Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
This course introduces key approaches to the geographic study of nature-society relations. It is organized around four topical themes (health, climate, energy, and environmental justice) as well as four analytical approaches (political ecology, coupled human-natural systems, non-Western natures, and the environmental humanities). Applying these frameworks to diverse case studies will help us understand how social processes drive ecological transformations, and how those transformations are experienced and understood by societies in different geographical contexts.
[Source: Registrar, 01/13/2023]; Dist:SOC
In the Library's collections
You can use one of these subject headings to start your research in the library's online catalog:
- environmental justiceThis is a relatively new subject heading in the online catalog.
- biotic communitiesThe term "biome" is not used in the catalog.
Introductory reading(s)
Complex systems: theory and applications by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781536108606This books provides new research on the theories and applications of complex systems. ...
The environmental humanities: a critical introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780262036764A concise overview of this multidisciplinary field, presenting key concepts, central issues, and current research, along with concrete examples and case studies. The emergence of the environmental humanities as an academic discipline early in the twenty-first century reflects the growing conviction that environmental problems cannot be solved by science and technology alone. ...
Environmental justice: key issues by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780429029585Environmental Justice: Key Issues is the first textbook to offer a comprehensive and accessible overview of environmental justice, one of the most dynamic fields in environmental politics scholarship. The rapidly growing body of research in this area has brought about a proliferation of approaches; as such, the breadth and depth of the field can sometimes be a barrier for aspiring environmental justice students and scholars. This book therefore is unique for its accessible style and innovative approach to exploring environmental justice. ...
International encyclopedia of geography: people, the Earth, environment, and technology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780470659632Representing the definitive reference work for this broad and dynamic field, The International Encyclopedia of Geography arises from an unprecedented collaboration between Wiley and the American Association of Geographers (AAG) to review and define the concepts, research, and techniques in geography and interrelated fields. The Encyclopedia assembles a truly global group of scholars for a comprehensive, authoritative overview of geography around the world.
Routledge handbook of political ecology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138794337The Routledge Handbook of Political Ecology presents a comprehensive and authoritative examination of the rapidly growing field of political ecology. Located at the intersection of geography, anthropology, sociology, and environmental history, political ecology is one of the most vibrant and conceptually diverse fields of inquiry into nature-society relations within the social sciences.
Selected book title(s)
Community ecology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780198835851Publication Date: 2nd ed.Community ecology has undergone a transformation in recent years, from a discipline largely focused on processes occurring within a local area to a discipline encompassing a much richer domain of study, including the linkages between communities separated in space (meta-community dynamics), niche and neutral theory, the interplay between ecology and evolution (eco-evolutionary dynamics), and the influence of historical and regional processes in shaping patterns of biodiversity. To fully understand these new developments, however, students continue to need a strong foundation in the study of species interactions and how these interactions are assembled into food webs and other ecological networks. This new edition fulfills the book's original aims, both as a much-needed up-to-date and accessible introduction to modern community ecology, and in identifying the important questions that are yet to be answered. ...
Energies beyond the state: anarchist political ecology and the liberation of nature by Call Number: Baker-Berry JA 75.8 .E554 2022ISBN: 9781538159170This volume contributes to advancing an 'ecology of freedom,' which can critique current anthropocentric environmental destruction, as well as focusing on environmental justice and decentralized ecological governance.
Environmental humanities: voices from the anthropocene by Call Number: Baker-Berry GE 40 .E56 2017ISBN: 9781783489398This important volume brings together scientific, cultural, literary, historical, and philosophical perspectives to offer new understandings of the critical issues of our ecological present and new models for the creation of alternative ecological futures. At a time when the narrative and theoretical threads of the environmental humanities are more entwined than ever with the scientific, ethical, and political challenges of the global ecological crisis, this volume invites us to rethink the Anthropocene, the posthuman, and the environmental from various cross-disciplinary viewpoints. ...
Human ecology: how nature and culture shape our world by Call Number: Baker-Berry GF 41 .S73 2016ISBN: 9781610917384Humans have always been influenced by natural landscapes, and always will be--even as we create ever-larger cities and our developments fundamentally change the nature of the earth around us. In Human Ecology, Frederick Steiner encourages us to consider how human cultures have been shaped by natural forces, and how we might use this understanding to contribute to a future where both nature and people thrive. ...
The Routledge handbook of environmental justice by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138932821The Routledge Handbook of Environmental Justice presents an extensive and cutting-edge introduction to the diverse, rapidly growing body of research on pressing issues of environmental justice and injustice. With wide-ranging discussion of current debates, controversies, and questions in the history, theory, and methods of environmental justice research, contributed by over 90 leading social scientists, natural scientists, humanists, and scholars from professional disciplines from six continents, it is an essential resource both for newcomers to this research and for experienced scholars and practitioners. ...
Other library resource(s)
Environmental justice from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002“Environmental justice” is both a social movement and a research subject. Broadly defined, environmental justice means that all people—irrespective of race, ethnicity, class, gender, and physical ability—have the right to live in clean, healthy, and safe environments; to have equal access to safe and healthy workplaces, schools, and recreation areas; and to have access to safe and nutritious food and clean water. Environmental injustice was first recognized in the United States and has been traced to “Jim Crow” ideology. ...
Environmental justice from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Ecology by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199830060Environmental justice (EJ) is the struggle for access to a safe and healthy environment free from pollution and for access to the environmental resources needed for survival, well being, and social reproduction. The term environmental justice was originally born in the United States from the resistance of African American communities linked to the civil rights movement protesting toxic dumping and the siting of hazardous facilities in their communities. ...- Human-landscape interactions from the Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Human-landscape interactions, also often described as nature-society or human-environment interactions, is a topic examined by multiple disciplines and subdisciplines, including but not limited to geography, anthropology, ecology, human ecology, cultural ecology, political ecology, environmental sociology, environmental anthropology, and earth systems science. The concept of “landscape” varies within and among disciplines, not to mention different languages. It is typically used to describe a distinctive combination of natural and cultural features, and often serves as the basic unit of analysis for social and natural science studies. ...
- Human ecology from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Ecology by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199830060Contemplation of the relationship between human beings and their environment is millennia-old. As Hippocrates wrote over two millennia ago in his “Airs, Waters, Places” (Hippocrates 1923, cited under History), “For in general you will find assimilated to the nature of the land both the physique and the characteristics of the inhabitants” (p. 137). The contemporary efflorescence of studies of this relationship dates from the second half of the 20th century, with the rise in public perceptions of an environmental “crisis” spawned by industrial society and attendant recognition of the need for analysis and interventions based on the social as well as natural sciences. ...
- Nature-society theory from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Geography, meaning “earth writing,” has been centrally concerned with how humans and their environments relate to each other. Many of the most important disputes within the discipline can be traced back to different understandings of this relationship, and the history of the discipline of geography can be written as a struggle over different interpretations of nature and society. It is also argued that geography is uniquely able to address questions of society and nature as the discipline draws on a wide range of influences from the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. ...
- Political ecology from Oxford bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002... Instead, the subfield understands environmental change as a result of power relations, which cause highly variable access to resources. Debate exists on whether political ecologists created a theory of human–environment interactions or whether they established a research framework. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Environmental humanities by Call Number: Electronic journalEnvironmental Humanities is a peer-reviewed, international, open-access journal. The journal publishes interdisciplinary scholarship that draws humanities disciplines into conversation with each other, and with the natural and social sciences, around significant environmental issues. ...
Environmental justice by Call Number: Electronic journalThe essential peer-reviewed journal that explores the equitable treatment of all people, especially minority and low-income populations, with respect to the development, implementation, and enforcement of environmental laws, regulations, and policies.
Journal of political ecology by Call Number: Electronic journalThe Journal of Political Ecology publishes research into the linkages between political economy and human environmental impacts, across different locations and academic disciplines. ...
Academic search complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- Stockholm Environment InstituteThey are an international non-profit research and policy organization that tackles environment and development challenges.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.