Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website
Course description
In this seminar, you will examine the radical politics of Black, Indigenous and marginalized communities across the Americas as they produce alternative visions of space, belonging and the relationships between people and their environments. Through the study of struggles over land, you will engage racialization, indigeneity and colonial processes, thinking with scholarship and activism from throughout the hemisphere. In class, you will center the political possibilities of struggle, vitality, and everyday practices of environmental justice.
In the Library's collections
You can use one of these subject headings to start your research in the library's online catalog:
-
land tenureYou can add the name of a country or place to narrow your search.
Introductory reading(s)
-
Environmental movement in majority and minority worlds
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780813534954Environmental movements are among the most vibrant, diverse, and powerful social movements occurring today, across all corners of the globe. They range dramatically from government lobbyists raising campaign funds to save the North American spotted owl; to "Green Warriors" engaging in guerrilla conflict in the mountains of the Philippines; to small landholders and indigenous peoples vowing to die by meeting the waters of the Narmada River in India as it rises due to its damming. Drawing on his primary fieldwork in six countries, Timothy Doyle argues that there is, in fact, no one global environmental movement; rather, there are many, and the differences among them far outweigh their similarities. Movements in the third world--such as those in India and the Philippines --tend to be oriented around issues of human health, shelter, food security, and survival; while those of the developed world--for example, the United States, England, Germany, and Australia --can afford to focus on post-materialist issues such as wilderness concerns and animal rights. ... -
Grabbing back: essays against the global land grab
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781849351942Climate change ravages the earth, while wealthy elites try to grab as much of the world's diminishing resources as possible. As Vandana Shiva writes, land is life. But land, and the struggle to possess it, is also power--colonial and corporate power, to be sure, but also the power of the dispossessed to rise up and call for an end to the global land grab. Grabbing Back maps this struggle, bringing together analyses that uncover the politics of cultivation and control. In this unprecedented collection, on-the-ground activists join forces with critically acclaimed scholars to document the commodification and consumption of space, from foreclosed homes to annihilated rainforests, from ecotourism in Sri Lanka to the tar sands of Montana, and to outline the strategies and tactics that might the destruction. ... -
Inequality and democratization: an elite-competition approach
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry JC 423 .A578 2014ISBN: 9780521168793Research on the economic origins of democracy and dictatorship has shifted away from the impact of growth and turned toward the question of how different patterns of growth - equal or unequal - shape regime change. This book offers a new theory of the historical relationship between economic modernization and the emergence of democracy on a global scale, focusing on the effects of land and income inequality. Contrary to most mainstream arguments, Ben W. Ansell and David J. Samuels suggest that democracy is more likely to emerge when rising, yet politically disenfranchised, groups demand more influence because they have more to lose, rather than when threats of redistribution to elite interests are low. -
Land rights, ethno-nationality and sovereignty in history
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry HD 1251 .L36 2004ISBN: 9780415321266The complex relationships between ethno-nationality, rights to land, and territorial sovereignty have long fed disputes over territorial control and landed rights between different nations, ethnicities, and religions. These disputes raise a number of interesting issues related to the nature of land regimes and to their economic and political implications. The studies drawn together in this key volume explore these and related issues for a broad variety of countries and times. They illuminate the diverse causes of ethno-national land disputes, and the different forms of adjustment and accommodation to the power differences between the contesting groups. ... -
The story of land: a world history of land tenure and agrarian reform
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry HD 1251 .P68 1988ISBN: 9780899462189How did our current understanding of land ownership arise in different parts of the world? This book traces the evolving rights and obligations linked to the land and its various uses, spanning the centuries from ancient Mesopotamia, Egypt, Greece and Rome to the modern era in Europe, Latin America, Africa and Asia.
Selected book title(s)
-
The geopolitics of real estate: reconfiguring property, capital, and rights
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry HD 1251 .R64 2017ISBN: 9781783483334Individual foreign investment in Western nation states is a long-standing geopolitical issue. The expansion of the middle class in BRICS and Asian countries, and their increased activity in Western real estate markets as foreign investors, have introduced new and revived existing cultural and geopolitical sensitivities. In this book, Dallas Rogers develops a new history of foreign real estate investment by mapping the movement of human and financial capital over more than four centuries. The book argues the reconfiguration of Asian geopolitical power has ruptured the conceptual landscape for understanding international land and real estate relations. ... -
Let the river flow: an indigenous uprising and its legacy in art, ecology and politics
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry NX 180 .S6 L475 2020ISBN: 9789492095794On an exemplary case of Indigenous and non-Indigenous conflict and its legacies The People's Action against the Nordic Áltá-Guovdageaidnu Waterway (c. 1978-82) radically shook the course of history in the region. Its call to "let the river live" clamored against the construction of a large dam across the Alltáeatnu river in Norway. The action grew to an unexpectedly broad movement of solidarity across civil society--Sámi and Norwegian, as well as Indigenous and non-Indigenous peoples internationally--in which Sámi artists played a pivotal role. Let the River Flow takes this eco-Indigenous rebellion, the first in Europe and inspirational worldwide, to reflect on events at the time and their correlations with international artists' eco actions today. ... -
Owning the city: property rights in authoritarian regimes
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781788214681Competition between democratic and authoritarian systems is playing out in global cities, where real property rights influence regime legitimacy and economic performance. Two questions inspire debate. Why does the property-owning middle class, which was integral to democratic development in the West, support illiberal governments? Do differences between political systems affect the success of global cities? Marsha McGraw Olive unravels these questions by comparing urban land governance in Europe and Eurasia. ... -
Voces de liderazgos indígenas en México byCall Number: Baker-Berry F 1219.3 .G6 V63 2021ISBN: 9786073054614This book presents a collection of essays that give voice to indigenous leaders in Mexico. Through in-depth interviews and ethnographic observations, highlights experiences, struggles and aspirations of indigenous leaders in their fight for social justice and political representation. Also examines challenges that indigenous communities face in their efforts to maintain their cultural identity and protect their territories.
Other library resource(s)
-
Indigenous Peoples and the global Indigenous movement from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002“Indigenous” names an emergent, collective, globalizing and (increasingly) legally recognized sociopolitical identity, resulting from a social movement which became institutionalized from around 1980. Typically, those now termed “indigenous peoples” were formerly known by local, regional, or national category terms or ethnonyms applied to them by outsiders (e.g., “American Indians,” “Australian Aborigines,” Eskimo, or Aleuts), rather than by terms that they used among themselves. In many cases older terms have been replaced, also from ca. the 1980s by alternative terms emergent from social and political processes of liberalization within particular nation-states or regions (e.g., “First Nations,” “Native Americans,” Adivasi, or Inuit). “Indigenous” is increasingly used of, and by, these peoples in reference to themselves and others, even where other local and regional designations persist. Though forms of the word have a long history, “indigeneity” is relatively recent in internationalist usage. ... -
Hein online law journal library
Call Number: Electronic resourceThis is a full text searchable database of legal periodicals.
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
-
Journal of agrarian change
by
Call Number: Electronic journalThe Journal of Agrarian Change is a leading journal in the field of agrarian political economy. They promote the interdisciplinary investigation of the social relations and dynamics of production, property and power in agrarian formations and their processes of change, both historical and contemporary. ... -
Journal of law, property and society
by
Call Number: Electronic journalThe journal is a peer-reviewed publication for work that explores the relationship between society and the legal process surrounding property. -
Academic search complete
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject. -
Web of science citation databases
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
-
Governance of Tenure
Tenure is crucial to the livelihoods of billions of people. For many, their food security is linked to their tenure security. People with weak, insecure tenure rights risk losing their means to support themselves if they lose their access to natural resources. Women often have weaker tenure rights where there is discrimination in laws and customs. ... -
LandLinks
The Land and Resource Governance Division provides integrated and demand-driven field support services to USAID Missions and serves as a core Agency-wide resource for rigorous analysis, building the evidence base, and testing innovative approaches to promote equitable and inclusive land and resource governance for all. -
Securing Land Tenure and Property Rights for Stability and Prosperity
Around the world millions of people, communities, and businesses lack clear, secure rights to the land, resources, and property they use, occupy, and depend on for individual livelihoods and community stability. In 2016, an estimated 70 percent of land in developing countries was unregistered or perceived to be insecure. This alarming figure represents a fundamental barrier for the poor to overcome many of their most pressing challenges: poverty, hunger, conflict, violence, poor governance, and lack of economic opportunity. Insecure land tenure and property rights is also a serious barrier to achieving U.S. national and business interests abroad. ...
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.