Research Guides: AAAS.88.16 / ANTH 50.22 : Sovereignty, Race &amp; Rights: Start here

Key Resources

Dartmouth Libraries Search (home page)
Broad, but imprecise. By default, searches across our library catalog as well as many full-text scholarly journal & book collections. Excludes newspapers, along with bibliographic databases (other than our catalog). Also excludes some full-text databases, particularly those we get through Ebsco.
Dartmouth Libraries Catalog - Advanced Search

Overviews written by scholars in the discipline, often with bibliographies pointing to key research.

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
Platform: Wiley Online Library
First published 2007, with ongoing updates.
Cambridge Histories Online
Extensive series, particularly strong in political and cultural histories.
International Encyclopedia of Anthropology
Recent (2018), broad, extensive coverage with in-depth articles and bibliographies.
International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (2nd edition)
This massive, broad-coverage work is great for in-depth overviews - particularly social theory.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Collection of over 1,000 Oxford Handbooks, with coverage across the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, and law. Specially commissioned essays from leading scholars give critical examination of the progress and direction of research in the discipline.
Theory in Social and Cultural Anthropology: An Encyclopedia
Quick overviews of key theories and theorists within the field.
Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements
Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Theory
"interdisciplinary compendium of original entries focusing on the origins, evolution, and global development of contemporary social theory"

or if our copy is checked out...

BorrowDirect
Request books (only) from small, but strong, group of libraries (Ivies, plus Duke, Johns Hopkins, MIT, & U. Chicago)
Interlibrary Loan
Request articles, books, and other publications you need from a huge network of other libraries.