q82 2001ISBN: 9780340742266This book is a critical introduction to qualitative methodologies for those preparing to undertake their own qualitative research, or who need to better understand the processes to evaluate and interpret the geographic research of others. Its aim is to demystify the process of using qualitative methodologies through the discussion and illustration of research in practice. ...
Other library resource(s)
Qualitative methods from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Much of the current qualitative scholarship in geography can be characterized as inductive or descriptive, theory-building work. In understanding human experience, qualitative methods aim to be holistic and to articulate actual causes of particular events or phenomena, thus preserving the context of “data” in collecting and producing evidence.- Quantitative methods in human geography from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002The term “quantitative research” refers to the systematic scientific investigation of quantitative properties and phenomena and their relationships, by using statistical methods. It includes the analysis of numerical spatial data, the development of spatial theory, and the constructing and testing of mathematical models of spatial processes. As geographers know, spatial analysis is very important. The aim of spatial analysis is to understand differences across space rather than regularities. Quantitative methods have been an integral part of human geography since the quantitative revolution of the 1950s. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Geographical literature can be found in many publications. An easy way to start your search is by using the search box at the top of the page. Another method is to use Web of Science. The link is below. It is a very selective database of scholarly journal literature. You can also look at the variety of geographical focused journals through BrowZine. If you have any questions, please contact me.
Progress in human geographyCall Number: Electronic journalProgress in Human Geography is the peer-review journal of choice for those wanting to know about the state of the art in all areas of human geography research - philosophical, theoretical, thematic, methodological or empirical.
Dialogues in human geographyCall Number: Electronic journalThe primary aim of Dialogues in Human Geography is to stimulate open and critical debate on the philosophical, methodological and pedagogic foundations of geographic thought and praxis. It publishes articles, with responses, which seek to critique present thinking and praxis and set the agenda for future avenues of geographic thought, empirical research and pedagogy. ...
Geographical research: journal of the Institute of Australian Geographers by Call Number: Electronic journalThis journal covers the geography of Australia and the nearby Pacific, Asian and Antarctic regions, particularly the nature, methods and study of geography.
Academic search complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.
Econlit by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis index is a searchable database containing citations and abstracts from 400 journal titles to the world's economic literature.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
BrowZine
Internet resource(s)
- Qualitative Specialty Group of the AAG
This specialty group promotes the use and understanding of qualitative research approaches, methods, and tools for purposes of education, research, and public service in the discipline of geography. The group's aim is to work closely with other specialty groups to promote common interests and develop intra-disciplinary projects. ...
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.