Subject Librarian
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Course description
This course examines the historical, cultural, and socio-economic geographies of cities. We begin by tracing the process of urban development from its inception over 5,000 years ago, to industrial modern cities, to postmodern urban forms, using case studies to illuminate certain key features and processes. We then focus on understanding the particular dynamics that shape cities today. Examples are widely drawn but particular attention will be given to American urban patterns and processes.
[Source, ORC/Catalog, 09/06/2023]; DIST: SOC
DEFINING URBAN GEOGRAPHY
The study of cities and city life from a geographical perspective (see city). Although urban geography is one of the most popular and productive parts of human geography, a precise delineation of the field is understandably difficult.
Despite some ambivalence about the term ‘urban geography’, over the past sixty years urban geographers have developed some distinct and ongoing themes (Hall and Barrett 2012). Perhaps the most important has been the study of the internal social and spatial structure of cities, in part inspired by ideas from the Chicago School. Urban morphology considers the spatial layout and appearance of cities in different historical and national contexts. It can be extended by typologies of different kinds of urban area, for example, edge city, exurb, or suburb. Most focus has been on the social differentiation of urban areas by class, age, race, gender, and sexuality, as well as its causes and consequences (see community; gentrification; segregation; social area analysis; social geography). A second long-standing theme considers cities as systems or networks, linked by flows of people, goods, money, and information (see Central Place Theory; urban system; World City Network). The third area of inquiry has considered the diversity of cities in historical and international contexts, again frequently through typologies (see industrial city; pre-industrial city; post-industrial city). Here, an important development in the past two decades has been the recognition that normative models or ideas derived from a narrow set of mainly Western cities are not universal (see desakota region). ...
Rogers, A., Castree, N., & Kitchin, R. (2013). Urban geography. In A Dictionary of Human Geography. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 11 May. 2022
In the Library's collections
Books on Urban Geography are located in the 2 different call number ranges:
You can use one of these subject headings to start your research in the library's online catalog:
Introductory reading(s)
Cities of the world: regional patterns and urban environments by Call Number: eBook (3 users at a time)ISBN: 9781538126349Publication Date: 7th ed.Remarkably, more than half of the world's population now lives in cities, and the numbers grow daily as people abandon rural areas. This fully updated and revised seventh edition of the classic text offers readers a comprehensive set of tools for understanding the urban landscape, and, by extension, the world's politics, cultures, and economies. Providing a sweeping overview of world urban geography, noted experts explore the eleven major global regions. ...The city in history: its origins and transformations, and its prospects by
Call Number: Baker-Berry HT 111 .M8 1961
Companion to Henri Lefebvre the city and urban society by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138290051The Routledge Handbook of Henri Lefebvre,The City and Urban Society is the first edited book to focus on Lefebvre's urban theories and ideas from a global perspective, making use of recent theoretical and empirical developments, with contributions from eminent as well as emergent global scholars. The book provides international comparison of Lefebvrian research and theoretical conjecture and aims; to engage with and critique Lefebvre's ideas in the context of contemporary urban, social and environmental upheavals; to use Lefebvre's spatial triad as a research tool as well as a point of departure for the adoption of ideas such as differential space; to reassess Lefebvre's ideas in relation to nature and global environmental sustainability; and to highlight how a Lefebvrian approach might assist in mobilising resistance to the excesses of globalised neoliberal urbanism. ...
The growth of non-western cities: primary and secondary urban networking, c. 900-1900 by Call Number: Baker-Berry HT 147 .I53 G76 2011ISBN: 9780739149997These interdisciplinary studies address pre-1900 non-Western urban growth in the African Sudan, Mexico, the Ottoman Middle East, and South, Southeast, and East Asia. Therein, primary and secondary cities served as functional societal agents that were viable and potentially powerful alternatives to the diversity of kinship-based local or regional networks, the societal delegated spaces in which local and external agencies met and interacted in a wide variety of political, economic, spiritual, and military forms.
Urban geography: a critical introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781405189798Urban Geography is a comprehensive introduction to a variety of issues relating to contemporary urban geography, including patterns and processes of urbanization, urban development, urban planning, and life experiences in modern cities. It reveals both the diversity of ordinary urban geographies and the networks, flows and relations which increasingly connect cities and urban spaces at the global scale. ...
Urban theory beyond the West: a world of cities by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780203802861Since the late eighteenth century, academic engagement with political, economic, social, cultural and spatial changes in our cities has been dominated by theoretical frameworks crafted with reference to just a small number of cities. This book offers an important antidote to the continuing focus of urban studies on cities in 'the Global North'. Urban Theory Beyond the West contains twenty chapters from leading scholars, raising important theoretical issues about cities throughout the world. ...
Selected book title(s)
Beyond the metropolis: urban geography as if small cities mattered by Call Number: Baker-Berry GF 125 .B49 2007ISBN: 9780761835851Beyond the Metropolis is an attempt to mend the lacuna that exists between large and small city studies in urban geography, especially in North America. It covers a wide range of topics organized around some of the most common themes that urban geographers have addressed in their study of large cities. ...
International encyclopedia of the social & behaviorial sciences by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780080970875Publication Date: 2nd ed.The second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. It provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields. It discusses history, current trends and future directions. ...
Music and urban geography by Call Number: Baker-Berry ML 3916 .K75 2007ISBN: 9780415970129Music and Urban Geography is the first book to theorize musical aspects of the tremendous changes that have overtaken major cities in the developed world over the past few decades. Drawing on musicology, music theory, urban geography, and historical materialism, Krims maps changes not only in how music represents cities, but also in how music sounds and is deployed socially in new urban contexts. ...
The time of the city: politics, philosophy and genre by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780415780520The Time of the City is a trans-disciplinary work with a focus on genre-city relationships as they articulate the micropolitics of urban life in diverse cities. Shifting the territorial emphasis of political studies from the mosaic of states to the global network of cities, the book draws on urban theory rather than traditional forms of official city politics. ...
Urban geography: a global perspective by Call Number: Baker-Berry GF 125 .P33 2009ISBN: 9780415462020Today, for the first time in the history of Humankind urban dwellers outnumber rural residents. Urban places, towns and cities, are of fundamental importance for the distribution of population within countries; in the organization of economic production, distribution and exchange; in the structuring of social reproduction and cultural life; and in the allocation and exercise of power. Furthermore, in the course of the present century the number of urban dwellers and level of global urbanisation are destined to increase. ...
Urbanization: an introduction to urban geography by Call Number: Baker-Berry GF 125 .K56 2005ISBN: 9780131424500This work provides a coherent, comprehensive introduction to urban geography. It offers a historical and process-oriented approach with a North American focus that also provides a global context and comparative international perspective.
Other library resource(s)
Urban studies from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780190922481Urban Studies is a broad, interdisciplinary field of study that includes subfields not only in most of the major social sciences, but also in the humanities, and in more technical fields such as architecture, planning, engineering, environmental science, and legal studies. What binds together urbanist scholars in various disciplines is a focus on the lived experiences of larger social systems and structural forces in specific places marked by large, dense, and heterogeneous populations. ...
Urban geography from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002... The study of urban geography can help us have a better appreciation of the economics of what goes on within cities and recognize the inter-dependencies involved in local, national, and international economic development in an increasingly globalized world. ...- Urban historical geography from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Urban historical geography is the study of the various social, cultural, economic, political, and environmental processes that have shaped cities. This thematic diversity creates a genuinely interdisciplinary field of study. As a result, many of the key contributions to our understanding of the dynamics creating urban geographies of the past have come from scholars working across the humanities and social sciences, particularly from urban, cultural, and economic geographers, planning and architectural historians, urban historians, and sociologists. ...
- Urban planning and geography from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002... Planning overlaps with geography when it examines the spaces of everyday life, spatial relationships among its different dimensions, and the processes that create them. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles and other writings about Urban Geography can be found in many publications. Our collection includes at least 2 journals which looks exclusively at Urban Geography. Those titles are listed below. You can also use the search box at the top of this page to find relevant articles.
Urban geography by Call Number: Electronic journalUrban Geography is an international, peer reviewed journal, publishing innovative and original empirical, methodological and theoretical research in urban scholarship.
Urban studies by Call Number: Electronic journalUrban Studies is the leading international journal for urban scholarship. The journal remains at the forefront of intellectual and policy debates on the city, and has hosted ground-breaking contributions from across the full range of social science disciplines.
Academic search complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- GaWC: Globalization and World CitiesThe GaWC Research Network looks at the research into the relationships between cities.
- Urban ObservatoryThe Urban Observatory is an interactive exhibit that gives you the chance to compare and contrast maps of cities around the world–all from one location. It aims to make the world’s data both understandable and useful.
- Urban Geography (AAG)The Urban Geography Specialty Group (UGSG) facilitates the circulation of information and ideas among urban geographers and other urban specialists.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.