Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
Over half the world's population live in urban areas. The 1992 Rio Summit raised awareness of the potentially serious environmental, health, and social implications of continuing urbanization. This course explores the environmental effects of urbanization from an international comparative perspective. How do the environmental consequences of urbanization in the developing world (Global South) differ from those associated with the developed world (Global North)? How are notions of environment socially constructed as "nature" and how does this translate into political action in different places? The course critically assesses the ability of planners to make lasting improvements in the urban environment.
[Source: Registrar, 01/13/2025]; Dist:INT or SOC
In the Library's collections
These books are scattered throughout the collection. Many of these can be found in the HT 100 through 300 on Berry Level 3. The following are relevant subject headings you can use in the online catalog and other databases. You can use one of the subject headings below to start your research in the library's online catalog:
Introductory reading(s)
International encyclopedia of geography: people, the Earth, environment, and technology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780470659632Representing the definitive reference work for this broad and dynamic field, The International Encyclopedia of Geography arises from an unprecedented collaboration between Wiley and the American Association of Geographers (AAG) to review and define the concepts, research, and techniques in geography and interrelated fields. The Encyclopedia assembles a truly global group of scholars for a comprehensive, authoritative overview of geography around the world.
The Routledge companion to planning in the Global South by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781315678993The Routledge Companion to Planning in the Global South offers an edited collection on planning in parts of the world which, more often than not, are unrecognised or unmarked in mainstream planning texts. In doing so, its intention is not to fill a 'gap' that leaves this 'mainstream' unquestioned but to re-theorise planning from a deep understanding of 'place' as well as a commitment to recognise the diverse modes of practice that come within it. ...
Urban analytics by Call Number: Baker-Berry HT 153 .S554 2018ISBN: 9781473958623The economic and political situation of cities has shifted in recent years in light of rapid growth amidst infrastructure decline, the suburbanization of poverty and inner city revitalization. At the same time, the way that data are used to understand urban systems has changed dramatically. Urban Analytics offers a field-defining look at the challenges and opportunities of using new and emerging data to study contemporary and future cities through methods including GIS, Remote Sensing, Big Data and Geodemographics. ...
World at risk: a global issues sourcebook by Call Number: Baker-Berry JZ 1242 .W67 2002ISBN: 9781568027074World at Risk provides international coverage through an examination of current global issues. This extensive sourcebook is arranged by global issue in A to Z format. The book includes 30 entries on hot topics such as human rights, population, literacy and educational access, energy, terrorism, war crimes, and much more. ...
Selected book title(s)
Cities and nature by Call Number: Baker-Berry HT 241 .B46 2008ISBN: 9780415355896Cities and Nature illustrates how the city is part of the environment, and how it is subject to environmental constraints and opportunities. The city has been treated in geographical writings as only a social phenomena, and at the same time, environmental scientists have tended to ignore the urban. This book reconnects the science and social science through the examination of the urban. ...
Coyote at the kitchen door: living with wildlife in suburbia by Call Number: Baker-Berry QH 541.5 .C6 D47 2010ISBN: 9780674060180A moose frustrates commuters by wandering onto the highway; a cougar stalks his prey through suburban backyards; an alligator suns himself in a strip mall parking lot. Such stories, which regularly make headline news, highlight the blurred divide that now exists between civilization and wilderness. In Coyote at the Kitchen Door, Stephen DeStefano draws on decades of experience as a biologist and conservationist to examine the interplay between urban sprawl and wayward wildlife. ...
The environmental advantages of cities: countering commonsense antiurbanism by Call Number: Baker-Berry HT 241 .M49 2013ISBN: 9780262019040Conventional wisdom about the environmental impact of cities holds that urbanization and environmental quality are necessarily at odds. Cities are seen to be sites of ecological disruption, consuming a disproportionate share of natural resources, producing high levels of pollution, and concentrating harmful emissions precisely where the population is most concentrated. Cities appear to be particularly vulnerable to natural disasters, to be inherently at risk from outbreaks of infectious diseases, and even to offer dysfunctional and unnatural settings for human life. ...
Megacities and the coast: risk, resilience and transformation by Call Number: Baker-Berry HT 241 .M453 2013ISBN: 9780415815123Based on a major international study, this volume provides a synthesis of scientific knowledge on mega-city urbanization on the coast, environmental impacts, risks and management choices, including a focus on adaptation, mitigation and disaster risk management. ...
Places of nature in ecologies of urbanism by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789888390595If twenty-first-century urbanization is understood as a problem, its regional epicenter is the cities in Asia. Facing unprecedented diversity in scale, scope, and environmental dynamics in the Asian urban experience, scholars will need an approach that can truly capture the significance of place and context. The challenge, as this volume illustrates, can be met by the analytic of ecologies of urbanism. Eschewing a rigid, single ecology, the contributors identify multiple forms of nature--in biophysical, cultural, and political terms--that have discernable impact on power relations and human social action. ...
Women's health and the world's cities by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780812243536Growing urbanization affects women and men in fundamentally different ways, but the relationship between gender and city environments has been ignored or misunderstood. Women and men play different roles, frequent different public areas, and face different health risks. Women suffer disproportionately from disease, injury, and violence because their access to resources is often more limited than that of their male counterparts. Yet, when women are healthy and safe, so are their families and communities. ...
Other library resource(s)
Annual review of environment and resourcesCall Number: Electronic resourceThe Annual Review of Environment and Resources provides authoritative reviews of significant topics within environmental science and engineering, including ecology and conservation science, water and energy resources, atmosphere, oceans, climate change, agriculture and living resources, and human dimensions of resource use and global change.
Urban studies from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780190922481Urban Studies is a broad, interdisciplinary field of study that includes subfields not only in most of the major social sciences, but also in the humanities, and in more technical fields such as architecture, planning, engineering, environmental science, and legal studies. What binds together urbanist scholars in various disciplines is a focus on the lived experiences of larger social systems and structural forces in specific places marked by large, dense, and heterogeneous populations. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
You can find articles on urbanization and the environment in a variety of publications. You can use specific article indexes or use the search box at the top of the page.
Environment and urbanization by Call Number: Electronic journalEnvironment and Urbanization (E&U) seeks to advance a more socially just and environmentally sustainable urban world through the provision of knowledge. Our focus is the global South, where an estimated one in three of the urban population live in informal settlements and where more than half work within the informal economy. UN projections suggest that almost all the world’s growth in population in the next few decades will be in urban centres in the Global South. ...- Cities and the environment byCall Number: Electronic journalCities and the Environment publishes peer-reviewed scholarship on urban ecology research and urban ecology education.
Sustainable cities and society by Call Number: Electronic journalSustainable Cities and Society (SCS) is an international journal focusing on fundamental and applied research aimed at designing, understanding, and promoting environmentally sustainable and socially resilient cities. ...
Academic search complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- Urbanization: an Environmental Force to be Reckoned With from the Population Reference BureauHuman beings have become an increasingly powerful environmental force over the last 10,000 years. With the advent of agriculture 8,000 years ago, we began to change the land.1 And with the industrial revolution, we began to affect our atmosphere. The recent increase in the world’s population has magnified the effects of our agricultural and economic activities. But the growth in world population has masked what may be an even more important human-environmental interaction: While the world’s population is doubling, the world’s urban population is tripling. ... (04/23/2004)
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.