Multidisciplinary
The library home page's main search tool is a great place to start, but there are many additional tools that allow you to conduct more targeted searching.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, biology, ecology, and other fields of the sciences, humanities, and social sciences.
- Project Muse: premium collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, journals with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields. Coverage includes 426 journals by 106 publishers.
- ProQuest - search full databaseWe subscribe to more than 70 different databases through the ProQuest company. You can search across all of them simultaneously by starting at their main "Search.ProQuest.Com" page.
- Sage Journals OnlineDefault search:Full Text
Search journals published by Sage, which is the contracted publisher for the American Sociological Association journals.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, with bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities. Scopus has 55 million records dating back to 1823, 84% of these contain references dating from 1996.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.
- Wiley Online LibraryWiley publishes the American Anthropological Association's journals, along with the American Journal of Physical Anthropology, the Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute, and more. Warning: While Wiley allows you to browse a list of their anthropology journals, you cannot easily limit searches to that set of titles.
Anthropology, History & Sociology
- America, history and life This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries with abstracts. The database content is drawn from over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. The coverage of America: History and Life also includes citations to book reviews from over 100 major journals of American history and culture and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowFull-text archive of American Anthropological Association's journals, newsletters and bulletins.
- Anthropological Literature This link opens in a new windowBibliographic index to articles in journals and edited works received by the Tozzer Library, the anthropology library of Harvard University. Covers publications dating from the early 19th century to the present.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada)
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines from 1952 to the present.
Government & Law
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowFull text image-based searchable database of legal periodicals. Database coverage for each periodical is from the beginning issue to the most current allowed under contract.
- WestlawNext This link opens in a new windowProvides search interfaces to cases, statutes and legislative materials, and encyclopedias; legal guides on various topics; famous documents; and pre-law topics.
- Worldwide political science abstracts This link opens in a new windowThe database contains abstracts of materials from professional journals, major news magazines and books devoted to the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, public law, public administration and public policy. Topics include political institutions, processes, and behavior; international law and politics; policy analysis; public affairs and administration; public law; political theory; and political economics.
Economics, Business & Industry
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowIndexes business and management journals worldwide; covers corporate strategies, marketing, product development, industry conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and more. Includes the full text of articles from many publishers and links to full text options for other articles. 1923 to present.
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowIndexes 30+ years of economics literature from around the world. Compiled by the American Economic Association, EconLit is a comprehensive index of journal articles, books, book reviews, collective volume articles, working papers and dissertations.
Gale in context: Environmental studies by Call Number: Electronic resourceFrom climate change to automobile emissions, today’s environmental issues determine the destiny of tomorrow’s world. Gale In Context: Environmental Studies provides users with comprehensive information on topics that affect people around the world. You can explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, and more. This resource
Integrates case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more on over 400 topics.
News
Wendel Cox's Newspaper research guide links to our key newspaper sources. I've highlighted a few best bets for the class below.
Current News
- AllAfrica.com This link opens in a new windowPlease use Dartmouth's VPN for off campus access.
Contains articles from over 100 news publications throughout Africa and from several hundred other sources, including governments, non-governmental organizations and other newsmakers, inside and outside of Africa. Subscription/premium content in the news archive (1996+) is available via the advanced search function. - Ethnic newswatch This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States, published 1990- .
Historical News
- BBC monitoring. Summary of world broadcasts. (1939-2001)A remarkable compilation of news and other open-source information, translated into English where necessary, for the second-half of the 20th century.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) This link opens in a new windowFBIS was part of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), and its Daily Reports constitute the United States’ principal historical record of political open-source intelligence from 1941-1996. Its original mission was to monitor, record, transcribe, and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories during World War II. After World War II the focus shifted to monitoring broadcasts from communist countries and their satellites, the Arab World, and Latin America.
- Independent Voices: The Alternative PressPublications by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press, and alternative literary magazines of the second half of the twentieth century.
- Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports, 1957-1995A unit of the Central Intelligence Agency, the JPRS produced English translations of foreign books, newspaper & journal articles, and reports - primarily from communist & developing countries
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers** Set "Source Type" to "Historical Newspapers" **
Full content (text & image) of the back-run of several major US national, regional, and minority press newspapers, including the New York Times and Washington Post, as well as several African-American press newspapers such as the Chicago Defender, and selected foreign titles such as the Times of India and the Manchester (UK) Guardian. Does NOT cover current years.