Your Librarians
Amelia Looby &
Crystal Schimpf
Send us an email
Chat with us via Teams
Make an Appointment:
with Amelia
with Crystal
Welcome!
Welcome to the libguide for ENGM 178, Tech Assessment. This guide was designed specifically for this course and includes selected resources that should help you work through your projects.
Best Bets
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowInstitute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and more than 3,400 technical standards.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.
- GlobalData: Disruptor This link opens in a new windowDecodes emerging tech-enabled opportunities with information on promising start-ups, technology led innovations, latest sector trends, consumer insights, and venture capital portfolio investments. Covers these technologies: artificial intelligence, blockchain, connected devices & IoT, digital business, payment technologies, robotics & drones, security tech, and others within these verticals: consumer, retail, financial services, and healthcare.
- GlobalData: Power This link opens in a new windowCovers renewables, carbon emissions and trading, hydrogen and fuel cells, coal to gas, gas to liquids, biomass to liquids and nuclear industries. 25,000+ power plants, 16,000+ companies, and hundreds of research reports. Includes access to GlobalData's Energy Transitions database which highlights alternative energy generation, storage, and capacity along with related data.
- BCC Research This link opens in a new windowBCC's market research reports explore major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology organizations. Industry analysis and market forecasts for advanced materials, high-tech systems and components, nanotechnology and novel processing methods are at the forefront of the company's expertise.
- Gartner This link opens in a new windowIT research including statistics, forecasts and market analysis on the Hardware, Software, IT Services, Communications, and Semiconductor markets.
- Technavio Global Reports (via EMIS)Market research reports on global industries including, communication, consumer services/discretionary/staples, energy, financials, health care, industrials, information technology, materials, and utilities.
- PitchBook This link opens in a new windowPitchBook tracks every aspect of the public and private equity markets, including venture capital, private equity and M&A. Research and analyze companies, deals, funds, investors and service providers across the entire private investment lifecycle.
Users are limited to 10 downloads per day and 25 downloads per month. (1 download = 1 row of data on an Excel file). Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and academic support/staff for academic purposes.
Feldberg Library Tools
Feldberg Library is located in Murdough 101A. Directly behind the Irving Institute and directly below Technology Transfer.
- Feldberg Library WebsiteHours, Directions to the Library, etc.
- Dartmouth VPNAccess most Dartmouth Resources from anywhere in the world using the Dartmouth VPN. Requires NetID SSO log-in. Please note that there are some resources that are only available on campus.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Request quick access to materials not owned by Dartmouth. Login using your Dartmouth NetID credentials. Articles will be delivered in PDF format online, and physical materials can be set-up for delivery to the library of your choice on your ILL profile.
Browser Extensions
Why use browser extensions?
In short there are a number of articles & ebooks that we have access to through a platform like EBSCO, but not via the direct link to the publisher. Instead of you taking the time to use the library search to determine if access is available, LibKey Nomad++ will help to redirect you from that publisher page to the access point available through the library. Extensions help you get the information you need faster with less effort. Additionally, the extensions can redirect you to submit an interlibrary loan request for materials we do not have. Another benefit: LibKey Nomad is also directly linked to RetractionWatch, and will let you know if the article you are examining has been retracted!
Do you get frustrated when you can't get access to an article? We do! That's why we have set up LibKey Nomad to provide a link to an article's full text! Simply install the extension in your browser, and access articles from publisher websites at the click of a button. Nomad works with Chrome, Firefox, Edge, Brave, Vivaldi & Safari. LibKey is also directly linked to RetractionWatch, and will let you know if the article you are examining has been retracted! Select the "Access Options" to be directed to the catalog where you can place an interlibrary loan request.