Consult a Librarian
Amelia Looby &
Crystal Schimpf
Send us an email
Chat with us via Teams
Make an Appointment:
with Amelia
with Crystal
Finding Organizations & People
- GuideStar Pro This link opens in a new windowA database of millions of US nonprofit organizations. Search for organizations and people by name, geography, financials, or a variety of other criteria. Reports include general information on the nonprofit, people, mission and programs, goals and results, Form 990 filings, and financial data.
- Leadership Connect This link opens in a new windowSearch for Federal organizations by location and subject area. Find contact information for alumni or other individuals by their position or organization.
- PitchBook This link opens in a new windowPitchBook tracks every aspect of the public and private equity markets, including venture capital, private equity and M&A. Screen for companies or investors with the "Impact Investing" vertical.
Users are limited to 10 downloads per day and 25 downloads per month. (1 download = 1 row of data on an Excel file).
Find Grants & Funding Opportunities
- Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new windowConsists of a searchable database of the information in The foundation directory about U.S. foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities; includes links to foundation web sites, links to 990-PF's (foundation tax filings) and application guidelines. Also contains database of grants awarded by the top funders.
- GrantForwardGrantForward helps you find grant opportunities that suit your research needs with a database of grants from over 20,000 sponsors, which is updated daily. You can search for grants by keywords and advanced filters, save your favorite searches for new grant alerts, and save your favorite grants to keep track of them. GrantForward also recommends grants to you based on your CV, past publications, and research interests. Register for an account.
- SPIN (InfoEd)World's largest database of sponsored funding opportunities.
Demographic & Community Information
- Business & Community Analyst - ArcGIS This link opens in a new windowMaps and data on demographics, consumer spending, psychographics, and policy indicators at multiple geographies, national to block-group levels.
- PolicyMapPolicyMap is a fully web-based online data and mapping application that gives you access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more.
Datasets
- National Center for Charitable StatisticsRaw data from 990 filings for nonprofit organizations and private foundations going back to 1989.
Journals
- Responsible InvestorResponsible Investor focuses on business-critical news and data dedicated to covering responsible investment, ESG, and sustainable finance for institutional investors globally. Register for an account. For complete access, email Subscriptions@pei.group from your Dartmouth email account to request access. You will be emailed an access link. No password necessary.
Web Resources
- B LabStandards, assessment, and certification for B Corporations.
- Candid Issue LabIssue Lab is where Candid collects, preserves, and shares research reports, whitepapers, evaluations, case studies, issue briefs, and more. Candid's knowledge base is published and/or funded by social sector organizations, and helps connect people who want to change the world with the resources they need to do it.
Books
Find more books in the Library catalog with these searches:
The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management by ISBN: 1394198868Publication Date: 2024
Leadership Standpoints: a practical framework for the next generation of nonprofit leaders by ISBN: 1009001116Publication Date: 2021-10-07
Impact and Excellence: Data-Driven Strategies for Aligning Mission, Culture and Performance in Nonprofit and Government Organizations by
Learn to identify, capture, and utilize impactful data for organizational transformation "Impact & Excellence" is the culmination of a four year research study into the most successful data-driven strategies for today's non-profit and government organizations. The book focuses on five strategic elements to success based on proven principles, with solutions that are easy to implement and often lead to sweeping change. Each chapter includes discussion questions and action items to help leaders implement key concepts in their own organizations. Included with purchase is access to the Measurement Culture Survey, which, will allow readers to access a free benchmark report.Learn to implement a measurement culture that emphasizes strong performance and measurable outcomesRead vivid case studies from successful organizations that do things differentlyLearn to utilize and leverage data to take decisive actions within your organizationAvoid common barriers to developing a measurement culture and learn ways to overcome limitations The book utilizes a series of experiences and templates to help leaders develop a unique action plan tailored to their organization's particular circumstances. Filled with real success stories to inspire readers and with full study results available in the appendix, "Impact & Excellence" is a crucial resource for leaders to enable their social sector organizations to prosper and compete in today's economy.
ISBN: 9781322094984Publication Date: 2014-01-01
The B Corp Handbook, Second Edition by
"This book shows how using business as a force for good, not just pursuing short-term profits, can be better for consumers, employees, local communities, the environment, and your company's long-term bottom line." --Tony Hsieh, New York Times bestselling author of Delivering Happiness and CEO, Zappos.com, Inc. B Corps are a global movement of more than 2,700 companies in 60 countries--like Patagonia, Ben & Jerry's, Kickstarter, Danone North America, and Eileen Fisher--that are using the power of business as a force for good. B Corps have been certified to have met rigorous standards of social and environmental performance, accountability, and transparency. This book is the authoritative guide to the what, why, and how of B Corp certification. Coauthors Ryan Honeyman and Dr. Tiffany Jana spoke with the leaders of over 200 B Corps from around the world to get their insights on becoming a Certified B Corp, improving their social and environmental performance, and building a more inclusive economy. The second edition has been completely revised and updated to include a much stronger focus on diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI). These changes are important because DEI can no longer be a side conversation--it must be a core value for any company that aspires to make money and make a difference. While this book is framed around the B Corp movement, any company, regardless of size, industry, or location, can use the tools contained here to learn how to build a better business. As the authors vividly demonstrate, using business as a force for good can help you attract and retain the best talent, distinguish your company in a crowded market, and increase trust in your brand.
ISBN: 9781523097555Publication Date: 2019-04-23
Mission Impact by
Create powerful strategies for your nonprofit organization to achieve breakthrough performance in mission impact Does your nonprofit have a reliable way of knowing the impact its making? Beginning with an eye-opening discussion of what strategy is, Mission Impact: A Breakthrough Strategy for Nonprofits reveals how the process of strategy development should be designed with authoritative coverage of mission impact, vision, five year strategic stretch goals, strategy implementation, and management. Step-by-step guidance and practical tools Integrates the very best current thinking on performance and strategy available, drawing from both the corporate and nonprofit worlds Cutting-edge ideas presented in a user-friendly fashion The deteriorating quality of life in our communities screams out for immediate action for breakthrough improvement, not just incremental changes. Mission Impact: A Breakthrough Strategy for Nonprofits will lead you and your organization to achieve breakthrough performance for maximum mission impact. Note: CD-ROM/DVD and other supplementary materials are not included as part of eBook file.
ISBN: 9780470449806Publication Date: 2010-02-08
Impact Investing: transforming how we make money while making a difference by
A ground-breaking book on the transformative power of impact investing This is the first book to chart the catalytic path of this new industry, explaining how it is and can be a positive disruptive force. It shows how impact investing is a transformational vehicle for delivering "blended value" throughout the investment spectrum, giving a single name to a set of activities previously siloed in enclaves, revealing how they are linked within what is becoming a new field of investing. Written by two leaders in the growing field of impact investing, the book defines this emerging industry for participants on all sides of the funding equation (investors, funders and social entrepreneurs). Filled with illustrative examples of impact investing success stories Reveals how the field can expand in order to address the most critical social and environmental issues of our day Explores the wide-ranging applications of impact investing as well as entrepreneurial opportunities The authors do not take a normative approach to argue how investors should behave like an investment guide might but show how entrepreneurial people and institutions are already offering an integrated alternative.
ISBN: 9780470907214Publication Date: 2011-09-13
Social Startup Success by
Kathleen Kelly Janus, a lecturer at the Stanford University Program on Social Entrepreneurship and the founder of the successful social enterprise Spark, set out to investigate what makes a startup succeed or fail. She surveyed more than 200 high-performing social entrepreneurs and interviewed dozens of founders.Social Startup Success shares her findings for the legions of entrepreneurs working for social good, revealing how the best organizations get over the revenue hump. How do social ventures scale to over $2 million, Janus's clear benchmark for a social enterprise's sustainability? Janus, tapping into strong connections to the Silicon Valley world where many of these ventures are started or and/or funded, reveals insights from key figures such as DonorsChoose founder Charles Best, charity:water's Scott Harrison, Reshma Saujani of Girls Who Code and many others. Social Startup Success will be social entrepreneurship's essential playbook; the first definitive guide to solving the problem of scale.
ISBN: 9780738219905Publication Date: 2018-01-16
