Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description for Postcolonial Geographies
In this class we use tools of critical geography to think relationally about colonization, post-colonialism, and decolonization. We begin with the material and imaginative geographies produced through colonization—identifying the mappings, categories, and binaries integral to empire. We then consider how diaspora, migration, and displacement have reconfigured these relationships. Finally, we turn to the ongoing work of decolonization—an imperative both in the world and in our own thinking about the world.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 09/25/2023]; Dist:SOC
In the Library's collections
You can use one of these subject headings to start your research in the library's online catalog:
- postcolonialism AND geographyThis is a subject keyword search in the online catalog.
- postcolonialism AND geographyThis is a regular keyword search in the online catalog.
Introductory reading(s)
Geographies of postcolonialism by Call Number: Baker-Berry GF 41 .S53 2009ISBN: 9781412907798Geographies of Postcolonialism introduces the principal themes and theories relating to postcolonialism. Written from a geographical perspective, the text includes extended explanations of the cultural and material aspects of the subject. Exploring postcolonialism through the geographies of imagination, knowledge, and power, the text is split into three comprehensive sections: Colonialisms; Neo-colonialisms; and Postcolonialisms. ...
International encyclopedia of human geography by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780081022962Publication Date: 2nd ed.The International Encyclopedia of Human Geography, Second Edition, embraces diversity by design and captures the ways in which humans share places and view differences based on gender, race, nationality, location and other factors--in other words, the things that make people and places different. Questions of, for example, politics, economics, race relations and migration are introduced and discussed through a geographical lens. ...
International encyclopedia of geography: people, the Earth, environment, and technology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780470659632Representing the definitive reference work for this broad and dynamic field, The International Encyclopedia of Geography arises from an unprecedented collaboration between Wiley and the American Association of Geographers (AAG) to review and define the concepts, research, and techniques in geography and interrelated fields. The Encyclopedia assembles a truly global group of scholars for a comprehensive, authoritative overview of geography around the world.
Postcolonial geographies by Call Number: Baker-Berry G 70 .P687 2002ISBN: 9780826460837Postcolonialism and geography are intimately linked through the spatiality of colonial discourse as well as the material effects of colonialism and decolonisation. Geographical ideas about space, place, landscape, and location have helped to articulate different experiences of colonialism both in the past and present and the 'here' and 'there'. At the same time, whilst spatial images such as mobility, margins and exile abound in postcolonial writings, more material geographies have often been overlooked.
Postcolonialism: a very short introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780198856832Publication Date: 2nd ed.Postcolonialism explores the political, social, and cultural effects of decolonization, continuing the anti-colonial deconstruction of western dominance. This Very Short Introduction discusses both the history and key debates of postcolonialism, and considers its importance as a means of changing the way we think about the world. ...
Re-Inventing the postcolonial (in the) metropolis by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789004322851The notion of the postcolonial metropolis has gained prominence in the last two decades both within and beyond postcolonial studies. Disciplines such as sociology and urban studies, however, have tended to focus on the economic inequalities, class disparities, and other structural and formative aspects of the postcolonial metropolises that are specific to Western conceptions of the city at large. It is only recently that the depiction of postcolonial metropolises has been addressed in the writings of Suketu Mehta, Chris Abani, Amit Chaudhuri, Salman Rushdie, Aravind Adiga, Helon Habila, Sefi Atta, and Zakes Mda, among others. Most of these works probe the urban specifics and physical and cultural topographies of postcolonial cities while highlighting their agential capacity to defy, appropriate, and abrogate the superimposition of theories of Western modernity and urbanism. ...
Subaltern geographies by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780820354590Subaltern Geographies is the first book-length discussion addressing the relationship between the historical innovations of subaltern studies and the critical intellectual practices and methodologies of cultural, urban, historical, and political geography. This edited volume explores this relationship by attempting to think critically about space and spatial categorizations. ...
The Wiley-Blackwell companion to cultural geography by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780470655597Combining coverage of key themes and debates from a variety of historical and theoretical perspectives, this authoritative reference volume offers the most up-to-date and substantive analysis of cultural geography currently available. ...
The Wiley-Blackwell companion to economic geography by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781444362398The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Economic Geography presents students and researchers with a comprehensive overview of the field, put together by a prestigious editorial team, with contributions from an international cast of prominent scholars. ...
Selected book title(s)
Africa's narrative geographies: charting the intersections of geocriticism and postcolonial studies by Call Number: Baker-Berry PL 8010 .C76 2015ISBN: 9781137522757Building on the emerging field of geocriticism, this book explores Africa's complex, dynamic literary landscapes, proffering new methods for understanding the geographies of African literature. Using both cultural geography and political ecology, Crowley offers fresh insights into key authors' imagined geographies of resistance and alterity.
Empire, colony, postcolony by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781405193405Empire, Colony, Postcolony provides a clear exposition of the historical, political and ideological dimensions of colonialism, imperialism, and postcolonialism, with clear explanations of these categories, which relate their histories to contemporary political issues. The book analyzes major concepts and explains the meaning of key terms. The first book to introduce the main historical and cultural parameters of the different categories of empire, colony, postcolony, nation, and globalization and the ways in which they are analyzed today. ...
Mapping women, making politics: feminist perspectives on political geography by Call Number: Baker-Berry JC 321 .M36 2004ISBN: 9780415934497Mapping Women, Making Politics demonstrates the multiple ways in which gender influences political processes and the politics of space. The book begins by addressing feminism's theoretical and conceptual challenges to traditional political geography and than applies these perspectives to a range of settings and topics including nationalism, migration, development, international relations, elections, social movements, governance and the environment in the Global North and South.
Postcolonial African cities: imperial legacies and postcolonial predicaments by Call Number: Baker-Berry HT 148 .A2 P67 2007ISBN: 9780415454483The book focuses on contemporary African cities, caught in the contradiction of an imperial past and postcolonial present. The essays explore the cultural role of colonial architecture and urbanism in the production of meanings: in the inscription of power and discipline, as well as in the dynamic construction of identities. It is in these new dense urban spaces, with all their contradictions, that urban Africans are reworking their local identities, building families, and creating autonomous communities - made fragile by neo-liberal states in a globalizing world. ...
Routledge handbook of South-South relations by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138652002South-South cooperation is becoming ever more important to states, policy-makers and academics. Many Northern states, international agencies and NGOs are promoting South-South partnerships as a means of 'sharing the burden' in funding and undertaking development, assistance and protection activities, often in response to increased political and financial pressures on their own aid budgets. However, the mainstreaming of Southern-led initiatives by UN agencies and Northern states is paradoxical in many ways, especially because the development of a South-South cooperation paradigm was originally conceptualised as a necessary way to overcome the exploitative nature of North-South relations in the era of decolonisation. This handbook critically explores diverse ways of defining 'the South' and of conceptualising and engaging with 'South-South relations.' ...
Sacred modernity: nature, environment, and the postcolonial geographies of Sri Lankan nationhood by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781846318863Sacred Modernity argues how everyday non-secular experiences of the natural world in Sri Lanka perpetuate ethno-religious identitarian narratives. It demonstrates the relationships between spaces of nature and environment and an ongoing aesthetic and spatial constitution of power and the political in which Theravada Buddhism is centrally implicated. To do this, the book works consecutively through two in-depth case studies, both of which are prominent sites through which Sri Lankan nature and environment are commodified: first, the country's most famous national park, Ruhuna (Yala), and second, its post-1950s modernist environmental architecture, 'tropical modernism'. ...
Other library resource(s)
Colonial film database: moving images of the British Empire by Call Number: Streaming videoThe catalogue covers all those countries that were within the British Empire until the date of their independence or the achievement of self-government as a Dominion. Over 6,000 films are cataloged, but you can only view 150 of those titles.
Geography and empire from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Geography has engaged in the study of empire since its early days as an academic discipline. Few disciplines have such a clear complicity with this political formation, that feeds on territorial growth through military power, and that limits political sovereignty in the peripheries. In fact, a temporal correspondence exists between the birth of modern geography and the emergence of a new phase of capitalist imperialism during the 1870s. Viewed as the queen of the imperial sciences over a century ago, geographies of empire have changed throughout time, reflecting the modifications in the discipline and the transformation in the nature of empires. ...- Postcolonialism from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002In the colonial period imperialism advanced in uneven ways across time and space globally. European exploration in the late 15th century first brought destructive, exploitative, and deadly changes to what became known as the Americas. The subjugation and elimination of Indigenous groups, which commenced during this period, created the conditions for accumulation by dispossession, enslavement (of both Indigenous groups and people stolen from Africa), plantation-style production systems, and the extraction of resources—the legacies of which still mark political, social, economic, and environmental landscapes today. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles on postcolonial geographies can be found in a variety of publications. You can use a subject specific article index, a more general index such Academic Search Complete or Web of Science or use the search box at the top of the page. Examples of relevant journal and index titles follow.
Bandung: journal of the Global South by
Call Number: Electronic journalAs a cross-disciplinary journal in the humanities and social sciences, Bandung: Journal of the Global South aims at providing an academic and policy platform for scholars and practitioners to develop new theoretical perspectives, share revealing findings, and exchange views. These should be grounded on the complex post-colonial landscapes of African, Asian, and Latin American peoples, for identifying their own ways and strategies of development and decolonization. ...
Journal of colonialism and colonial history by Call Number: Electronic journalJournal of Colonialism & Colonial History (JCCH) is important to scholars of all aspects of colonialism, from pre-colonial societal studies to current post-colonial theory. It covers the range of issues that relate to imperialism and colonialism from the tenth century through modern times including the social effects on the population, the political structures under imperial rule, the transition to independence, and the lasting impact of living under colonial rule.
Progress in human geographyCall Number: Electronic journalProgress in Human Geography is the peer-review journal of choice for those wanting to know about the state of the art in all areas of human geography research - philosophical, theoretical, thematic, methodological or empirical.
Academic search complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.