Research Guides: UX, UI, and Human Computer Interaction: Getting Started

UX News from Smashing Magazine

Computer Science

ACM Portal
Consists of a searchable, browsable, bibliographic database from the key publishers in computing, including books, journals, proceedings and theses.

arXiv
An open-access archive for scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards.

Scopus
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, with bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Especially good with conference coverage, including those that focus on HCI.

User Studies

CINAHL Complete
Nursing and Allied Health database that contains many articles about technology (such as wearable medical devices) and healthcare.
PsycINFO
This is the main index to the peer-reviewed literature for psychology and neuroscience. It indexes citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.

Business and Industry

GlobalData: Disruptor
Decodes emerging tech-enabled opportunities with information on promising start-ups, technology led innovations, latest sector trends, consumer insights, and venture capital portfolio investments. Covers these technologies: artificial intelligence, blockchain, connected devices & IoT, digital business, payment technologies, robotics & drones, security tech, and others within these verticals: consumer, retail, financial services, and healthcare.
GlobalData: Medical
Medical device intelligence covering 16 key therapy areas: cardiovascular, orthopedics in vitro diagnostics, general surgery, diagnostic imaging, healthcare IT, wound care, diabetes, dental, neurology, nephrology and urology, anesthesia and respiratory, ENT, and ophthalmology. Find marketsize and growth, procedures data, pipeline products, company profiles, clinical trials, reports/analysis, news and deals.

AI Resources for Finding Research

Elicit
An AI research assistant that helps generate literature reviews by finding, summarizing, and analyzing academic papers based on your queries. Also features a personal library that can connect Zotero.
Research Rabbit
Research Rabbit is a research discovery platform designed to help academics, researchers, and students efficiently explore and visualize scientific literature. It offers interactive tools to map out relationships between papers, authors, and topics, making it easier to identify relevant studies, track research trends, and build comprehensive literature reviews.
Semantic Scholar
Semantic Scholar is a free, AI-powered research tool developed by the Allen Institute for AI that helps users find and understand scientific literature. It uses machine learning to extract key insights, citations, and influential papers from millions of academic articles across various disciplines.

Related Dartmouth Library Research Guides

Computer Science Research Guide
A collection of resources covering all aspects of Computer Science.
Engineering & Design Research Guide
A curated collection of resources that cover the intersection between Engineering methods and Design principles.

Reference Sources

100 Human–Computer Interaction (HCI) Methodologies
A curated list of 100 different HCI methodologies, techniques, and approaches used across the spectrum of HCI research and design
Methods and Measures in HCI
An online tool that helps researchers identify suitable research methods and standardized ways to operationalize concepts in HCI studies.
Usability First – HCI Design Approaches
This source outlines four foundational design approaches in HCI: Anthropomorphic, Cognitive, Predictive Modeling, and Empirical.
Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomics (5th Edition)
In this handbook, authors deliver a comprehensive exploration of workplace environment design, human-machine interfaces, and cutting-edge research on the reduction of health and safety risks.
SAGE Handbook of Human-Machine Communication
Library eBook. The SAGE Handbook of Human-Machine Communication has been designed to serve as the touchstone text for researchers and scholars engaging in new research in this fast-developing field. Chapters provide a comprehensive grounding of the history, methods, debates and theories that contribute to the study of human-machine communication.

Journals

ACM Transactions on Computer-Human Interaction (TOCHI)
TOCHI covers the software, hardware and human aspects of interaction with computers. Topics include hardware and software architectures; interactive techniques, metaphors, and evaluation; user interface design processes; and users and groups of users.
Advances in Human-Computer Interaction
Advances in Human-Computer Interaction is an interdisciplinary open access journal that publishes theoretical and applied papers covering the broad spectrum of interactive systems.
Human-computer interaction
A leading journal publishing research on the design, evaluation, and use of interactive technologies from psychological, social, and design perspectives.
Interactions
An ACM magazine that bridges research and practice by showcasing insights, trends, and case studies in human-computer interaction and design.
International Journal of Human-Computer Interaction
A peer-reviewed journal focusing on the theoretical, empirical, and methodological issues in the interaction between humans and computer systems.
Journal of Usability Studies
An open-access journal dedicated to advancing the field of usability and user experience through practical and applied research.
Personal and Ubiquitous Computing
A journal exploring pervasive, mobile, and context-aware computing technologies and their impact on everyday life.
User Modeling and User-Adapted Interaction
A journal publishing research on systems that adapt to individual users by modeling their behavior, preferences, and needs.

Conferences

CHI (Conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems)
The flagship ACM SIGCHI conference, largest and most prestigious in HCI.
UIST (User Interface Software and Technology)
Focused on innovations in user interfaces, interactive systems, and technology.
Computer-Supported Cooperative Work and Social Computing (CSCW)
Bringing together top researchers and practitioners, CSCW explores the technical, social, material, and theoretical challenges of designing technology to support collaborative work and life activities.
MobileHCI
MobileHCI is an annual international conference that focuses on the design, development, evaluation, and study of human–computer interaction in mobile, portable, and personal devices and services.