Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description for Political Ecology
Political ecology is an approach to human-environment relations that links a broad understanding of biophysical systems (e.g., tropical forests, coastal ecosystems, river basins) to knowledge regarding the political and economic forces that drive ecological change. Drawing on examples from North America, Southeast Asia, Africa and other regions, this course employs a political ecology framework to examine contemporary debates over urbanization, water resources, the role of science in environmental conflicts and the cultural landscape.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 09/26/2023]; Dist:INT or SOC
In the Library's collections
Resources for these topics are scattered throughout the G's and H's and J's in the library's collections. The following are useful subject headings to begin searching in the online catalog:
- effect of human beings onThis is the subject heading to use to find resources on the effect of human beings on specific topics.
- ecopoliticsThis is a keyword search.
Introductory reading(s)
Global political ecology by Call Number: Baker-Berry JA 75.8 .G56 2011ISBN: 9780415548151The world is caught in the mesh of a series of environmental crises. So far attempts at resolving the deep basis of these have been superficial and disorganized. Global Political Ecology links the political economy of global capitalism with the political ecology of a series of environmental disasters and failed attempts at environmental policies.
Political ecology: a critical introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119167440Publication Date: 3rd ed.An accessible, focused exploration of the field of political ecology. The third edition of Political Ecology spans this sprawling field, using grounded examples and careful readings of current literature. While the study of political ecology is sometimes difficult to fathom, owing to its breadth and diversity, this resource simplifies the discussion by reducing the field down into a few core questions and arguments. These points clearly demonstrate how critical theory can make pragmatic contributions to the fields of conservation, development, and environmental management. ...
Political ecology across spaces, scales, and social groups by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780813534787Environmental issues have become increasingly prominent in local struggles, national debates, and international policies. In response, scholars are paying more attention to conventional politics and to more broadly defined relations of power and difference in the interactions between human groups and their biophysical environments. Such issues are at the heart of the relatively new interdisciplinary field of political ecology, forged at the intersection of political economy and cultural ecology. This volume provides a toolkit of vital concepts and a set of research models and analytic frameworks for researchers at all levels. ...
Routledge handbook of political ecology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138794337The Routledge Handbook of Political Ecology presents a comprehensive and authoritative examination of the rapidly growing field of political ecology. Located at the intersection of geography, anthropology, sociology, and environmental history, political ecology is one of the most vibrant and conceptually diverse fields of inquiry into nature-society relations within the social sciences.
Vibrant matter: a political ecology of things by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780822391623In Vibrant Matter the political theorist Jane Bennett shifts her focus from the human experience of things to things themselves. Bennett argues that political theory needs to do a better job of recognizing the active participation of nonhuman forces in events. Toward that end, she theorizes a "vital materiality" that runs through and across bodies, both human and nonhuman. Bennett explores how political analyses of public events might change were we to acknowledge that agency always emerges as the effect of ad hoc configurations of human and nonhuman forces. ...
Selected book title(s)
Culture and the question of rights: forests, coasts, and seas in Southeast Asia by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780822328131This collection of ethnographic and interpretive essays fundamentally alters the debate over indigenous land claims in Southeast Asia and beyond. Based on fieldwork conducted in Malaysia and Indonesia during the 1980s and 1990s, these studies explore new terrain at the intersection of environmental justice, nature conservation, cultural performance, and the politics of making and interpreting claims. Calling for radical redefinitions of development and ownership and for new understandings of the translation of culture and rights in politically dangerous contexts--natural resource frontiers--this volume links social injustice and the degradation of Southeast Asian environments. ...
Everyday environmentalism: creating an urban political ecology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780816665723Everyday Environmentalism develops a conversation between Marxist theories of everyday life and recent work in urban political ecology, arguing for a philosophy of praxis in relation to the politics of urban environments.
Global ecological politics by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781849507486Global Ecological Politics examines the range of environmental campaigns that are occurring across the planet. It showcases a selection of case studies on grassroots initiatives and activism in areas such as green economic alternatives, regional activism in defence of communities, alternative or utopian communities, green politics and ecotourism. ...
Land between waters: environmental histories of modern Mexico by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780816502493Mexico is one of the most ecologically diverse nations on the planet, with landscapes that range from rainforests to deserts and from small villages to the continent's largest metropolis. Yet historians are only beginning to understand how people's use of the land, extraction of its resources, and attempts to conserve it have shaped both the landscape and its inhabitants.
The right to nature: social movements, environmental justice and neoliberal natures by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138385375Since the 2008 financial crash the expansion of neoliberalism has had an enormous impact on nature-society relations around the world. In response, various environmental movements have emerged opposing the neoliberal restructuring of environmental policies using arguments that often bridge traditional divisions between the environmental and labour agendas. The Right to Nature explores the differing experiences of a number of environmental-social movements and struggles from the point of view of both activists and academics. This collection attempts to both document the social-ecological impacts of neoliberal attempts to exploit non-human nature in the post-crisis context and to analyse the opposition of emerging environmental movements and their demands for a radically different production of nature based on social needs and environmental justice. ...
Other library resource(s)
Political ecology from Oxford bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002... Instead, the subfield understands environmental change as a result of power relations, which cause highly variable access to resources. Debate exists on whether political ecologists created a theory of human–environment interactions or whether they established a research framework. ...- Urban political ecology from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Urban political ecology (UPE) is a conceptual approach that understands urbanization to be a political, economic, social, and ecological process, one that often results in highly uneven and inequitable landscapes. Cities are seen not as the antithesis of nature but rather as a second nature, representing the dominant form of living in the contemporary age. Those drawing on UPE reject as false any dichotomy between nature and society. A central concern of much UPE scholarship has been in unpacking the ways that urbanization and cities rely on the transformation of biophysical matter into commodities and tracing the flows of these commodities into and through cities, understood as a metabolic process. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles and other writings about Political ecology can be found in many publications. There is even an Open Access journal dedicated to the subject called the Journal of Political Ecology. You can search subject specific article indexes to find political ecology articles with certain slants. You can use WorldWide Political Science Abstracts for articles with a more political science emphasis. You also have the option of using the search box at the top of the page.
Journal of political ecology by Call Number: Electronic journalThe Journal of Political Ecology publishes research into the linkages between political economy and human environmental impacts, across different locations and academic disciplines. ...
Gale in context: Environmental studies by Call Number: Electronic resourceFrom climate change to automobile emissions, today’s environmental issues determine the destiny of tomorrow’s world. Gale In Context: Environmental Studies provides users with comprehensive information on topics that affect people around the world. You can explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, and more. This resource
Integrates case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more on over 400 topics.
Environmental science index by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis resource provides in-depth A&I coverage from the environmental science literature and related disciplines. Abstracts and citations are drawn from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types.
Worldwide political science abstracts by Call Number: Electronic resourceWorldwide Political Science Abstracts provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law, political geography, and public administration/policy. ...
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- EJOLT - Environmental Justice, Organisations, Liabilities and TradeEJOLT is a global research project bringing science and society together to catalogue and analyze ecological distribution conflicts and confront environmental injustice.
- Political Ecology Working GroupTheir mission is to create spaces for interdisciplinary and collaborative exchanges, foster the formation of scholarly partnerships, and participate in the dialectical process of making political ecology.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.