Skip to main content

Psychological & Brain Sciences

Resources for starting your research in Psychological & Brain Sciences, as well as resources for finding psychological tests, scales, and measures.

Comprehensive handbook of psychological assessment  [2004]
Baker Berry BF176 .C654 2004 v.1-4 (Catalog Record)

Published in 2004, this useful handbook reviews the assessment and testing literature in the areas of intellectual and neuropsychological assessment, personality assessment, behavioral assessment, and industrial & organizational assessment.

Dictionary of behavioral assessment techniques  [1988]
Baker Berry BF176.5 .D53 1988 (Catalog Record)

Published in 1988, this resource is an alphabetical list of approximately 300 measurement techniques used in clinical and research settings.

Measures for psychological assessment: a guide to 3,000 original sources and their applications
Baker Berry Z7164.S68 C57 (Catalog Record)

This is a useful reference for finding older tests from the 60s and 70s.

Measures of personality and social psychological attitudes  [1991]
Baker Berry BF698.4 .M38 1991 (Catalog Record)

Describes about 150 tests & measures dealing with the assessment of personality and social psychological attitudes.

Measures of political attitudes  [1999]
Baker Berry JA74.5 .M43 1999 (Catalog Record)

Descriptive information on instruments for measuring political attitudes.

Positive psychological assessment: a handbook of models and measures  [2003]
Baker Berry BF176 .P67 2003 (Catalog Record)

Reviews psychological tests that measure traits such as optimism, self-esteem, locus of control, creativity, gratitude, etc. Non-proprietary tests appear at the end of chapters.

Scales for the measurement of attitudes
Baker Berry BF378.A75 S45 (Catalog Record)

Published in 1967, this bibliography lists about 175 experimental attitude measures. Also reviews the history of attitude research.

Tests and measurements in child development, handbook II
Baker Berry BF723.P4 J654 v.1-2 (Catalog Record)

Published in 1976, this handbook covers tests published from1966 to 1974 in the area of child development.

The Experience of work: a compendium and review of 249 measures and their use  [1981]
Baker Berry HF5549.5.A83 E9 1981 (Catalog Record)

Covers tests measuring work attitudes, values, and perceptions from 1974 through 1980.

Women and women's issues: a handbook of tests and measures
Baker Berry HQ1180 .B43 (Catalog Record)

Describes 235 published & unpublished instruments from the 1920s through 1977 that measure attitudes, sex roles, stereotypes, etc.

Gender roles: a handbook of tests and measures  [1990]
Baker Berry HM253 .B43 1990 (Catalog Record)

Updates Beere's "Women and Women's Issues" (above) with 211 measures produced from 1977 through 1988. Covers topics such as gender roles & attitudes, work, employment, marriage, and child-rearing.

Sex and gender issues: a handbook of tests and measures  [1990]
Baker Berry BF692 .B38 1990 (Catalog Record)

Covers 197 measures focusing on attitudes toward interpersonal relationships and sexuality, body image, eating disorders, rape and family violence, menstruation and menopause.

There are two major categories of tests:

(1) Commercial Tests. These tests are only available from a test publisher, although it is sometimes possible to find them published in a journal or a report. If you intend to administer the test as part of your research, you will need to purchase all the copies you will need from the publisher. It is often necessary to provide your credentials to the test publisher indicating that you are qualified to administer the test and interpret its results.

(2) Unpublished Tests. These are tests that are not available commercially and can often be found in the journal literature or other publications. If you plan to use an unpublished test in your research, you should obtain permission from the test's author in writing. 

Any research involving human subjects at Dartmouth needs to be approved by the Committee for the Protection of Human Subjects. The link to "Downloadable Forms" includes an application for student projects.

For information on the responsible use of psychological tests and measures with human subjects, consult the American Psychological Association's Web page on Testing & Assessment and the APA Testing Information Clearinghouse

Tips for finding the contact information of test authors:

(1) If the test recently appeared in a journal article or other publication, use the author contact information in the paper. If the article is not recent and the contact information is no longer accurate, search PsycINFO for recent articles by the author. Contact information will be available in the full PsycINFO record.

(2) Try consulting the ORCHID directory. If these options fail, try searching for the author using your favorite web search engine.

(3) If all your attempts fail, request permission from the journal or publication in which the test appeared.