Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
This class provides students with an advanced geographic understanding of the relationship between race and capitalism using three core questions: What is racial capitalism, and under what conditions did it emerge? How do we understand the role of the Atlantic World historically in the development of this economic system? How do these histories permeate into 20th century and early 21st century global economic policy?
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 08/16/2024]; Dist:SOC; WCult:CI
In the Library's collections
You can use one of the subject headings below to start your research in the library's online catalog:
- "racial capitalism"This is a keyword search in the online catalog for the phrase.
- robinson, cedricThis is an author search in the online catalog.
Introductory reading(s)
Against racial capitalism: selected writings by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780745348391Neville Alexander is not a household name, but he should be. As a revolutionary public intellectual, activist and former political prisoner, he is among the most important theorists of racial capitalism to emerge during the struggle against Apartheid. .... This carefully curated collection brings his incredible body of work to an international audience for the first time. It features a comprehensive introduction, a timeline of key events in the life of Alexander, selected articles, speeches, op-eds, book chapters and a bibliography of his writings.
Black marxism: the making of the Black radical tradition by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9798890862433Publication Date: Rev. & updated 3rd ed.In this ambitious work, first published in 1983, Cedric Robinson demonstrates that efforts to understand Black people's history of resistance solely through the prism of Marxist theory are incomplete and inaccurate. Marxist analyses tend to presuppose European models of history and experience that downplay the significance of Black people and Black communities as agents of change and resistance. ...
The futures of racial capitalism: by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781509543366Capitalism appears to be endlessly in crisis but without ever loosening its hold on our lives. New modes of racism and exclusion emerge, but the old ones never go away. We continue to struggle to live and survive in its wake but are unable, still now, to build commonality with each other. In this incisive book, Gargi Bhattacharyya revisits debates about racial capitalism and its violence through differentiation. Taking the four lenses of prisons, borders, debt and platforms, Bhattacharyya reveals how this moment of capitalist crisis positions humans as expendable, but differentially so, in a process that remakes longstanding racialized hierarchies. ...
Histories of racial capitalism by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780231549103The relationship between race and capitalism is one of the most enduring and controversial historical debates. The concept of racial capitalism offers a way out of this impasse. Racial capitalism is not simply a permutation, phase, or stage in the larger history of capitalism-since the beginning of the Atlantic slave trade and the colonization of the Americas, capitalism, in both material and ideological senses, has been racial, deriving social and economic value from racial classification and stratification. ...
Rethinking racial capitalism: questions of reproduction and survival by Call Number: Baker-Berry HB 501 .B4923 2018ISBN: 9781783488858How has capitalism created or enhanced racism? In what ways do the violent histories of slavery and empire continue to influence the allocation of global resources? Rethinking Racial Capitalism: Questions of Reproduction and Survival proposes a return to analyses of racial capitalism - the capitalism that is inextricably linked with histories of racist expropriation - and argues that it is only by tracking the interconnections between changing modes of capitalism and racism that we can hope to address the most urgent challenges of social injustice. ...
Selected book title(s)
Apartheid remains: by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781478030416In Apartheid Remains, Sharad Chari explores how people handle the remains of segregation and apartheid in South Africa as witnessed through portals in an industrial-residential landscape in the Indian Ocean city of Durban. Through long-term historical and ethnographic research, Chari portrays South Africa's twentieth century as a palimpsest that conserves the remains of multiple pasts, including attempts by the racial state to remake territory and personhood while instead deepening spatial contradictions and struggles. ...
Asian Americans and the spirit of racial capitalism by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780197587904Any serious consideration of Asian American life forces us to reframe the way we talk about racism and anti-racism. There are two contemporary approaches to anti-racist theory and practice. The first emphasizes racial identity to the exclusion of political economy, making racialized life in America illegible. This approach's prevalence, in the academy and beyond, now rises to the level of established doctrine. The second approach views racial identity as the function of a particular political economy--what is called "racial capitalism--and therefore analytically subordinates racial identity to political economy. Jonathan Tran develops arguments in favor of this second approach. He does so by means of an extended analysis of two case studies: a Chinese migrant settlement in the Mississippi Delta (1868-1969) and the Redeemer Community Church in the Bayview/Hunters Point section of San Francisco (1969-present). While his analysis is focused on particular groups and persons, he uses it to examine more broadly racial capitalism's processes and commitments at the sites of their structural and systemic unfolding. ...
Colonial racial capitalism by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781478016106The contributors to Colonial Racial Capitalism consider anti-Blackness, human commodification, and slave labor alongside the history of Indigenous dispossession and the uneven development of colonized lands across the globe. They demonstrate the co-constitution and entanglement of slavery and colonialism from the conquest of the New World through industrial capitalism to contemporary financial capitalism. ...
The color of wealth: the story behind the U.S. racial wealth divide by Call Number: Baker-Berry HC 110 .W4 C654 2006ISBN: 9781595580047For every dollar owned by the average white family in the United States, the average family of color has less than a dime. Why do people of color have so little wealth? The Color of Wealth lays bare a dirty secret: for centuries, people of color have been barred by laws and by discrimination from participating in government wealth-building programs that benefit white Americans. This accessible book--published in conjunction with one of the country's leading economics education organizations--makes the case that until government policy tackles disparities in wealth, not just income, the United States will never have racial or economic justice. ...
Race and power: global racism in the twenty-first century by Call Number: Baker-Berry HT 1521 .B476 2002ISBN: 9780415219709Reviewing cutting-edge debates around racial politics and the culture and economy of globalization, this book draws together a wide range of important contemporary debates in a clear and concise way for undergraduate students. Far from concluding that racism is over, the authors contend that the forces of globalization inhabit older cultures of racial division in order to safeguard the economic interests of the privileged. Arguing that the unspoken culture of whiteness informs much that passes in the name of globalization, the book suggests that we are witnessing a reformulation of economic relations around global racisms. ...
The world computer: derivative conditions of racial capitalism by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781478012702In The World Computer Jonathan Beller forcefully demonstrates that the history of commodification generates information itself. Out of the omnipresent calculus imposed by commodification, information emerges historically as a new money form. Investigating its subsequent financialization of daily life and colonization of semiotics, Beller situates the development of myriad systems for quantifying the value of people, objects, and affects as endemic to racial capitalism and computation. ...
Other library resource(s)
Race and racism from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002The geographic study of race and racism has a long and sometimes contested history dating to the founding of modern geography around the turn of the 20th century. Early studies were a product of their times, adopting an uncritical stance to the supposed truism that “races” existed. Thus, as European nations began to establish empires throughout Africa, Asia, and North and South America these states needed to come to terms with their conquests and to justify the exploitation of newly colonized peoples. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Race & class by Call Number: Electronic journalRace & Class is a refereed publication, the foremost English language journal on racism and imperialism in the world today. For three decades it has established a reputation for the breadth of its analysis, its global outlook and its multidisciplinary approach.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- Racial Capitalism“Racial capitalism,” the process of deriving value from the racial identity of others, harms the individuals affected and society as a whole. ... [from the Harvard Law Review]
- Racial capitalism from Wikipedia
Racial capitalism is a concept reframing the history of capitalism as grounded in the extraction of social and economic value from people of marginalized racial identities, typically from Black people. It was described by Cedric J. Robinson in his book Black Marxism: The Making of the Black Radical Tradition, published in 1983, which, in contrast to both his predecessors and successors, theorized that all capitalism is inherently racial capitalism, and racialism is present in all layers of capitalism's socioeconomic stratification.[1] ... - What Did Cedric Robinson Mean by Racial Capitalism? from the Boston ReviewCedric J. Robinson’s passing this summer at the age of seventy-five went virtually unnoticed. Professor emeritus of political science and black studies at the University of California, Santa Barbara, and arguably one of the most original political theorists of his generation, no major U.S. newspaper determined that Robinson’s passing merited even a single paragraph. Although he deliberately avoided the pitfalls of intellectual celebrity, his influence was greater than perhaps he may have realized. ...
- What is racial capitalism?
The concept of racial capitalism asserts that racialized exploitation and capital accumulation are mutually reinforcing. The idea is attributed to Cedric Robinson, who argued that “the development, organization and expansion of capitalist society pursued essentially racial directions.”1 ...
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.