Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description for GEOG 22.02
This course explores causes and patterns of global poverty and links this with the urgent need for care and care ethics in our lives and in society broadly. We will focus particularly on how care work is devalued and globalized through international flows of care that contribute to global inequality. Through our analysis of global interconnections we will think about our responsibilities to care for those who are near and those who are across the globe.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 09/22/2023] DISTR: INT or SOC
In the Library's collections
You can use one of these subject headings to start your research in the library's online catalog:
- global povertyThis is a keyword search in the online catalog.
- "global poverty"This is a phrase, keyword search in the online catalog.
- poverty AND globalizationThis is a subject, keyword search.
- "care work"This is a keyword search.
Introductory reading(s)
Caring on the clock: the complexities and contradictions of paid care work by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780813563114A nurse inserts an I.V. A personal care attendant helps a quadriplegic bathe and get dressed. A nanny reads a bedtime story to soothe a child to sleep. Every day, workers like these provide critical support to some of the most vulnerable members of our society. Caring on the Clock provides a wealth of insight into these workers, who take care of our most fundamental needs, often at risk to their own economic and physical well-being. Caring on the Clock is the first book to bring together cutting-edge research on a wide range of paid care occupations, and to place the various fields within a comprehensive and comparative framework across occupational boundaries.
Making care count: a century of gender, race, and paid care work by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780813549613There are fundamental tasks common to every society: children have to be raised, homes need to be cleaned, meals need to be prepared, and people who are elderly, ill, or disabled need care. Day in, day out, these responsibilities can involve both monotonous drudgery and untold rewards for those performing them, whether they are family members, friends, or paid workers. These are jobs that cannot be outsourced, because they involve the most intimate spaces of our everyday lives--our homes, our bodies, and our families. Mignon Duffy uses a historical and comparative approach to examine and critique the entire twentieth-century history of paid care work--including health care, education and child care, and social services--drawing on an in-depth analysis of U.S. Census data as well as a range of occupational histories. Making Care Count focuses on change and continuity in the social organization along with cultural construction of the labor of care and its relationship to gender, racial-ethnic, and class inequalities.
Time use studies and unpaid care work by Call Number: Baker-Berry HD 69 .T54 T488 2010ISBN: 9780415882248Across the world, unpaid care work - unpaid housework, care of persons, and "volunteer" work - is done predominantly by women. This book presents and compares unpaid care work patterns in seven different countries. It analyzes data drawn from large-scale time use surveys carried out under the auspices of the United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD). With its in-depth concentration on time use patterns in developing nations, this book will offer many new insights for scholars of gender and care.
Towards a global history of domestic and caregiving workers by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789004280137Domestic and caregiving work has been at the core of human existence throughout history. Poorly paid or even unpaid, this work has been assigned to women in most societies and occasionally to men often as enslaved, indentures, "adopted" workers. While some use domestic service as training for their own future independent households, others are confined to it for life and try to avoid damage to their identities. Employment conditions are even worse in colonizer-colonized dichotomies, in which the subalternized have to run the households of administrators who believe they are running an empire. ...
Selected book title(s)
Care work and class: domestic workers' struggle for equal rights in Latin America by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780271053271Despite constitutions that enshrine equality, until recently every state in Latin America permitted longer working hours (in some cases more than double the hours) and lower benefits for domestic workers than other workers. This has, in effect, subsidized a cheap labor force for middle- and upper-class families and enabled well-to-do women to enter professional labor markets without having to negotiate household and care work with their male partners. While elite resistance to reform has been widespread, during the past fifteen years a handful of countries have instituted equal rights. In Care Work and Class, Merike Blofield examines how domestic workers; mobilization, strategic alliances, and political windows of opportunity, mostly linked to left-wing executive and legislative allies, can lead to improved rights even in a region as unequal as Latin America. Blofield also examines the conditions that lead to better enforcement of rights.
Forced to care: coercion and caregiving in America by Call Number: Baker-Berry HV 1451 .G64 2010ISBN: 9780674048799The United States faces a growing crisis in care. The number of people needing care is growing while the ranks of traditional caregivers have shrunk. The status of care workers is a critical concern. Evelyn Nakano Glenn offers an innovative interpretation of care labor in the United States by tracing the roots of inequity along two interconnected strands: unpaid caring within the family; and slavery, indenture, and other forms of coerced labor. By bringing both into the same analytic framework, she provides a convincing explanation of the devaluation of care work and the exclusion of both unpaid and paid care workers from critical rights such as minimum wage, retirement benefits, and workers' compensation. Glenn reveals how assumptions about gender, family, home, civilization, and citizenship have shaped the development of care labor and been incorporated into law and social policies.
Making care work: employed mothers in the new childcare market by Call Number: Baker-Berry HQ 778.63 .U77 2002ISBN: 9780813531113As ever more women work outside the home, ever more families employ childcare workers. In the absence of government regulations or social models that clearly define the childcare provider's role, mothers worry about the quality of care their children are getting. By connecting the personal level of mothers' daily experiences to the larger political, economic, and ideological context of childcare, Lynet Uttal describes and explains how mothers rely on their relationship with the providers to monitor and influence the quality of care their children receive. Whereas other studies have emphasized how mothers undervalue and exploit providers, this book paints a more nuanced picture, arguing that the ties between adults who share in the care of children creates neither heroes nor victims. ...
Transnationalism in the global city by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9788498303148This volume includes papers particularly relevant to the research topic of the Intensive Programme held at the University of Southern Denmark June 27th to July 9th in 2010 on Transnationalism in the Global City. Transnationalism in the Global City focuses on an exciting and highly relevant research topic in the European context.
Other library resource(s)
Find more films on poverty in the online catalog.
The end of poverty? by Call Number: Streaming videoPoverty is not an accident. It began with military conquest, slavery and colonization that resulted in the seizure of land, minerals and forced labor. Today, global poverty has reached new levels because of unfair debt, trade and tax policies -- in other words, wealthy countries exploiting the weaknesses of poor, developing countries. The End of Poverty asks why today 20% of the planet's population uses 80% of its resources and consumes 30% more than the planet can regenerate.
NationMaster.comCall Number: Electronic resourceThis is a massive, central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Using the form above, you can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.
The world factbook by Call Number: eBookThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Finding newspapers and scholarly journal article(s)
To find newspaper articles, you can search individual databases such as Factiva, the Newsstream databases or Business Source Ultimate. Or you go to the Library catalog and search using the Newspaper link at the top of the page. You can also start your search in the box at the top of the page for scholarly articles.
Academic search complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.
Business source complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis index searches a variety of scholarly and popular business publications including the Business of Media.- Factiva byCall Number: Electronic resourceFactiva provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, transcripts and media programs.
- U.S. Newsstream byCall Number: Electronic resourceThis database lets you search a collection of current newspapers. Coverage varies from 1980 to the present. You can search a few or all of the newspapers in the collection.
- International newsstream byCall Number: Electronic newspapersInternational Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian ...
- Newspaper source plus byCall Number: Electronic resourceProvides cover-to-cover full text for 23 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc.
The database also contains selected full text from more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc. 
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Looking for maps
If you're looking for good, accurate base maps you can use in presentations and papers, here are some sites:
- CIA World Factbook - Country Maps
The Perry-Castañeda Library at UT Austin has digitized all the maps from the Factbook from 1995 to the present. It can give an historical overview for a country. - The World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Poster information
If you have never created a poster before, the Office of Undergraduate Advising & Research has a posted guide to help you.
Internet resource(s)
- Caregiver Statistics: Demographics - Family Caregiver Alliance
A caregiver—sometimes called an informal caregiver—is an unpaid individual (for example, a spouse, partner, family member, friend, or neighbor) involved in assisting others with activities of daily living and/or medical tasks. Formal caregivers are paid care providers providing care in one’s home or in a care setting (day care, residential facility, long-term care facility). For the purposes of the present fact sheet, displayed statistics generally refer to caregivers of adults. ... - Healthcare Support Occupations from the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
The Healthcare Support Occupations group includes Home Health and Personal Care Aides. - National Alliance for Caregiving
The National Alliance for Caregiving is a non-profit coalition of national organizations who share a vision of a society that values, supports and empowers family caregivers to thrive at home, work and life. Its mission is to build partnerships in research, advocacy, and innovation to make life better for family caregivers. ...
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.