Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
This course provides students with the tools and perspectives necessary to plan and conduct independent research in Geography, as well as the ethical foundation for conducting research. The course is structured around the development of a well-crafted research proposal and works best when taken in addition to another research methods class. Through readings, proposal workshops, and peer review, students develop their own research proposal and plan in conversation with the rest of the class.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 09/21/2023]; Dist:SOC
In the Library's collections
You can use one of these subject headings to start your research in the library's online catalog:
- "research design"This is a keyword phrase search in the online catalog.
Introductory reading(s)
Autoethnography by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199972098Autoethnography is a method of research that involves describing and analyzing personal experiences in order to understand cultural experiences. The method challenges canonical ways of doing research and recognizes how personal experience influences the research process. Autoethnography acknowledges and accommodates subjectivity, emotionality, and the researcher's influence on research. In this book, the authors provide a historical and conceptual overview of autoethnography. ...
An introduction to scientific research methods in geography & environmental studies by Call Number: Baker-Berry G 73 .M58 2013ISBN: 9781446200759Publication Date: 2nd ed.From chapters on the scientific method and fundamental research concepts, to experimental design, sampling and statistical analysis, the text offers an excellent introduction to the key concepts of geographical research. The content is applicable for students at the beginning of their studies right through to planning and conducting dissertations. ...
Making sense: a student's guide to research and writing: geography and environmental sciences by Call Number: Baker-Berry G 74 .N67 2009ISBN: 9780195431384Publication Date: 4th ed.The Making Sense series comprises four concise, readable guides to research and writing for use by students at all levels of undergraduate study. Designed especially for students in geography and environmental science, this book outlines the general principles of style, grammar, and usage,while covering such issues as how to prepare research proposals and reports, how to carry out lab and field work, and how to illustrate one's work. ...
Qualitative methodologies for geographers: issues and debates by Call Number: Baker-Berry GF 21 .Q82 2001ISBN: 9780340742266This book is a critical introduction to qualitative methodologies for those preparing to undertake their own qualitative research, or who need to better understand the processes to evaluate and interpret the geographic research of others. Its aim is to demystify the process of using qualitative methodologies through the discussion and illustration of research in practice. ...
The Routledge handbook of methodologies in human geography by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780367482527Provides a defining reference for academics and postgraduate students seeking an advanced understanding of the debates, methodological developments, and methods transforming research in human geography. Builds on and updates previous work in the field by comprehensively situating research in human geography in relation to the discipline's rich history of political and theoretical debates. Offers insights into key developments within the sub-disciplines, and considers the suite of approaches dominating research in human geography. ...
Selected book title(s)
Geography's quantitative revolutions: Edward A. Ackerman and the Cold War origins of big data by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781949199086Do you have a smartphone? Billions of people on the planet now navigate their daily lives with the kind of advanced Global Positioning System capabilities once reserved for the most secretive elements of America's military-industrial complex. But when so many people have access to the most powerful technologies humanity has ever devised for the precise determination of geographical coordinates, do we still need a specialized field of knowledge called geography? Just as big data and artificial intelligence promise to automate occupations ranging from customer service and truck driving to stock trading and financial analysis, our age of algorithmic efficiency seems to eliminate the need for humans who call themselves geographers--at the precise moment when engaging with information about the peoples, places, and environments of a diverse world is more popular than ever before. How did we get here? This book traces the recent history of geography, information, and technology through the biography of Edward A. Ackerman, an important but forgotten figure in geography's "quantitative revolution." ...
Metropolitan research: methods and approaches by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783837663105Metropolitan research requires multidisciplinary perspectives in order to do justice to the complexities of metropolitan regions. This volume provides a scholarly and accessible overview of key methods and approaches in metropolitan research from a uniquely broad range of disciplines including architectural history, art history, heritage conservation, literary and cultural studies, spatial planning and planning theory, geoinformatics, urban sociology, economic geography, operations research, technology studies, transport planning, aquatic ecosystems research and urban epidemiology. ...
Rocking qualitative social science: an irreverent guide to rigorous research by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781503611399Unlike other athletes, the rock climber tends to disregard established norms of style and technique, doing whatever she needs to do to get to the next foothold. This figure provides an apt analogy for the scholar at the center of this unique book. In Rocking Qualitative Social Science, Ashley Rubin provides an entertaining treatise, corrective vision, and rigorously informative guidebook for qualitative research methods that have long been dismissed in deference to traditional scientific methods. ...
The Routledge companion to digital ethnography by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138940918With the increase of digital and networked media in everyday life, researchers have increasingly turned their gaze to the symbolic and cultural elements of technologies. From studying online game communities, locative and social media to YouTube and mobile media, ethnographic approaches to digital and networked media have helped to elucidate the dynamic cultural and social dimensions of media practice. The Routledge Companion to Digital Ethnography provides an authoritative, up-to-date, intellectually broad, and conceptually cutting-edge guide to this emergent and diverse area. ...
Other library resource(s)
Qualitative methods from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Much of the current qualitative scholarship in geography can be characterized as inductive or descriptive, theory-building work. In understanding human experience, qualitative methods aim to be holistic and to articulate actual causes of particular events or phenomena, thus preserving the context of “data” in collecting and producing evidence.- Quantitative methods in human geography from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002The term “quantitative research” refers to the systematic scientific investigation of quantitative properties and phenomena and their relationships, by using statistical methods. It includes the analysis of numerical spatial data, the development of spatial theory, and the constructing and testing of mathematical models of spatial processes. As geographers know, spatial analysis is very important. The aim of spatial analysis is to understand differences across space rather than regularities. Quantitative methods have been an integral part of human geography since the quantitative revolution of the 1950s. ...
- Questionnaires from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Geography prospered as a qualitative discipline until a paradigm shift known as the quantitative revolution in the 1940s and 1950s, in which geographers switched to objective, empirical, and scientific methods (such as closed-ended surveys) to explain, represent, and understand the human and physical world. Quantitative research explained phenomena and relationships with statistical methods. In the last few decades, however, a resurgence of qualitative methodology has been viewed as scientific to conduct research in the vast spectrum of geography. The four most basic types and commonly used methods of qualitative data are grouped into observations, interviews, documents, and audio-visual materials. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Academic search complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.
Scopus by Call Number: Electronic resourceScopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, with bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. ...
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.