Search Tips
- Choose the resource that best fits your topic.
- Use advanced search.
- Limit your results - Peer-reviewed; Creation Date - 2011 to present
- Refine your results - put phrases in quotes
- Try different combinations of keywords.
- Make note of what databases (Source) and journals (Journal Title) your results come from.
- Save the sources you like by copying the permalink or using a tool like Zotero.
Suggested Databases
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window This is the main index to the peer-reviewed literature for psychology and neuroscience. It indexes citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.
- ProQuest Psychology Journals Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 615 titles, with over 520 titles available in full text. Those not available in full text can be requested through DartDoc.
- Communication & mass media complete This link opens in a new window Full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window Indexes the journal literature in nursing and allied health disciplines. Provides comprehensive coverage of the English language journal literature related to nursing and the allied health disciplines, from 1982 to the present. Material from over 650 journals are included in CINAHL, covering both the nursing literature and the allied health fields such as: Cardiopulmonary Technology, Emergency Services, Health Education, Med/Lab Technology, Medical Assistance, Medical Records, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Radiologic Technology, Respiratory Therapy, Social Science, Surgical Technology, and the Physician's Assistant. Nursing & Allied Health is produced by CINAHL Information Services (CIS).
Academic Journals Related to Health Psychology
- Health Psychology - journal searchThere are numerous journals related to Health Psychology. Take a look at this search and choose those that are most relevant to you.
- Health Psychology : the official journal of the Division of Health Psychology, American Psychological AssociationThe journal explores scientific relationships between behavioral principles on the one hand and physical health and illness on the other.
- Family SystemsA Journal of Natural Systems Thinking in Psychiatry and the Sciences
- American Journal of Health PromotionOur copy is not available online, but you can request copies of articles using Interlibrary Loan. For a list of articles from this journal, see this listing from PubMed & request any articles you need using Interlibrary Loan.
Reference Resources
Reference resources such as encyclopedias and handbooks can give you good background information about your topic and are helpful resources when selecting or refining your topic.
- Handbook of Health Psychology (2nd ed., 2012)An online literature review of health psychology.
- CDC: Chronic Disease Prevention and Health PromotionUseful source of background information on chronic illnesses.
- Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Health, Illness, Behavior, and SocietyReview articles on behavioral health topics.