Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description for Social Justice and the City
This course explores issues of social justice and cities in terms of the spatial unevenness of money and power within and among cities, between cities and their hinterlands, and between cities of the world. We will examine how multiple dynamic geographic processes produce spatial and social inequalities that make cities the locus of numerous social justice issues. We will also look at how urban communities and social groups are engaged in working for social change.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 09/25/2023]; Dist:SOC; WCult:CI
In the Library's collections
You can use one of these subject headings to start your research in the library's online catalog:
- social justice AND urbanThis is a keyword search.
- social change AND urbanThis is a keyword search.
- environmental justice AND urbanThis is a keyword search.
- distributive justice AND urbanThis is a keyword search.
Introductory reading(s)
Encyclopedia of American social movements by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780765680457This four-volume set examines every social movement in American history - from the great struggles for abolition, civil rights, and women's equality to the more specific quests for prohibition, consumer safety, unemployment insurance, and global justice.
The green city and social injustice: 21 tales from North America and Europe by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781003183273The Green City and Social Injustice examines the recent urban environmental trajectory of 21 cities in Europe and North America over a 20-year period. It analyses the circumstances under which greening interventions can create a new set of inequalities for socially vulnerable residents while also failing to eliminate other environmental risks and impacts. ...
International encyclopedia of geography: people, the Earth, environment, and technology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780470659632Representing the definitive reference work for this broad and dynamic field, The International Encyclopedia of Geography arises from an unprecedented collaboration between Wiley and the American Association of Geographers (AAG) to review and define the concepts, research, and techniques in geography and interrelated fields. The Encyclopedia assembles a truly global group of scholars for a comprehensive, authoritative overview of geography around the world.
Moral geographies: ethics in a world of difference by Call Number: Baker-Berry GE 42 .S57 2000ISBN: 9780748612796This book explores the interface between geography, ethics and morality. It considers questions that have haunted the past, are subjects of controversy in the present, and which affect the future. Does distance diminish responsibility? Should we interfere with the lives of those we do not know? Is there a distinction between private and public space? Which values and morals, if any, are absolute, and which cultural, communal or personal? And are universal rights consistent with respect for difference? David Smith shows how these questions play themselves out in politics, planning, development, social and personal relations, the exploitation of resources, and competition for territory. ...
Social justice and the city by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780820334035Throughout his distinguished and influential career, David Harvey has defined and redefined the relationship between politics, capitalism, and the social aspects of geographical theory. Laying out Harvey's position that geography could not remain objective in the face of urban poverty and associated ills, Social Justice and the City is perhaps the most widely cited work in the field. Harvey analyzes core issues in city planning and policy--employment and housing location, zoning, transport costs, concentrations of poverty--asking in each case about the relationship between social justice and space. ...
Social justice in diverse suburbs: history, politics, and prospects by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781439910504American suburbs have been seen as both exclusive idylls for elites as well as crucibles for new ideologies of gender, class, race, and property. But few have considered what the growing diversity of suburban America has meant for progressive social, economic, and political justice movements. ...
Selected book title(s)
Closing the rights gap: from human rights to social transformation by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780520283091Do "human rights"--as embodied in constitutions, national laws, and international agreements--foster improvements in the lives of the poor or otherwise marginalized populations? ...
Dark ghettos: injustice, dissent, and reform by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780674970502Why do American ghettos persist? Decades after Moynihan's report on the black family and the Kerner Commission's investigations of urban disorders, deeply disadvantaged black communities remain a disturbing reality. Scholars and commentators today often identify some factor--such as single motherhood, joblessness, or violent street crime--as the key to solving the problem and recommend policies accordingly. But, Tommie Shelby argues, these attempts to "fix" ghettos or "help" their poor inhabitants ignore fundamental questions of justice and fail to see the urban poor as moral agents responding to injustice. Drawing on liberal-egalitarian philosophy and informed by leading social science research, Dark Ghettos examines the thorny questions of political morality raised by ghettos. ...
Diversity, social justice, and inclusive excellence by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781438451633An interdisciplinary anthology exploring issues related to diversity, multiculturalism, and social justice.
Form and flow: the spatial politics of urban resilience and climate justice by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780262367066An examination of urban climate change response strategies and the resistance to them by grassroots activists and social movements.
The geography of the everyday: toward an understanding of the given by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780820351681Anthropologists, psychologists, feminists, and sociologists have long studied the "everyday," the quotidian, the taken-for-granted; however, geographers have lagged behind in engaging with this slippery aspect of reality. Now, Rob Sullivan makes the case for geography as a powerful conceptual framework for seeing the everyday anew and for pushing back against its "givenness": its capacity to so fade into the background that it controls us in dangerously unexamined ways. Drawing on a number of theorists (Foucault, Goffman, Marx, Lefebvre, Hägerstrand, and others), Sullivan unpacks the concepts and perceived realities that structure everyday life while grounding them in real-world cases, such as Nigeria's troubled oil network, the working poor in the United States, China's urban villages, and ultra-high-end housing in London and Cairo. ...
Promoting diversity and social justice: educating people from privileged groups by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780415872874Publication Date: 2nd ed.Promoting Diversity and Social Justice provides theories, perspectives, and strategies that are useful for working with adults from privileged groups--those who are in a more powerful position in any given type of oppression. The thoroughly revised edition of this accessible and practical guide offers tools that allow educators to be more reflective and intentional in their work--helping them to consider who they're working with, what they're doing, why they're doing it and how to educate more effectively. ...
What is enough?: sufficiency, justice, and health by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199385263What is a just way of spending public resources for health and health care? Several significant answers to this question are under debate. Public spending could aim to promote greater equality in health, for example, or maximize the health of the population, or provide the worst off with the best possible health. Another approach is to aim for each person to have "enough" so that her health or access to health care does not fall under a critical level. This latter approach is called sufficientarian. Sufficientarian approaches to distributive justice are intuitively appealing, but require further analysis and assessment. What exactly is sufficiency? Why do we need it? What does it imply for the just distribution of health or healthcare? ...
Working faith: faith-based organizations and urban social justice by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781842277430This book tells the story of a number of different faith-based organizations based in different parts of Europe, but characterized by the same set of goals and aspirations to bring faith-inspired action into contexts of social injustice and marginalization in urban areas.
Other library resource(s)
How to start a revolution by Call Number: Streaming videoIn this fascinating new film, first-time director Ruaridh Arrow details how an obscure list of nonviolent actions authored by Gene Sharp in 1973 has served as a blueprint for anti-authoritarian revolts everywhere from Eastern Europe and the Balkans to the Arab Spring uprisings in Egypt and Tunisia.
Social justice from the Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Originating from religious doctrine, social justice is concerned with ensuring equitable rights for members of a society regardless of identity, including such markers as race, class, gender, or religion. Endeavors of social justice focus on securing equal social status and economic and political rights for disadvantaged groups. While discussions may have historically concentrated on race, class, or gender, the conversation is expanding. Sexuality, housing status, and environmental vulnerability are now topics included in geographical studies of social justice. Academic research and social activism aims to combat those relegated to society’s sidelines. ...
Social justice in action: examples of practice and visions of the future by Call Number: Streaming videoConcrete illustrations of social justice interventions are presented for diverse settings, schools, health agencies, marginalized communities, career counseling, international work, and policy and legislation. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Our collection includes several journals which look at Social Justice exclusively. I've listed several journal titles which may be of interest. Because Social Justice is very interdisciplinary, it might be easier to use the search box at the top of the page to find articles.
- Studies in social justiceCall Number: Electronic journalStudies in Social Justice publishes articles, dispatches and creative works relating to the social, cultural, economic, environmental, political, and philosophical problems associated with struggles for social justice. The journal aims to publish work that links theory to social change and the analysis of substantive issues.
Social justice and the city by Call Number: Electronic journalThis is a special issue devoted to social justice and the city. [vol. 108, no. 2]
Genderwatch by Call Number: Electronic resourceBesides covering the everyday lives of women, Genderwatch also includes the impact of gender and gender roles on areas such as: the arts, popular culture and media, business and work, crime and criminology, education, research and scholarship, family, health care and medicine, politics, policy and legislation, pornography, religion, sexuality and sexology, sports and leisure.
Women's studies international by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis resource includes references from a variety of Women's Studies bibliographic databases.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.