Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
Only a few decades ago, we were ready to declare a victory over infectious diseases. Today, infectious diseases are responsible for the majority of morbidity and mortality experienced throughout the world. Even developed countries are plagued by resistant "super-bugs" and antibiotic misuse. This course will examine the epidemiology and social impact of past and present infectious disease epidemics in the developing and developed world. The introduction of drugs to treat HIV/AIDS in sub-Saharan Africa will be considered from political, ethical, medical, legal and economic perspectives. Lessons from past and current efforts to control global infectious diseases will guide our examination of the high-profile infectious disease pathogens poised to threaten our health in the future. Open to all students.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 01/15/2024]; Dist:INT or SOC
In the Library's collections
Books on different aspects of communicable diseases are scattered in different call number ranges and libraries. Pay attention to the location in each library record in the online catalog. The following are some helpful subject headings you can use for searching.
Introductory reading(s)
Emerging biological threats: a reference guide by Call Number: Matthews Fuller RA 643 .C263 2010ISBN: 9780313372094An engaging, nontechnical discussion of the infectious diseases and other biological threats that pose the highest risk to humans, presented in the context of relevant environmental and sociological trends.
Plagues by Call Number: Baker-Berry RA 649 .P635 2017ISBN: 9781316644768Plagues have inflicted misery and suffering throughout history. They can be traced through generations in our genes, with echoes in religion and literature. Featuring essays arising from the 2014 Darwin College Lectures, this book examines the spectrum of tragic consequences of different types of plagues, from infectious diseases to over-population and computer viruses. The essays analyse the impact that plagues have had on humanity and animals, and their threat to the very survival of the world as we know it. ...
Plagues in world history by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780742557055Plagues in World History provides a concise, comparative world history of catastrophic infectious diseases, including plague, smallpox, tuberculosis, cholera, influenza, and AIDS. Geographically, these diseases have spread across the entire globe; temporally, they stretch from the sixth century to the present. John Aberth considers not only the varied impact that disease has had upon human history but also the many ways in which people have been able to influence diseases simply through their cultural attitudes toward them. ...
Plagues upon the Earth: disease and the course of human history by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780691192123Plagues upon the Earth is a monumental history of humans and their germs. Weaving together a grand narrative of global history with insights from cutting-edge genetics, Kyle Harper explains why humanity's uniquely dangerous disease pool is rooted deep in our evolutionary past, and why its growth is accelerated by technological progress. He shows that the story of disease is entangled with the history of slavery, colonialism, and capitalism, and reveals the enduring effects of historical plagues in patterns of wealth, health, power, and inequality. ...
Routledge handbook of health geography by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138098046The places of our daily life affect our health, well-being, and receipt of health care in complex ways. The connection between health and place has been acknowledged for centuries, and the contemporary discipline of health geography sets as its core mission to uncover and explicate all facets of this connection. The Routledge Handbook of Health Geography features 52 chapters from leading international thinkers that collectively characterize the breadth and depth of current thinking on the health-place connection. ...
The Wiley-Blackwell encyclopedia of globalization by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781405188241This five-volume Encyclopedia contains over 600 entries on the essential topics of Globalization and is the definitive reference resource for students, researchers and academics in the field.
Selected book title(s)
America's forgotten pandemic: the influenza of 1918 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780521541756Publication Date: 2nd ed.Between August 1918 and March 1919 the Spanish influenza spread worldwide, claiming over 25 million lives - more people than perished in the fighting of the First World War. It proved fatal to at least a half-million Americans. Yet, the Spanish flu pandemic is largely forgotten today. In this vivid narrative, Alfred W. Crosby recounts the course of the pandemic during the panic-stricken months of 1918 and 1919, measures its impact on American society, and probes the curious loss of national memory of this cataclysmic event. This 2003 edition includes a preface discussing the then recent outbreaks of diseases, including the Asian flu and the SARS epidemic.
Contagion: how commerce has spread disease by Call Number: Baker-Berry RA 651 .H37 2012ISBN: 9780300123579Much as we take comfort in the belief that modern medicine and public health tactics can protect us from horrifying contagious diseases, such faith is dangerously unfounded. So demonstrates Mark Harrison in this path breaking investigation of the intimate connections between trade and disease throughout modern history. For centuries commerce has been the single most important factor in spreading diseases to different parts of the world, the author shows, and today the same is true. But in today's global world, commodities and germs are circulating with unprecedented speed. ...
Emerging infectious diseases: a guide to diseases, causative agents, and surveillance by Call Number: Matthews Fuller RA 643 .B45 2011ISBN: 9780470398036This important resource offers a comprehensive introduction to emerging and reemerging infectious disease, including the underlying mechanisms of microbial emergence, the technology used to detect them and the strategies available to contain them.
Medicalising borders: selection, containment and quarantine since 1800 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781526154668The research of pandemics, epidemics, and pathogens like COVID-19 reaches far beyond the scope of biomedicine. It is not only an objective for the health, political and social sciences, but epidemics and pandemics are a matter of geography: foci and vectors of communicable diseases continue to test the efficacy of medical control at state borders. This volume illuminates these issues from various disciplinary viewpoints. ...
Other library resource(s)
The atlas of disease: mapping deadly epidemics and contagion from the plague to the zika virus by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781781317907Provides a fascinating cartographic insight into the worlds most deadly diseases and epidemics.
Frontline. Outbreak by Call Number: Streaming videoWhy wasn't the Ebola outbreak stopped? When the largest Ebola outbreak on record began to devastate West Africa, why did it take so long for the world to respond? This film tells the vivid, inside story of how and why the Ebola outbreak in West Africa wasn't stopped before it was too late, drawing on revelatory and candid admissions of failure from key government and public health officials, including the President of Liberia, the Director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and multiple top World Health Organization officials.
Mapping COVID-19 by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe Dartmouth Health Atlas from The Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy & Clinical Practice is using data from The New York Times and various governmental agencies to map the incidents of infection and death of COVID-19.
Medical geography from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Medical geography is concerned with the analysis of spatial patterns of disease and health care provision. John M. Hunter famously defined the field as “the application of geographical concepts and techniques to health-related problems” (Hunter 1974, p. 3; cited under General Overviews). This definition of geography is human-environment interaction through time and space and conceptualizes environmental influences broadly to include the biophysical, built, and social environments. ...
PolicyMap by Call Number: Electronic resourcePolicyMap is a fully web-based online data and mapping application that gives you access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more.
Social ExplorerCall Number: Electronic resourceTheir objective is to help you visually analyze and understand the demography of the U.S. through the use of interactive maps and data reports. You can map all types of demographic data including immigration.
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles and other writings about communicable diseases can be found in many publications. Our collection includes several journals which look at communicable diseases including AIDS. You can use the search box at the top of the page to find relevant articles.
Current infectious disease reportsCall Number: Electronic journalCurrent Infectious Disease Reports provides in-depth review articles contributed by international experts on the most significant developments in the field. By presenting clear, insightful, balanced reviews that emphasize recently published papers of major importance, the journal elucidates current and emerging approaches to the diagnosis, treatment, management, and prevention of infectious disease.- Emerging health threats journalCall Number: Electronic journalThis journal ended publication in 2016.
PubMed by Call Number: Electronic resourceProvides bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature, including biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
Academic search complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- Coronavirus (COVID-19) from the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
This page highlights data on COVID-19 from the Centers. - COVID-19 Demographic and Economic Resources from the U.S. Census Bureau
This site provides users demographic risk factor variables along with economic data on 20 key industries impacted by Coronavirus. - COVID-19 Tracking Project
The COVID Tracking Project is a volunteer organization launched from The Atlantic and dedicated to collecting and publishing the data required to understand the COVID-19 outbreak in the United States. - Johns Hopkins Coronavirus Resource CenterTheir website is a resource to help advance the understanding of the virus, inform the public, and brief policymakers in order to guide a response, improve care, and save lives.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.