Finding Primary Sources in the Dartmouth College Library Collection
It's impossible to create a comprehensive list in this guide, so please contact me if you're having trouble locating materials for your project.
In some cases there are clues to help you identify primary source materials (e.g., library catalog subject heading with a subheading "Sources"), but in some cases materials aren't cataloged as such. You can often infer the scope of a resource from its catalog record (e.g., author, pub date, etc.), but be prepared to sift through the item before confirming its coverage.
African American press newspapers (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
A number of titles are available online through the ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers collection. We have full-text access to more recent years for all titles except the Norfolk Journal Guide, but these historical collections include the original page image complete with advertisements!
- Atlanta Daily Worldhistorical coverage for 1931 - 2003
- Baltimore Afro-Americanhistorical coverage for 1893-1988
- Chicago Defenderhistorical coverage for 1909-1975
- Cleveland Call and Posthistorical coverage for 1934 - 1991
- Los Angeles Sentinelhistorical coverage for 1934 - 2005
- New York Amsterdam Newshistorical coverage for 1922-1993
- Norfolk Journal and Guidehistorical coverage 1916-2003
- Philadelphia Tribunehistorical coverage for 1912-2001
- Pittsburgh Courierhistorical coverage for 1911-2002
Popular Press - Historical
While not a complete list, these are our primary sources for major newspapers and general-interest publications.
- Ebony archive (via Google Books)Covers Nov. 1959-Dec. 2008
- Jet archive (via Google Books)Covers from the first issue (Nov. 01, 1951) through October 2008
- Life MagazineIssues for 1936-1972 are housed in the Baker-Berry Reserves Office. Ask at Reserves desk.
Also available online via Google Books - Time MagazineBack issues are housed in our Storage Library
- Women's Magazine ArchiveCollection in progress. Currently offers cover-to-cover scans of several historical women's magazines: Better Homes & Gardens (1925-1961); Chatelaine (1940-2005); Good Housekeeping (1886-1932); Ladies’ Home Journal (1887-1954); Parents (1949-1972); Redbook (1903 to 2002)
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)Covering all subjects of general news areas including aeronautics, African-Americans, aging, archeology, astronomy, automobiles, biographies, business, children, education, environment, fashion, film, fine arts, food, foreign affairs, gardening, health, history, hobbies, home, journalism, leisure activities, literature, medicine, music, news, nutrition, photography, politics, popular culture, radio, religion, science, sports, technology, television, and travel. Coverage dates: 1890 1982
- The DartmouthRauner has most issues back to 1839.
Microfilm for 1910+ is housed in the Baker Reserves Project Room - Valley NewsOur local newspaper
Microfilm for 1952+ in the Baker Reserves Project Room - LandmarkEarlier title to our local newspaper, the Valley News.
Microfilm for 1882-1952 housed in our Storage Library
Archival web sites
- Civil Rights Digital LibraryMulti-institutional project hosted at the University of Georgia.
An online archive of both primary & secondary documents drawing from collections nationwide. Includes television news footage, photographs, oral histories, reports, published books/articles, and more. - FBI Vault - Civil Rights documentsSelected FBI records released to the public due to FOIA (Freedom of Information Act) requests
- Digital SchombergSchomburg Center for Research in Black Culture (New York Public Library)
Collected papers
The Papers of Clarence Mitchell Jr. by Call Number: E185.97.M63 A25 2005 (volumes 1-4)Selected papers from the 1940s through early 1950s.
The Papers of Martin Luther King, Jr. by Call Number: Baker-Berry E185.97.K5 A2 1992 (volumes 1-6)
AAAS Librarian
Amy Witzel
Contact:
230 Baker (Research & Learning)
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
Phone: (603) 646-0790
Legal/Government Documents
- ProQuest CongressionalProvides access to U.S. Congressional materials: members and committees, bills, laws, hearing transcripts, committee prints, documents, the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Code, Statutes at Large, CIS indexing and abstracting
- U.S. Congressional Serial SetPresenting every publication from the 15th Congress through the 103rd Congress, including items missing from other editions, the Readex U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 contains over 415,000 individual documents in more than 14,000 volumes. Designed for legislative and historical research, the Readex digital edition features unique browse capabilities and comprehensive metadata, offering new research opportunities for students and scholars in cultural, economic, ethnic, government, military, political and science history and other fields. Readex uses the original volumes to create fine new digital images of every publication, including approximately 56,000 maps. Nearly 14,000 maps and more than 8,000 illustrations appear in high-resolution color.
- WestlawProvides search interfaces to cases, statutes and legislative materials, and encyclopedias; legal guides on various topics; famous documents; and pre-law topics.
- The Oyez ProjectSupreme Court case summaries & decisions. For cases since 1950, there are audio files for oral arguments.
- Equality of educational opportunity byCall Number: Baker-Berry - L107 .C5 1966 (volumes 1-2)Commonly known as the "Coleman Report".
Scanned copy also available online via ERIC - Indian education: a national tragedy, a national challenge. 1969 report of the Committee on Labor and Public Welfare, United States Senate, made by its Special Subcommittee on Indian Education, pursuant to S. Res. 80 (91st Cong., 1st sess. together with sCall Number: Baker-Berry - KF31 .L355 1969Commonly known as the Kennedy Report
Scanned copy also available online via ERIC