Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
Why are some countries rich and others so persistently poor? What can and should be done about this global inequity and by whom? We address these development questions from the perspective of critical human geography. Focusing on the regions of Latin America, Africa and Asia, we examine how development meanings and practices have varied over time and place, and how they have been influenced by the colonial history, contemporary globalization and international aid organizations.
{Source: ORC/Catalog, 9/27/2021}; Dist:INT or SOC; WCult:NW
In the Library's collections
Books on international development are scattered throughout the Library's collections. The main call number ranges include HC and HD. To find works on international development, you can do a keyword search for "international development." International development is not a subject heading used in the online catalog. The subject headings used include the following:
- "international development"This is a keyword search in the library's online catalog.
- economic assistance ...This subject heading looks at both the source and reception of economic assistance.
Introductory reading(s)
Encyclopedia of international development by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780415253420International development is now a major global activity and the focus of the rapidly growing academic discipline of development studies. The Encyclopedia of International Development provides definitions and discussions of the key concepts, controversies and actors associated with international development for a readership of development workers, teachers and students. ...
International development: ideas, experience, prospects by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199671663Thinking on development informs and inspires the actions of people, organizations, and states in their continuous effort to invent a better world. This volume examines the ideas behind development: their origins, how they have changed and spread over time, and how they may evolve over the coming decades.
International development: socio-economic theories, legacies, and strategies by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138670358International Development is a comprehensive inquiry into the field of socio-economic development founded on an understanding that economic advancement involves transformation of society. It explores successful developmental strategies but also tries to identify factors behind failed endeavours and the human costs associated with them. The book evaluates the role played by influential agents of development, such as the state and its institutions, authoritarian leaders, international organizations, donor agencies, non-governmental organizations, civil society activists, and private business actors. ... NOTE: 1 user at a time.
International encyclopedia of geography: people, the Earth, environment, and technology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780470659632Representing the definitive reference work for this broad and dynamic field, The International Encyclopedia of Geography arises from an unprecedented collaboration between Wiley and the American Association of Geographers (AAG) to review and define the concepts, research, and techniques in geography and interrelated fields. The Encyclopedia assembles a truly global group of scholars for a comprehensive, authoritative overview of geography around the world.
Selected book title(s)
Development, women, and war: feminist perspectives by Call Number: Baker-Berry HQ 1240 .D486 2004ISBN: 9780855984878The shared experiences of women and their potential to contribute both to war and particularly to peace are highlighted in this discussion of the long-running conflicts in the Middle East, Africa and Eastern Europe. Policy makers, practitioners and academics consider why women's concerns have yet to be placed at the forefront of both analysis and practical outcomes. This selection of essays presents an overview of different feminist approaches to peace building and conflict resolution and puts forward concrete policy measures to achieve these ends. ...
The European Union and international development: the politics of foreign aid by Call Number: Baker-Berry HC60 .C2927 2007ISBN: 9780203944684The European Union is a leading actor in international development, providing more than half of the world's foreign aid, but also a unique case, combining the characteristics of a bilateral and a multilateral donor. Despite the general acknowledgment that policy coordination substantially improves both the effectiveness of foreign aid and the visibility of the EU in the international arena, Member States have consistently resisted any intrusion into what they consider a key area of their national sovereignty. ...
The geography of underdevelopment: a critical survey by Call Number: Baker-Berry HC 59.7 .F635 1984ISBN: 9780801825262First published in 1984, this title discusses the emergence of both the orthodox and political economy based approaches to underdevelopment in geography, critically assessing their strengths and weaknesses, and showing the relationship between intellectual developments and changing material conditions. ...
Globalization and international development: critical issues of the 21st century by Call Number: Baker-Berry HF 1359 .G58277 2010ISBN: 9780880993661This collection is based on the papers presented at the 2007 2008 Werner Sichel Lecture-Seminar series held at Western Michigan University. These papers address the issue of globalization with a special emphasis on its impact on poverty.
The international development agenda and the climate change challenge: policy note by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789211045710Focusing international cooperation on climate change solely on the establishment of emission targets is not adequate: the latter does not adequately address developmental challenges or help achieve internationally agreed goals. ...
International development studies: theories and methods in research and practice by Call Number: Baker-Berry HD 77 .S86 2008ISBN: 9781412929455International Development Studies is an exploration of what it is to 'do' development studies as a distinct discipline. It introduces and addresses the fundamental questions that everyone engaged with development - whether student, researcher or practitioner - must ask: What is 'development' and why do we wish to study it? How do the many theoretical, methodological, and epistemological approaches relate to research and practical studies in development? How are development research and practice linked? ...
Partnership for international development: rhetoric or results? by Call Number: Baker-Berry HC 60 .B672 2002ISBN: 9781588260697In the search for institutional models that can deliver more and better development outcomes, partnership is arguably among the most popular solutions proposed. But the evidence of partnerships' contributions to actual performance has been for the most part anecdotal. Partnerships for International Development bridges the gap between rhetoric and practice, clarifying what the concept means - and providing a roadmap for how to achieve meaningful partnership results. ...
Other library resource(s)
Developing world from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Places and regions throughout the world exhibit vast differences in levels of social, political, and economic characteristics. Some places, for example, are more impoverished than others. Accordingly, scholars and politicians have forwarded a number of terms to capture the spatial inequalities evidenced across the Earth’s surface. ...- Development theory from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002At the heart of the concept of “development” are notions of improvement or betterment. However, what is to be improved, at what scale, for whom, where, and how are all contested. Development theories seek to explain development processes and development inequalities based on particular definitions of development. ...
Forward home: the power of the Caribbean diaspora by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #16164A documentary film, shot in 9 countries, revealing the economic power of the people of the Caribbean Diaspora living in global cities, the significance of their contribution to their homeland, as travelers and entrepreneurs.
Global resources: management and competition by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #7550According to most experts, globalization is increasing with unstoppable momentum. But the resulting debate is heating up just as quickly -- and anyone who participates needs a thorough grounding in the issues. This four-part series provides a foundation for studying the political economy of international trade, finance, development, and natural resource competition. Using concise case studies, straightforward explanations of complex financial concepts, and interviews with renowned experts -- including Dr. Jeffrey Sachs of Columbia University, Bank of Israel Governor Dr. Stanley Fischer, and former World Bank president James Wolfensohn -- this series gives viewers the wide-ranging subject coverage necessary for sustained class diaologue and discussion.
The price of aid by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #6073This video discusses U.S. donations of food for famine relief in foreign countries through a case-study in Zamibia, and the complex relationships between international aid, international media, American business and politics, and the impact on local agriculture, public health and international trade relations.- Regional development from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Regional inequalities of one kind or another have existed since the beginning of human history. The region has been a central concept of the development of geography as a discipline. Accelerating processes of (sub)urbanization and (post)industrialization have generated increased academic and policy attention in relation to regional development. During the 20th century a large body of research was created to explain patterns of regional development in the developed and developing world. ...
World development reports by Call Number: Electronic resourceThese reports contain economic and social indicators for countries around the world. Every report since 1978 is here.
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles and other writings about International Development can be found in many publications. Our collection includes several journals which look exclusively at International Development. Several titles are listed below. You can look through the archives of a specific title or you can use indexes such as Academic Search Complete or Web of Science. You can also start your search in the box at the top of the page to start your searching.
Development by Call Number: Electronic journalDevelopment provides a unique resource and point of reference in the dialogue between activists and intellectuals committed to the search for alternative paths toward social transformation, on the way to a more just and sustainable world. ...
Journal of international development by Call Number: Electronic journalAlongside its main focus on international development, the Journal does not represent any particular school of development thought, analytical technique or methodological approach, but aims to publish high quality scientific contributions to ideas, frameworks, policy and practice that make a significant and novel contribution to the field of international development. ...
Progress in human geography: uneven developmentCall Number: Electronic journalVirtual issue: "Uneven development, commodity chains and the agrarian question."
Studies in comparative international development by Call Number: Electronic journalStudies in Comparative International Development is an interdisciplinary journal that addresses political, social, economic, and environmental change in local, national, and international contexts. The journal has a tradition of presenting critical and innovative analytical perspectives that challenge prevailing orthodoxies. ...
Academic search complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Statistics
For more statistics, check the Internet resources on this page too.
Atlas of global development by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780821397572Published in association with Harper Collins, the completely revised and updated fourth edition of the Atlas of Global Development is a comprehensive guide to the most critical issues facing our changing world today.
International migration outlook: annual report by Call Number: Electronic journalOECD’s annual publication analysing recent developments in migration movements and policies in its countries. Each edition provides the latest statistical information on immigrant stocks and flows, immigrants in the labour market, and migration policies. ...- OECD international development statistics by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe international development statistics provide comprehensive data on the volume, origin and types of foreign aid and other resource flows from donor countries to recipient countries. It also provides comparative data on gender equality.
Internet resource(s)
- AidData at William & MaryThey equip policymakers and practitioners with better evidence to improve how sustainable development investments are targeted, monitored, and evaluated. They use rigorous methods, cutting-edge tools, and granular data to answer the question: who is doing what, where, for whom, and to what effect?
- The Forum for Research on Eastern Europe and Emerging Economies
The Forum for Research on Eastern Europe and Emerging Economies (FREE Network) is a joint initiative by several institutes in Europe. Together, these research institutes form an extensive network of leading academic experts on economic issues in Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union. The institutes also conduct research about development, emerging markets, as well as economics in general. - U. S. Agency for International Development (USAID)
USAID is the world’s premier international development agency and a catalytic actor driving development results. USAID’s work advances U.S. national security and economic prosperity, demonstrates American generosity, and promotes a path to recipient self-reliance and resilience. ...
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.