Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
Somalian drought and famine, Greenland wildfires, monsoonal floods and landslides in Southeast Asia, and the brutal hurricanes and post-storm neglect of Puerto Rico - climate related disasters such as these cost the U.S. alone a record of $300B in 2017. With the world warming an order of magnitude faster than any time in the last 65 millions years and with more people, material, and money occupying the same space than ever before, it's unclear whether such climate impacts are part of a geophysical trend or reflective of our social, political, and economic choices.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 04/05/2023]; Dist:SCI
In the Library's collections
You can use one of these subject headings to start your research in the library's online catalog:
- "climate extremes"This is a keyword, phrased search in the online catalog.
- droughts AND climatic changesThis is a regular keyword search.
- hurricanes AND climatic changesThis is a regular keyword search.
Introductory reading(s)
The Anthropology of climate change: an historical reader by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781118383001This timely anthology brings together for the first time the most important ancient, medieval, Enlightenment, and modern scholarship for a complete anthropological evaluation of the relationship between culture and climate change. Brings together for the first time the most important classical works and contemporary scholarship for a complete historical anthropological evaluation of the relationship between culture and climate change. ...
Climate change and extreme events by Call Number: Baker-Berry QC 981.8 .C5 C554 2021ISBN: 9780128227008Climate Change and Extreme Events uses a multidisciplinary approach to discuss the relationship between climate change-related weather extremes and their impact on human lives. Topics discussed are grouped into four major sections: weather parameters, hydrological responses, mitigation and adaptation, and governance and policies, with each addressed with regard to past, present and future perspectives. ...
Climate extremes: patterns and mechanisms by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119067849Although we are seeing more weather and climate extremes, individual extreme events are very diverse and generalization of trends is difficult. For example, mid-latitude and subtropical climate extremes such as heat waves, hurricanes and droughts have increased, and could have been caused by processes including arctic amplification, jet stream meandering, and tropical expansion. This volume documents various climate extreme events and associated changes that have been analyzed through diagnostics, modeling, and statistical approaches. ...
Climates, landscapes, and civilizations by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780875904887Climates, Landscapes, and Civilizations brings together a collection of studies on the history of complex interrelationships between humans and their environment by integrating Earth science with archeology and anthropology. At a time when climate change, overpopulation, and scarcity of resources are increasingly affecting our ways of life, the lessons of the past provide multiple reference frames that are valuable for informing our future decisions and action plans. ...
Selected book title(s)
Climate change: what everyone needs to know by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780190866105Publication Date: 2nd ed.From Joseph Romm, Chief Science Advisor for National Geographic's Years of Living Dangerously series and one of Rolling Stone's "100 people who are changing America," Climate Change offers user-friendly, scientifically rigorous answers to the most difficult (and commonly politicized) questions surrounding what climatologist Lonnie Thompson has deemed "a clear and present danger to civilization." ...
Climate change in the Midwest: impacts, risks, vulnerability, and adaptation by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780253006820The research presented in this volume focuses on identifying and quantifying the major vulnerabilities to climate change in the Midwestern United States. By providing state-of-the-art spatially disaggregated information regarding the historical, current, and possible future climate within the region, the contributors assess the risks and susceptibility of the critical socio-economic and environmental systems. ...
The climate crisis: the South African and global democratic eco-socialist alternatives by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781776140541An investigation of emerging eco-socialist alternatives. Capitalism's addiction to fossil fuels is heating our planet at a pace and scale never before experienced. Extreme weather patterns, rising sea levels and accelerating feedback loops are a commonplace feature of our lives. The number of environmental refugees is increasing and several island states and low-lying countries are becoming vulnerable. ...
Climate of extremes: global warming science they don't want you to know by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781933995236Is the weather truly getting worse? When it comes to global warming, dire predictions seem to be all we see or hear. Climatologists Patrick Michaels and Robert Balling Jr. explain why the news and information we receive about global warming have become so apocalyptic. The science itself has become increasingly biased, with warnings of extreme consequences from global warming becoming the norm. That bias is then communicated through the media, who focus on only extreme predictions. ...- Turn down the heat: climate extremes, regional impacts, and the case for resilience byCall Number: eBookISBN: 9781464800559A Report for the World Bank by the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research and Analytics. This report focuses on the risks of climate change to development in Sub-Saharan Africa, South East Asia and South Asia. ...
Other library resource(s)
Extreme environments from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Ecology by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199830060The study of extreme environments is an exploration of the limits of life. Organisms perform a number of basic functions (homeostasis, metabolism, growth, reproduction, etc.), and our water- and carbon-based systems are constrained within certain environmental parameters. Some organisms can push the limits of these environmental boundaries and thrive in what to most other living things are conditions inimical to life. Thus the concept of “extreme” environment is necessarily relative to conditions under which most species thrive. ...
Extreme weather and climate from Oxford Bibliographies Online - ENVS by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199363445Natural disasters and extreme weather events have been of great societal importance throughout history and often brought everyday life to a catastrophic halt, in a way sometimes comparable to wars and epidemics, only without the lead time. Extreme weather events with large impacts serve as an anchor point of the collective memory of the population in the affected area. ...
Geographic vulnerability to climate change from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Attempts to analyze vulnerability to climate change—both qualitatively and quantitatively—build upon a longer history of vulnerability studies and hazards studies. “Vulnerability” is a widely used and useful concept for understanding the interaction of a relatively broad suite of environmental, socioeconomic, institutional, and political phenomena. Its analysis ranges across academic disciplines, including human and political ecology, social sciences, sustainability sciences, global change sciences, and socio-environmental synthesis, and examines the ways in which human societies are impacted by the environment, sometimes as modified by human activity. ...
Rising tides by Call Number: Streaming videoHurricane Katrina. Hurricane Sandy. The increasing frequency of such devastating weather events demonstrates the realities of climate change and rising seas. For many coastal communities the impacts will be devastating. They have been fighting against vanishing coastlines for years with mixed results; often having no choice but to abandon properties and move buildings. ...- Weather and climate damage studies from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002The long history of scientific efforts to understand and predict weather reflects society’s concern for weather’s impacts on life, property, and other values. Damage refers to any number of things that may be harmed. For instance, medical professionals are concerned with damage to public health. Understandings of damage shape political debate about the meaning of weather and climate extremes. In recent decades, the lens in which weather and climate damage is viewed has become tightly bound to the evolution of the insurance industry, technological innovations, and climate change policy debate. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles on extreme climate can be found in many publications. An easy way to find articles is to use the search box at the top of the page or Web of Science.
Weather and climate extremes by Call Number: Electronic journalWeather and Climate Extremes provides academics, decision makers, international development agencies, nongovernmental organizations and civil society with publications on different aspects of research in weather and climate extremes, monitoring and early warning systems, assessment of vulnerability and impacts, developing and implementing intervention policies, effective risk management and adaptation practices to address local and regional needs and circumstances, engagement of local communities in the adoption of these practices to cope with extremes, and information and communication strategies. ...
Business source complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis index searches a variety of scholarly and popular business publications including the Business of Media.- Newspaper source plus byCall Number: Electronic resourceProvides cover-to-cover full text for 23 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc.
The database also contains selected full text from more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc. 
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- Climate Extremes
Their mission in doing extreme weather research is to: understand the processes, dynamics and teleconnections behind extreme weather including heatwaves, droughts and heavy rainfall; assess the role of climate change on current and future extremes; quantify the impacts and risks for society, in particular for agriculture and food security; and improve seasonal to sub-seasonal (S2S) forecasting of heatwaves and droughts to build effective early warning programs. ... - Extremes from the National Centers for Environmental Information
Various records of and trends in extreme weather - U.S. Climate Extreme Index (CEI)
How has the climate changed over the past 50 or more years? In what ways and by how much? Many people, including climatologists, have been struggling with these questions for some time now, not only for scientific interest, but also to aid in policy decisions (IPCC 2001) and to inform the general public. ... - Weather and Climate Extremes from the World Climate Research Programme (WCRP)
Weather and climate extremes are an inherent part of climate. There is overwhelming evidence that the climate and its extremes are changing. As extremes affect every aspect of our society, decision- and policy makers, and stakeholders are increasingly asking for reliable predictions of extremes on time scales from days to seasons and centuries. ...
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.