Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
Climate is a fundamental driver of populations, economies, and cultures. Over the past century, humans have been modifying the atmosphere through the emission of greenhouse gases. This course will provide an overview of the Earth’s climate system and the physical basis, impacts, and societal dimensions of climate change.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 07/01/2024]; Dist:SCI
In the Library's collections
You can use one of the subject headings below to start your research in the library's online catalog:
- climatic changesThis is the subject heading used in the online catalog.
- "climate change"This is a keyword search in the online catalog.
Introductory reading(s)
Climate change: an encyclopedia of science, society, and solutions by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9798216061960This work combines entries describing Earth's variable climatic history, references to scientific literature, weather record data, and selected primary documents to present readers with a comprehensive account of global warming's effects worldwide.
Climate change: an encyclopedia of science and history by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781598847611The articles in Climate Change: An Encyclopedia of Science and History are designed to inform readers' decision making through the insight of scholars from around the world, each of whom brings a unique approach to this topic.
Climate change: a very short introduction by Call Number: Baker-Berry QC 903 .M382 2021ISBN: 9780198867869Publication Date: 4th ed.In the last few years global awareness of climate change has grown very rapidly - through the school strikes led by Greta Thunberg, groups like Extinction Rebellion, the IPCC's recent high impact reports, TV documentaries, and declarations from governments around the world that we are in a climate emergency. This awareness is continuing to grow, as the science shows us that our planet and our species are facing a massive crisis, which we ourselves have caused. Climate change is one of the few scientific theories that make us examine the whole basis of modern society. ...
Encyclopedia of climate and weather by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199765324Publication Date: 2nd ed.The Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather, Second Edition, is a revision of the First Edition in 1996. In over 330 entries, the Encyclopedia covers essential topics that include the processes that produce weather, the circulation of the atmosphere that generates the world's climates, classification of climates, important scientific concepts used by climatologists and meteorologists, as well as the history atmospheric sciences, biographies of noteworthy contributors to the field, and significant weather events from extreme tropical cyclones to tornadoes to hurricanes. ...
The global climate system: patterns, processes, and teleconnections by Call Number: QC 981 .B786 2006ISBN: 9780521826426Over the last 20 years, developments in climatology have provided an amazing array of explanations for the pattern of world climates. This textbook examines the earth's climate systems in light of this incredible growth in data availability, data retrieval systems, and satellite and computer applications. It considers regional climate anomalies, developments in teleconnections, unusual sequences of recent climate change, and human impacts upon the climate system. ...
A global warming primer: answering your questions about the science, the consequences, and the solutions by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781937548780Is human-induced global warming a real threat to our future? Most people will express an opinion on this question, but relatively few can back their opinions with solid evidence. Many times we've even heard pundits say "I am not a scientist" to avoid the issue altogether. But the truth is, the basic science is not that difficult. Using a question and answer format, this book will help readers achieve three major goals: To see that anyone can understand the basic science of global warming; To understand the arguments about this issue made by skeptics, so that readers will be able to decide for themselves what to believe; To understand why, despite the "gloom and doom" that often surrounds this topic, the solutions are ones that will not only protect the world for our children and grandchildren, but that will actually lead us to a stronger economy with energy that is cheaper, cleaner, and more abundant than the energy we use today.
Understanding weather and climate by Call Number: Baker-Berry QC 861.3 .A38 2015ISBN: 9780321987303Publication Date: 7th ed.Understanding Weather and Climate illustrates meteorology and climatology using everyday occurrences and inspired technology tutorials to engage students in learning about atmospheric processes and patterns. ...
Selected book title(s)
The encyclopedia of global warming science and technology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780313377020In this two-volume encyclopedia for general readers and students of all levels, Bruce E. Johansen marshals scientific work on global warming into 300 articles presented in clear and understandable language. Comprehensive in scope and accessible to all reader levels, The Encyclopedia of Global Warming Science and Technology covers a vast range of topics, concepts, issues, processes, and scientists sifted and melded from the many scientific and technological fields. ...
Endangered economies: how the neglect of nature threatens our prosperity by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780231180849In the decades since Geoffrey Heal began his field-defining work in environmental economics, one central question has animated his research: "Can we save our environment and grow our economy?" This issue has become only more urgent in recent years with the threat of climate change, the accelerating loss of ecosystems, and the rapid industrialization of the developing world. Reflecting on a lifetime of experience not only as a leading voice in the field, but as a green entrepreneur, activist, and advisor to governments and global organizations, Heal clearly and passionately demonstrates that the only way to achieve long-term economic growth is to protect our environment.
Global climate change: a primer by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780822351092Here, the colorful scientist takes on climate change deniers in an outstanding and much-needed primer on the science of global change and its effects. After explaining the greenhouse effect, Pilkey, writing with son Keith, turns to the damage it is causing: sea level rise, ocean acidification, glacier and sea ice melting, changing habitats, desertification, and the threats to animals, humans, coral reefs, marshes, and mangroves.
Handbook of climate change adaptation by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783642386695The Handbook of Climate Change Adaptation addresses the scientific, social, political and cultural aspects of climate change in an integrated and coherent way. The multi-volume reference focuses on one of the key aspects of climate change: adaptation and how to handle its impacts on physical, biotic and human systems, analyzing the social and normative scientific concerns and presenting the tools, approaches and methods aimed at management of climate change impacts. ...
Living in a dangerous climate: climate change and human evolution by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781107017252Living in a Dangerous Climate provides a journey through human and Earth history, showing how a changing climate has affected human evolution and society. Is it possible for humanity to evolve quickly, or is slow, gradual, genetic evolution the only way we change? Why did all other Homo species go extinct while Homo sapiens became dominant? ...
Understanding climate change: science, policy, and practice by Call Number: Baker-Berry QC 903 .B86 2014ISBN: 9781442614451Conversations about climate change are filled with challenges involving complex data, deeply held values, and political issues. Understanding Climate Change provides readers with a concise, accessible, and holistic picture of the climate change problem, including both the scientific and human dimensions. Understanding Climate Change examines climate change as both a scientific and a public policy issue. ...
Understanding climate changes by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780875904573The principal aim of this symposium was to describe the contributions which are made by each of the disciplines represented in the IUGG to the study of climate change. In order to present a balanced program, the Symposium was composed of invited reviews but other viewpoints were put forward during general discussion. ...
Other library resource(s)
Anthropogenic climate change from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 97801998740022012 was among the ten warmest years since record keeping began in 1880, rising above the long-term average for the thirty-sixth year in a row. With so many years of above-average temperatures, nobody born since 1976 has lived through a colder than average year. In the intervening period between 2000 and 2012, each year has ranked among the fourteen hottest since 1880. ...
CDIAC: Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis CenterCall Number: Electronic resourceCDIAC is the Department of Energy's primary climate-change data and analysis center.- Geographic vulnerability to climate change from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Attempts to analyze vulnerability to climate change—both qualitatively and quantitatively—build upon a longer history of vulnerability studies and hazards studies. “Vulnerability” is a widely used and useful concept for understanding the interaction of a relatively broad suite of environmental, socioeconomic, institutional, and political phenomena. Its analysis ranges across academic disciplines, including human and political ecology, social sciences, sustainability sciences, global change sciences, and socio-environmental synthesis, and examines the ways in which human societies are impacted by the environment, sometimes as modified by human activity. ...
The new fire: what if the solution to climate change is hiding in plain sight? by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #21951The New Fire is an independent documentary that introduces audiences to young nuclear engineers who are developing next-generation reactors which they hope will provide clean and safe solutions to the world's future energy needs. With unprecedented access to key people, places, and events, the film focuses on how the generation facing the most severe impact of climate change is fighting back with ingenuity and hope. ...
Finding newspaper and scholarly journal article(s)
To find articles, you can search the individual databases listed below or use the search box at the top of the page.
- U.S. Newsstream byCall Number: Electronic resourceThis database lets you search a collection of current newspapers. Coverage varies from 1980 to the present. You can search a few or all of the newspapers in the collection.
- International newsstream byCall Number: Electronic newspapersInternational Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian ...
- Newspaper source plus byCall Number: Electronic resourceProvides cover-to-cover full text for 23 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc.
The database also contains selected full text from more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc. 
Gale in context: Environmental studies by Call Number: Electronic resourceFrom climate change to automobile emissions, today’s environmental issues determine the destiny of tomorrow’s world. Gale In Context: Environmental Studies provides users with comprehensive information on topics that affect people around the world. You can explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, and more. This resource
Integrates case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more on over 400 topics.
Environmental science index by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis resource provides in-depth A&I coverage from the environmental science literature and related disciplines. Abstracts and citations are drawn from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types.
GreenFILECall Number: Electronic resourceGreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- Climate & Environment from The Washington Post
A section on climate change and the environment from The Washington Post. - Climate Change from the EPA
Understanding and addressing climate change is critical to EPA's mission of protecting human health and the environment. EPA tracks and reports greenhouse gas emissions, leverages sound science, and works to reduce emissions to combat climate change. ... - Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)
The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) is the United Nations body for assessing the science related to climate change. ... - NASA: Climate Change and Global Warming
The mission of “Global Climate Change: Vital Signs of the Planet” is to provide the public with accurate and timely news and information about Earth’s changing climate, along with current data and visualizations, presented from the unique perspective of NASA, one of the world’s leading climate research agencies. ...
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.