Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
In this course we will explore the political, intellectual and cultural production of Black women beginning with the liberation moment of late 1960s and early 1970s. We will read creative, scholarly, and activist writing of Black women of all genders from 1970 to the present. How does Black women’s activism constitute a political intellectual tradition that impacts how we do research and pose questions?
[Source: Registrar, 01/13/2025]; Dist:SOC; WCult:CI
In the Library's collections
You can use one of the subject headings below to start your research in the library's online catalog:
- african american women political ...This subject heading link covers both political activists and political activity.
- african american women AND political movementsThis is a keyword search.
- african american women AND social movementsThis is a keyword search.
Introductory reading(s)
Black women in America by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780195156775Publication Date: 2nd ed.The first edition of Black Women in America broke ground-pulling together for the first time all of the research in this vast but underrepresented field to provide one of the strongest building blocks of Black Women's Studies. It simultaneously filled a void in the literature and sparked new research and concepts regarding African-American women in history. Since the first edition was published, a new generation of American black women has flourished, demanding this landmark reference be brought up to date. ...
Encyclopedia of American social movements by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780765680457This four-volume set examines every social movement in American history - from the great struggles for abolition, civil rights, and women's equality to the more specific quests for prohibition, consumer safety, unemployment insurance, and global justice.
The Wiley-Blackwell encyclopedia of social and political movements by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781405197731The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements contains over 400 entries across three volumes, exploring social and political movements and related collective phenomena throughout the world.
Selected book title(s)
The Oxford handbook of African American citizenship, 1865-present by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780195188059The Oxford Handbook of African American Citizenship, 1865-Present seeks to answer the question of what the United States would look like today if, at the end of the Civil War, freed slaves had been granted full political, social and economic rights. It does so by tracing the historical evolution of African American experiences, from the dawn of Reconstruction onward, through the perspectives of sociology, political science, law, economics, education and psychology.
The Black Panthers: portraits from an unfinished revolution by Call Number: Baker-Berry E 185.615 .B54645 2016ISBN: 9781568585550In The Black Panthers, photojournalist Bryan Shih and historian Yohuru Williams offer a reappraisal of the party's history and legacy. Through stunning portraits and interviews with surviving Panthers, as well as illuminating essays by leading scholars, The Black Panthers reveals party members' grit and battle scars-and the undying love for the people that kept them going.
Mary McLeod Bethune and Black women's political activism by Call Number: Baker-Berry E 185.97 .B34 H36 2003ISBN: 9780826214515Mary McLeod Bethune was a significant figure in American political history. She devoted her life to advancing equal social, economic, and political rights for blacks. She distinguished herself by creating lasting institutions that trained black women for visible and expanding public leadership roles. Few have been as effective in the development of women's leadership for group advancement. Despite her accomplishments, the means, techniques, and actions Bethune employed in fighting for equality have been widely misinterpreted. Mary McLeod Bethune and Black Women's Political Activism seeks to remedy the misconceptions surrounding this important political figure. Joyce A. Hanson shows that the choices Bethune made often appear contradictory, unless one understands that she was a transitional figure with one foot in the nineteenth century and the other in the twentieth. ...
Words of witness: Black women's autobiography in the post-Brown era by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780299305048A literary and political genealogy of the last half-century, Words of Witness explores black feminist autobiographical narratives in the context of activism and history since the landmark 1954 segregation case, Brown v. Board of Education. Angela A. Ards examines how activist writers, especially five whose memoirs were published in the 1990s and 2000s, crafted these life stories to engage and shape progressive, post-Brown politics.
Other library resource(s)
The HistoryMakers digital archive by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe HistoryMakers is a non-profit institution whose purpose is to record, preserve and disseminate the content of video oral history interviews highlighting the accomplishments of individual African Americans and African-American-led groups and movements. The Archive aims is to provide a unique scholarly and educational resource for exploring African American history and culture. It is unique among collections of African American heritage because of its large and varied scope, with interviewees from across the United States, from a variety of fields, and with memories stretching from the 1890s to the present. Rather than focus on one particular part of a person’s life or a single subject, such as a career or participation in the civil rights movement, the interviews are life oral histories covering the person’s entire span of memories as well as his or her own family’s oral history.
Social justice from the Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Originating from religious doctrine, social justice is concerned with ensuring equitable rights for members of a society regardless of identity, including such markers as race, class, gender, or religion. Endeavors of social justice focus on securing equal social status and economic and political rights for disadvantaged groups. While discussions may have historically concentrated on race, class, or gender, the conversation is expanding. Sexuality, housing status, and environmental vulnerability are now topics included in geographical studies of social justice. Academic research and social activism aims to combat those relegated to society’s sidelines. ...- Race and racism from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002The geographic study of race and racism has a long and sometimes contested history dating to the founding of modern geography around the turn of the 20th century. Early studies were a product of their times, adopting an uncritical stance to the supposed truism that “races” existed. Thus, as European nations began to establish empires throughout Africa, Asia, and North and South America these states needed to come to terms with their conquests and to justify the exploitation of newly colonized peoples. ...
New social movements in the African diaspora: challenging global apartheid by Call Number: Baker-Berry HM 881 .N49 2009ISBN: 9780230621497In the last few decades the people of the African diaspora have intensified their struggles against racial discrimination and for equality. This account of these social movements include action in Latin America, the Indian Ocean World, Europe, Canada and the United States.
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Black studies centerCall Number: Electronic resourceThis fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and more.
Women's studies international by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis resource includes references from a variety of Women's Studies bibliographic databases.
Academic search complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Finding newspaper articles
Use these historical newspapers to see how they covered social and political movements and the people involved in them.
Also, visit the Historical News & Newspapers section of the guide for News & Newspapers. It lists the Black historical newspaper titles and resources to which we have access.
Proquest historical newspapers by Call Number: Electronic resourcesA collection of major regional and ethnic newspapers from their beginning date to a date in the near past. The New York Times goes until 3 years ago, while the Boston Globe only goes to 1989. The Chicago Defender goes from 1905 to 1975.
Newsbank African American newspapers, Series 1 by Call Number: Electronic resourceAfrican American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides online access to U.S. newspapers chronicling the African American experience.
Internet resource(s)
- 27 Black Women Activisits Everyone Should Know from For HarrietFor Harriet is an online community for women of African ancestry. We encourage women, through storytelling and journalism, to engage in candid, revelatory dialogue about the beauty and complexity of Black womanhood. We aspire to educate, inspire, and entertain. For Harriet seeks to raise the level of discourse surrounding Black women.
- Black Women Radicals
Black Women Radicals (BWR) is a Black feminist advocacy organization dedicated to uplifting and centering Black women and gender expansive people’s radical political activism. ... - Women in Black Power
African American women played an important and influential role in the Black Power Movement. They held leadership roles in various black nationalist organizations, including the Black Panther Party for Self-Defense, while at the same time fighting against the sexist ideologies of the male members. Black power women worked in organizations or on their own to bring attention to issues of gender identity, classism, racism, and sexism. [From the National Archives]
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.