Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
Over the past several decades, the people and environments of Southeast Asia have confronted a host of political, economic and cultural processes commonly grouped together under the heading "development". As witnessed by recent media reports detailing massive forest fires in Indonesia and dam controversies in Malaysia and Thailand, these development processes have resulted in drastic transformations in the landscapes, forests, and river systems of the region. These processes have likewise produced dramatic alterations in the livelihoods of the people who depend on and interact with the region's ecological systems.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 01/16/2024]; Dist:INT or SOC; WCult:NW
In the Library's collections
Resources for these topics are scattered throughout the DS's and H's in the library's collections. You can use one of these subject headings to start your research in the library's online catalog:
Introductory reading(s)
-
Asia's environmental movements: comparative perspectives
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry GE 199 .A78 A784 199ISBN: 9781563249099Adopting a comparative perspective, this book traces the social, political, economic and cultural conditions under which environmental movements have emerged, and assesses the transformative capacities of these movements. -
Environmental movements and politics of the Asian Anthropocene
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9814951404How have authoritarianism, democratization and political change affected environmentalism in East and Southeast Asia? How have environmental mobilization and demands for environmental justice at the grassroots influenced politics there? These are among the vital questions answered by this insightful and well-crafted volume. -
Southeast Asia: an introductory history
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry DS 525 .O8 2016ISBN: 9781760291686Publication Date: 12th ed.A lively and easy to read guide to Southeast Asian history written by one of the world's pre-eminent historians of the area. ... While giving due regard to the early history of the region, Osborne concentrates on the changes that have taken place since the eighteenth century: the impact of colonial rule, economic transformations of the 19th and 20th centuries, the emergence and triumph of the independence movements, the impact of social change and the pivotal roles played by religion, ethnic minorities and immigrant groups. ...
Selected book title(s)
-
Culture and the question of rights: forests, coasts, and seas in Southeast Asia
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780822328131This collection of ethnographic and interpretive essays fundamentally alters the debate over indigenous land claims in Southeast Asia and beyond. Based on fieldwork conducted in Malaysia and Indonesia during the 1980s and 1990s, these studies explore new terrain at the intersection of environmental justice, nature conservation, cultural performance, and the politics of making and interpreting claims. Calling for radical redefinitions of development and ownership and for new understandings of the translation of culture and rights in politically dangerous contexts--natural resource frontiers--this volume links social injustice and the degradation of Southeast Asian environments. ... -
Environment, trade and society in Southeast Asia: a longue durée perspective
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789004288041In Environment, Trade and Society in Southeast Asia: A longue Dur e Perspective, eleven historians bring their knowledge and insights to bear on the long Braudelian sweep of Southeast Asian history. In doing so they seek both to debunk simplistic assumptions about fragile traditions and transformational modernities, and to identify real repeating patterns in Southeast Asia's past. ... -
Environmental and climate change in South and Southeast Asia: how are local cultures coping?
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry GF 71 .E68 2014ISBN: 9789004245884Based on pioneering research, this volume on South and Southeast Asia offers a cultural studies' perspective on the vast and largely uncharted domain of how local cultures are coping with climate changes and environmental crises. The primary focus is on three countries that have high emission rates: India, Indonesia, and Thailand. Whereas the dominant discourse on climate largely reflects the view of Western cultures, this volume adds indigenous views and practices that provide insight into Hindu, Buddhist and Islamic responses. ... -
Nature in the global south: environmental projects in South and Southeast Asia
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry GE 320 .S64 N37 2003ISBN: 9780822331506A nuanced look at how nature has been culturally constructed in South and Southeast Asia, Nature in the Global South is a major contribution to understandings of the politics and ideologies of environmentalism and development in a postcolonial epoch. ... -
The physical geography of Southeast Asia
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry GB 295 .P49 2005ISBN: 9780199248025The Physical Geography of Southeast Asia examines the complex mosaic of physical environments which comprise Southeast Asia, and the current environmental problems and management practices which have arisen in this part of the world. ... -
Politics in Southeast Asia: democracy or less
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780700716364This volume provides an introduction to the politics of the five key southeast Asian states - Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, Thailand and the Philippines - and is intended as a textbook for undergraduate and graduate students taking courses on this subject. Using a comparative politics and political economy perspective, the author focuses in particular on the degree of democracy in the five countries, arguing that in all the countries considered democracy is, to varying degrees, imperfect. ... -
Routledge handbook of urbanization in Southeast Asia
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138681590The study of urbanization in Southeast Asia has been a growing field of research over the past decades. The Routledge Handbook of Urbanization in Southeast Asia offers a collection of the major streams and themes in the studies of the cities in the region. A focus on the urbanization process rather than the city as an object opens the topic more broadly to bring together different perspectives. This timely handbook presents these diverse views to build a clearer understanding of theoretical contributions of urban studies in Southeast Asia and to provide a complete collection of scholarly works that are thematically structured and a useful tool for teaching urbanization in Southeast Asia. ... -
The SAGE Handbook of Asian foreign policy
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781473977990Comprising 60.3 percent of the world's 7.2 billion population, Asia is an enigma to many in the West. Hugely dynamic in its demographic, economic, technological and financial development, its changes are as rapid as they are diverse. The SAGE Handbook of Asian Foreign Policy provides the reader with a clear, balanced and comprehensive overview on Asia's foreign policy and accompanying theoretical trends. Placing the diverse and dynamic substance of Asia's international relations first, and bringing together an authoritative assembly of contributors from across the world, this is a reliable introduction to non-Western intellectual traditions in Asia. ...
Other library resource(s)
-
Annual review of environment and resources
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe Annual Review of Environment and Resources provides authoritative reviews of significant topics within environmental science and engineering, including ecology and conservation science, water and energy resources, atmosphere, oceans, climate change, agriculture and living resources, and human dimensions of resource use and global change. -
Arsenic contamination in South and Southeast Asia from Oxford Bibliographies Online - ENVS
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199363445Rural populations in South and Southeast Asia often rely on groundwater for drinking and irrigation. Usually water is obtained by installing a tubewell consisting of PVC pipe with a cast-iron hand pump mounted on top. The well is usually drilled deep enough to reach unconsolidated sand layers that have high permeability and therefore make good aquifers. Many of these tubewells are now known to deliver water with arsenic concentration >10 μg/L, the World Health Organization (WHO) guideline for safe drinking water, and even the Bangladesh government guideline of 50 ug/L. ... -
Tropical Southeast Asia from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Environmental Science
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199363445The world region of Southeast Asia is separated from the rest of the continent by a vast area of high mountains near the border of India and China, but it is difficult to delineate its other physical boundaries. It, however, can be identified politically as the assemblage of the sovereign area of the countries Myanmar, Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Cambodia, Vietnam, Indonesia, Timor Leste, Brunei Darussalam, and the Philippines. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles and other writings about Southeast Asia can be found in many publications. You can use a variety of indexes to find articles both scholarly and current news.
-
EnvironmentAsia
by
Call Number: Electronic journalEnvironmentAsia is the international journal published triannually by the Thai Society of Higher Education Institutes on Environment (TSHE). The Journal publishes original research and review papers covering all areas of Environmental studies. -
Environmental science index
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThis resource provides in-depth A&I coverage from the environmental science literature and related disciplines. Abstracts and citations are drawn from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types. -
GreenFILE
Call Number: Electronic resourceGreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. -
Gale in context: Environmental studies
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceFrom climate change to automobile emissions, today’s environmental issues determine the destiny of tomorrow’s world. Gale In Context: Environmental Studies provides users with comprehensive information on topics that affect people around the world. You can explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, and more. This resource
Integrates case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more on over 400 topics. -
Web of science citation databases
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.