Research Guides: Health Data Science, Epidemiology, and Medical Informatics: Start Here

Your Health Sciences and Biomedical Librarians

Librarians from the Matthews-Fuller Health Sciences and Dana Biomedical Libraries provide support for MS in Health Data Science, Epidemiology, and Medical Informatics coursework and capstone projects. Librarians are available for:

Consultations - assistance with research needs
Literature searches - finding articles, statistics, etc.
Providing full-text copies of articles
Managing research and citations with Zotero

We are available Monday - Friday between 8:30 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. EST. You can chat with us, email us, or make an appointment to meet with us in-person or online.

Accessing Library Resources

The following databases provide full-text articles.

You may be prompted to log in for access. Use your netID and password.
After searching, look for links labeled PDF or HTML full-text.
"Get It" or "Get Full Text" will link to the full-text article in another database or prompt you to request it through Dartmouth's interlibrary loan service.

Medical/Healthcare Databases:

PubMed
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health.
CINAHL Complete
Indexes the journal literature in nursing and allied health disciplines
PsycINFO
This is the main index to the peer-reviewed literature for psychology and neuroscience. It indexes citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
UpToDate
A clinical information resource which offers up-to-date, fully-referenced expert answers to patient-care, diagnosis, and treatment questions.

General Article Search:

Scopus
Scopus is a multidisciplinary article database with good coverage in STEM and health sciences. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories
Web of Science
Citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports from all subject areas. Google Scholar is able to search the full text of many sources.

You can check out print books from the Dartmouth library they are housed in or request that they be sent to the Dartmouth library of your choice for pick-up. You can renew online or call to renew (603-646-2191). Please be advised that if a book is recalled, the due date will be moved up.

Dartmouth Libraries Catalog
The primary index for locating books, ebooks, journals, and other media at Dartmouth.
O'Reilly Online Learning
Learn technical skills in data science, AI, machine learning, programming languages, and more. This resource includes books and on-demand courses. Start by clicking on Explore Skills at the top to drill down to your interest.

Epidemiologic Methods by Noel S. Weiss; Thomas D. Koepsell
ISBN: 0199718164

Publication Date: 2014-01-01

Access to these online news sources is available at no cost to currently enrolled Dartmouth MHCDS students. Follow the registration links and instructions below to create your account.

NYT.com - New York Times
Register to access NYT.com from your laptop, phone, or other mobile device. Use your Dartmouth email address.
WSJ.com - Wall Street Journal
Register to access WSJ.com from your laptop, phone, or other mobile device. Use your Dartmouth email address.

Factiva
Indexes and provides full text to 33,000 news and business information sources from 200 countries in 28 languages, includes regional and industry publications, newspapers, newswires, Web and blog content.

Financial Times
One of the world's leading business news organizations, providing essential news, comment, data and analysis for the global business community. Dartmouth users must register.

Start with a question:

"What causes burnout in healthcare professionals working in hospitals?"

Break your question into concepts, using synonyms or similar ideas together. Use quotes to group words into phrases. Use an asterisk (*) to truncate your search terms (e.g. nurs* returns nurse, nurses, nursing, etc.).

Concept A		Concept B		Concept C
burnout	AND	"healthcare worker"	AND	hospital
OR		OR		OR
exhaustion		nurs*		clinic
		OR
		doctor

Save your search:

Create search alerts to be notified when new articles are available on a particular topic of from a specific publication.

PubMed: If you want to save your PubMed searches, first you need a My NCBI account. Once your account is set up, you’re able to receive automatic email updates (daily, weekly, or monthly—you pick) for any of your saved searches. Learn more about saving and managing searches in PubMed.

Web of Science: Save your Web of Science searches, and receive daily, weekly or monthly email alerts when new publications matching your search are published. You can also receive alerts for specific articles for any new citations. You’ll need a Web of Science personal profile, but it’s easy to create one. Find more instructions on saved searches and alerts in Clarivate Web of Science.

Scopus: Alerting in Scopus is similar to Web of Science and PubMed; you’ll need a user account, and can either create an RSS feed for your searches, or have results sent to your email periodically. You can also set up specific author citation alerts or document alerts. View more information about creating alerts in Scopus.

Google Scholar: Help yourself keep on top of recurrent Google Scholar searches by setting up alerts for those searches. Google Scholar can also send you alerts when your papers are cited. Set up these alerts and more by following the documentation at Google Scholar Search Help.