Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
Political geographers have recently recovered a critical understanding of "geopolitics" in order to highlight how geographical representations - and the construction of spaces and places - are a constitutive part of politics from the global to the local scale. In keeping with this, this course will examine the mutual constructions of places, identities, and politics from a Third World perspective. The course will begin with an overview of geopolitical discourses that underpinned the processes of Western imperialism and colonialism such as "civilization" and "social darwinism." It will then examine contemporary geopolitical (dis)orders through the lens of topics such as globalization, gender, environmental security, humanitarian aid, and terrorism. Finally, the course will examine alternative geopolitical imaginations as constructed through social movements and grassroots politics.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 05/14/2024]; Dist:INT or SOC; WCult:NW
In the Library's collections
To find items about political geography or geopolitics, you can physically browse the shelves in the call number range JC 319 through JC 323 on Berry Level 4 . Other books will be found in the D's, E's, and F's.
When you search the online catalog, you can use the subject headings "political geography" or "geopolitics." Either subject heading will get you started. Don't forget about the related subject headings.
- geopoliticsYou can add a country name or region to narrow the search and see what we have in our collections.
- globalization AND geopoliticsThis is a keyword search using specific subject headings.
- ... foreign relations ...This subject heading shows the relations between countries. Type in a country name, add foreign relations and type another country names. Those books, resources, etc will focus on those countries.
Introductory reading(s)
Bordering and ordering the twenty-first century: understanding borders by Call Number: Baker-Berry JC 323 .P67 2012ISBN: 9780742556218This timely book explores the central role that borders play in shaping the contemporary world. Building on a discussion of border thinking and making from antiquity to the present, Gabriel Popescu applies a critical eye to current border-making concepts, processes, and contexts. Throughout, he offers a balanced understanding of borders, explaining why and how interstate borders have emerged, whose interest they serve, who is involved in border making, and how border-making practices affect societies. ...
Dictionary of world politics by Call Number: Baker-Berry D 419 .K87 2002ISBN: 9781568025612A ready-reference encyclopedia that includes short definitions and brief explanations of modern political terms that are used in countries throughout the world. ...
Geopolitics: a very short introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780198830764Publication Date: 3rd ed.From great power politics and speculation about resource scrambles, to everyday encounters and objects such as smart phones, geopolitics affects citizens, corporations, international bodies, social movements, and governments. Geopolitics is far more than simply the impact of geographical features such as rivers, mountains, and climate on political developments. Geopolitics: A Very Short Introduction explores the intellectual historical origins of geopolitics and its current concerns, drawing on regional and thematic case studies. ...
Territory: a short introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781405118316This short introduction conveys the complexities associated with the term "territory" in a clear and accessible manner. It surveys the field and brings theory to ground in the case of Palestine. A clear and accessible introduction to the complexities associated with the term "territory". Provides an interdisciplinary survey of the many strands of research in the field. ...
Selected book title(s)
Central Asia at the end of the transition by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780765615756For better or worse, the former Soviet republics of Central Asia have largely completed their post-independence transitions. Over more than a decade, they have established themselves as independent states whose internal regimes and external relations have characteristic patterns and vulnerabilities both individually and as a group. The purpose of this volume is to assess both what has been accomplished and the trends of development in the region, especially its leading states. ...
Geopolitics and globalization in the twentieth century by Call Number: Baker-Berry JC 319 .B56 2010ISBN: 9781861897824Publication Date: 2nd rev. and expanded ed.Geopolitics and Globalization in the Twentieth Century looks at the struggle between the processes of globalization and the forces of geopolitics over the last 150 years. The twentieth century witnessed conflicts between geopolitical states who wanted to close off and control land, resources, and population--like Nazi Germany and the former Soviet Union--and globalizing ones who wished to open up the world to the free flow of ideas, goods and services--like Britain and America. ...
Mapping the Cold War: cartography and the framing of America's international power by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781469618548In this fascinating history of Cold War cartography, Timothy Barney considers maps as central to the articulation of ideological tensions between American national interests and international aspirations. Barney argues that the borders, scales, projections, and other conventions of maps prescribed and constrained the means by which foreign policy elites, popular audiences, and social activists navigated conflicts between North and South, East and West. ...
The next convergence: the future of economic growth in a multispeed world by Call Number: Baker-Berry HD 82 .S694 2011ISBN: 9780374159757With the British Industrial Revolution, part of the world's population started to experience extraordinary economic growth--leading to enormous gaps in wealth and living standards between the industrialized West and the rest of the world. This pattern of divergence reversed after World War II, and now we are midway through a century of high and accelerating growth in the developing world and a new convergence with the advanced countries--a trend that is set to reshape the world. Michael Spence explains what happened to cause this dramatic shift in the prospects of the five billion people who live in developing countries. ...
The second world by Call Number: Baker-Berry D 863 .K53 2008ISBN: 9781400065080Grand explanations of how to understand the complex twenty-first-century world have all fallen short until now. In The Second World, Parag Khanna takes readers on a thrilling global tour, one that shows how America's dominant moment has been suddenly replaced by a geopolitical marketplace wherein the European Union and China compete with the United States to shape world order on their own terms. ...
The shape of the world to come: charting the geopolitics of a new century by Call Number: Baker-Berry JC 319 .C64 2008ISBN: 9780231146005Contrary to an optimistic vision of a world "flattened" by the virtues of globalization, the sustainability and positive outcomes of economic and political homogenization are far from guaranteed. For better and for worse, globalization has become the most powerful force shaping the world's geopolitical landscape, whether it has meant integration or fragmentation, peace or war. The future partly depends on how new economic giants such as China, India, and others make use of their power. It also depends on how well Western democracies can preserve their tenuous hold on leadership, cohesion, and the pursuit of the common good. ...
Other library resource(s)
Borders and boundaries from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Borders and boundaries, commonly defined as the lines dividing distinct political, social, or legal territories, are arguably the most ubiquitous features within the field of political geography. Indeed, borders have become prominent topics of research for a range of scholars from across the social sciences and humanities. This burgeoning, interdisciplinary field of border studies covers a broad range of concerns, including state sovereignty, globalization, territorial disputes, trade, migration, and resource management, among other topics.- Developing world from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Places and regions throughout the world exhibit vast differences in levels of social, political, and economic characteristics. Some places, for example, are more impoverished than others. Accordingly, scholars and politicians have forwarded a number of terms to capture the spatial inequalities evidenced across the Earth’s surface. ...
- Geopolitics from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Since the term geopolitics was coined in 1899 it has had many different meanings. They all evolve around its two parts, “geo” and “politics.” Dealing with the possible meanings requires a thorough understanding of what distinguishes them from one another. First, “geo” can denote various geographic aspects, such as space, soil, or territory. More specifically, it can denote geographic conditions, such as the presence of natural resources in a bounded area. Whether geography should be considered a static or a dynamic factor has also been subject to debate. Furthermore, “politics” generally concerns factors that are related to power, such as foreign policy, international relations, and military strategy. Here the discussion has been fueled by different views on the relative importance of states vis-à-vis nonstate actors.
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Relevant articles on Geopolitics can be found in a variety of publications. You can start your research with Web of Science or use the search box at the top of the page.
Geopolitics by Call Number: Electronic journalGeopolitics is an international and multidisciplinary journal devoted to contemporary research on geopolitics. It provides an arena for scholarly analysis addressing the intersection of geography and global politics from various disciplinary and methodological perspectives, and from vantage points embedded in diverse locations. ...
Progress in human geographyCall Number: Electronic journalProgress in Human Geography is the peer-review journal of choice for those wanting to know about the state of the art in all areas of human geography research - philosophical, theoretical, thematic, methodological or empirical.
Worldwide political science abstracts by Call Number: Electronic resourceWorldwide Political Science Abstracts provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law, political geography, and public administration/policy. ...
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- AidData at William & MaryThey equip policymakers and practitioners with better evidence to improve how sustainable development investments are targeted, monitored, and evaluated. They use rigorous methods, cutting-edge tools, and granular data to answer the question: who is doing what, where, for whom, and to what effect?
- Covert GeopoliticsI'm not sure what their point of view is, but it makes interesting reading.
- Exploring Geopolitics
'Exploring Geopolitics' is an independent, non-profit website that seeks to foster dialogue among scholars from various academic disciplines and with different national backgrounds.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.