AAAS.88.16 / ANTH 50.22 : Sovereignty, Race & Rights: Regional databases

The Economist Intelligence Unit provides reports on nearly 200 countries. Each report examines and explains in depth the issues shaping the countries: the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sector trends, and foreign trade and payments. Detailed two-year forecasts complement the analysis and pinpoint political and economic developments and trends.

Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada)

Indexes scholarly articles & books on Africa - and to a lesser extent the African diaspora. Subject coverage principally in the social and environmental sciences, development studies, humanities and arts. Some items from the medical, biological and natural sciences are included. African government publications and works of creative literature are not normally listed.

Multidisciplinary suite of bibliographic databases indexing scholarly articles, books, dissertations and films related to Africa.

Library catalog for the University of Leiden's African Studies Centre, whose collection covers materials in all disciplines related to Africa and the diaspora. Includes bibliographic citations (and some abstracts) for monographs, journal articles and chapters from edited works.

Provides citations to western-language periodical articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, etc. pertaining to east, southeast, and south Asia. Subject areas covered: Anthropology & Sociology, Arts, Biography, Communication & Media, Economics, Education, Geography, History, Language, Library & Information Sciences, Literature, Philosophy & Religion, Politics & Government, Psychology & Psychiatry, Science & Technology . Covers 1971 to the present, including full data from the print editions from 1971-1991.

Contains records describing books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers published in the field of Latin American studies. Coverage includes relevant books as well as over 800 social science and 550 humanities journals and volumes of conference proceedings. Most records include abstracts with evaluations.

The Hispanic American Periodicals Index, or HAPI, is a source for scholarship about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States, with coverage from 1970 to the present. It contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Many articles are available in full-text, via the fee-based document delivery service.

A comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries with abstracts. The database content is drawn from over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. The coverage of America: History and Life also includes citations to book reviews from over 100 major journals of American history and culture and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.

[Formerly titled "Bibliography of Native North Americans"]
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of North American Indigenous cultures and histories, indexing scholarly books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.

Indexes information produced by or pertaining to the United States Congress from 1789 to the present. Provides full text for many titles, generally from the early 1990's to the present. Includes bills, laws, legislative histories, committee prints, House and Senate documents and reports, the Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, and Federal Register. Includes full text of Congressional Research Service reports, 1916-present; full text of Congressional hearings, 1824- ; full text of Committee Prints, 1830-2003; and full text of the Serial Set Collection with Maps, 1789-1969. For a complete description of contents, coverage, and update frequency, consult the online Help section.

Suite of databases includes periodical indexes covering Black Studies scholarship, as well as indexing articles and reviews from the Black Press (1827-1940), Also includes the full-text of the Chicago Defender newspaper, and overview essays from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.

Multidisciplinary Index to scholarly and general interest periodicals published in or about Hawaiʻi and the Pacific, and held in the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Library. Coverage dates back to the 1890s.