AAAS 80 / HIST 22 - Civil Rights in the United States in the 20th Century - Fall 2016: Primary Sources

historical coverage for 1931 - 2003

historical coverage for 1893-1988

historical coverage for 1909-1975

historical coverage for 1934 - 1991

historical coverage for 1934 - 2005

historical coverage for 1922-1993

historical coverage 1916-2003

historical coverage for 1912-2001

historical coverage for 1911-2002

Covers Nov. 1959-Dec. 2008

Covers from the first issue (Nov. 01, 1951) through October 2008

Issues for 1936-1972 are housed in the Baker-Berry Reserves Office. Ask at Reserves desk.
Also available online via Google Books

Back issues are housed in our Storage Library

Collection in progress. Currently offers cover-to-cover scans of several historical women's magazines: Better Homes & Gardens (1925-1961); Chatelaine (1940-2005); Good Housekeeping (1886-1932); Ladies’ Home Journal (1887-1954); Parents (1949-1972); Redbook (1903 to 2002)

Covering all subjects of general news areas including aeronautics, African-Americans, aging, archeology, astronomy, automobiles, biographies, business, children, education, environment, fashion, film, fine arts, food, foreign affairs, gardening, health, history, hobbies, home, journalism, leisure activities, literature, medicine, music, news, nutrition, photography, politics, popular culture, radio, religion, science, sports, technology, television, and travel. Coverage dates: 1890 1982

Rauner has most issues back to 1839.
Microfilm for 1910+ is housed in the Baker Reserves Project Room

Our local newspaper
Microfilm for 1952+ in the Baker Reserves Project Room

Earlier title to our local newspaper, the Valley News.
Microfilm for 1882-1952 housed in our Storage Library

Multi-institutional project hosted at the University of Georgia.
An online archive of both primary & secondary documents drawing from collections nationwide. Includes television news footage, photographs, oral histories, reports, published books/articles, and more.

Selected FBI records released to the public due to FOIA (Freedom of Information Act) requests

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture (New York Public Library)

Provides access to U.S. Congressional materials: members and committees, bills, laws, hearing transcripts, committee prints, documents, the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Code, Statutes at Large, CIS indexing and abstracting

Presenting every publication from the 15th Congress through the 103rd Congress, including items missing from other editions, the Readex U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 contains over 415,000 individual documents in more than 14,000 volumes. Designed for legislative and historical research, the Readex digital edition features unique browse capabilities and comprehensive metadata, offering new research opportunities for students and scholars in cultural, economic, ethnic, government, military, political and science history and other fields. Readex uses the original volumes to create fine new digital images of every publication, including approximately 56,000 maps. Nearly 14,000 maps and more than 8,000 illustrations appear in high-resolution color.

Provides search interfaces to cases, statutes and legislative materials, and encyclopedias; legal guides on various topics; famous documents; and pre-law topics.

Supreme Court case summaries & decisions. For cases since 1950, there are audio files for oral arguments.