Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Writing 44.02 Science and Technology Writing & Presentation

What are citation managers?

Citation managers are a piece of software that allows you to store, manage, and cite bibliographic references from a library that you generate.

 

Because of browser add-ons, you can save citations in your workflow, as you browse.

 

Then, as you write, you can build your citations into your paper using a tool that remembers which papers you have cited and pops a full bibliography of them in at the end.

 

You will also hear them called reference managers or bibliographic managers or bibliography managers. 

Why use a citation manager?

 Why use a citation manager?

  • Neatly store citations

  • Insert citations and bibliography into your writing with the click of a button

  • Change the citation style of an entire paper with the click of a button

  • And more!

  • Access and annotate pdf’s

  • Share spreadsheets with colleagues

  • Share citations with colleagues

  • Etc… 

Zotero

Zotero Logo Zotero is a citation management software that is open source.

Key Points:

  • Full functionality for individuals and groups of limited size
  • Storage space: 300MB for free; space upgrades at $20 per year (for 2GB of space)
  • Computer-based with cloud storage option
  • Plugin or Standalone
  • Compatible with Word, Google Docs and LibreOffice/OpenOffice/NeoOffice
  • Automatically get full text from Dartmouth's citation list using this link: https://search.library.dartmouth.edu/openurl/01DCL_INST/01DCL_INST:01DCL?​

We recommend

Creating Zotero References

Creating New References

Desktop Client

1. Click on the "add new reference button".

2. Select the type of reference you're trying to add.

3. Double check the Zotero has pulled the metadata from your reference correctly.

 

Zotero's Website

1. Click on the "add new reference button".

2. Select the type of reference you're trying to add.

3. Enter the reference information, click save.

Web Import Button

1. Add the Zotero Importer to the browser of your choice. 

2. On the webpage you would like to site, click on the Zotero Importer button. 

 

Helpful hint: you must have Zotero open on your desktop for the web import button to work. Items are added to the desktop client and then need to be synced to Zotero's website using the sync button 

Editing References

Editing References

Desktop Client

1. Click on the reference you would like to edit.

2. In the details panel (right hand side), select the field you would like to make edits to.

3. When you are done making changes, hit enter.

 
 

Zotero's Website 

1. Click on the reference you would like to edit.

2. Click edit. 

3. Select the fields you would like to edit, the click on save. 

Helpful hint: Forget to upload a PDF? Instead of clicking edit, scroll to the bottom of the reference page and click on "upload attachment" OR right click the article and select "find available PDF" (this only works if Dartmouth has access to the PDF you're looking for)

Zotero Word Processor Plug-ins

Cite While You Write

1. Within a word document, move your cursor to where you would like your citation to be. Then select the Zotero tab. 

2. Click on the "insert citation" and then use the "Z" drop down menu to select "classic view". 

3. Select the reference you would like to cite.

5. Your citation has been inserted. To update the citation style, select document preferences.  

6. When you've finished adding all your citations, move your cursor to the place in your document you would like your bibliography. Then click on "Add/Edit Bibliography". 

 

Helpful Hints:

--Not seeing your changes? Click on the Refresh button to update your document. 

--Using Google Docs? There's a Zotero plugin for that! To add it to docs, you'll need to install the browser plugin and have a Zotero account. Write and Cite then works similarly to the Word version.