Physics: Reference

Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.

The 23-volume Encyclopedia of Applied Physics - EAP - is a monumental first in scope, depth, and usability. It demonstrates the synergy between physics and technological applications. Information is presented according to the following subject areas: * General Aspects; Mathematical and Information Techniques * Measurement Sciences, General Devices and/or Methods * Nuclear and Elementary Particle Physics * Atomic and Molecular Physics * Electricity and Magnetism * Optics (classical and quantum) * Acoustics * Thermodynamics and Properties of Gases * Fluids and Plasma Physics * Condensed Matter: Structure and Mechanical Properties; Thermal, Acoustic, and Quantum Properties ; Electronic Properties ; Magnetic Properties ; Dielectrical and Optical Properties; Surfaces and Interfaces * Materials Science * Physical Chemistry * Energy Research and Environmental Physics * Biophysics and Medical Physics * Geophysics, Meteorology, Space Physics and Aeronautics EAP consists of 23 hardcover volumes arranged alphabetically. A cumulative subject index is published after every three volumes, with a full index accompanying the complete work.

The Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics provides a complete resource for researchers, students and lecturers with an interest in mathematical physics. It enables readers to access basic information on topics peripheral to their own areas, to provide a repository of the core information in the area that can be used to refresh the researcher's own memory banks, and aid teachers in directing students to entries relevant to their course-work. The Encyclopedia does contain information that has been distilled, organised and presented as a complete reference tool to the user and a landmark to the body of knowledge that has accumulated in this domain. It also is a stimulus for new researchers working in mathematical physics or in areas using the methods originating from work in mathematical physics by providing them with focused high quality background information. Editorial Board: Jean-Pierre Françoise, Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris, France Gregory L. Naber, Drexel University, Philadelphia, PA, USA Tsou Sheung Tsun, University of Oxford, UK Also available online via ScienceDirect (2006) - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com. First comprehensive interdisciplinary coverage Mathematical Physics explained to stimulate new developments and foster new applications of its methods to other fields Written by an international group of experts Contains several undergraduate-level introductory articles to facilitate acquisition of new expertis Thematic index and extensive cross-referencing to provide easy access and quick search functionality Also available online with active linking

This book is a compendium of mathematical formulas, tables, and graphs. It contains a table of analytical integrals, differential equations, and numerical series; and includes tables of trigonometric and hyperbolic functions, tables for numerical integration, rules for differentiation and integration, and techniques for point interpolation and function approximation. Additionally, it devotes a entire section to mathematical and physical constants as fractions and powers of Pi, e, and prime numbers; and discusses statistics by presenting combinatorial analysis and probability functions.

Fully revised, with many new entries and biographies of key scientists, this work covers all the commonly encountered terms and concepts in physics, as well as key terms from maths, astrophysics and physical chemistry. 8th edition.

The eighth edition of the classic Gradshteyn and Ryzhik is an updated completely revised edition of what is acknowledged universally by mathematical and applied science users as the key reference work concerning the integrals and special functions. The book is valued by users of previous editions of the work both for its comprehensive coverage of integrals and special functions, and also for its accuracy and valuable updates. Since the first edition, published in 1965, the mathematical content of this book has significantly increased due to the addition of new material, though the size of the book has remained almost unchanged. The new 8th edition contains entirely new results and amendments to the auxiliary conditions that accompany integrals and wherever possible most entries contain valuable references to their source.