Recommended Resources
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowVast full-text news resources as well as fundamental legal resources and case law.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily ReportBreathtakingly extensive open-source intelligence gathering via media around the globe, ranging from the end of World War II to the close of the Cold War. Translation of non-English-language sources in transcription or summary.
Topical Newspaper Projects
- Ethnic newswatch This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States, published 1990- .
- Independent Voices: The Alternative PressPublications by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press, and alternative literary magazines of the second half of the twentieth century.
- Understanding Hate in America: White Nationalism and the Press in the 1920sPublications promoting and opposing white nationalism. Local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and sympathizers across the U.S. and key anti-Klan voices.
The Black Press: African-American Newspapers
You can find African-American newspapers in such collections as ProQuest Historical Newspapers, Readex America's Historical Newspapers, Accessible Archives, and Chronicling America.
ProQuest titles in its Historical Newspapers collection reproduce a publication's text-searchable text as articles, entire pages, and complete issues;
- Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010)
- Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010)
- Chicago Defender (1909-2010)
- Cleveland Call and Post (1934-2010),
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
- Louisville Defender (1933-2010)
- Michigan Chronicle [Detroit, MI] (1939-2010)
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010)
- Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010)
- Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010)
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010).
Readex African American Newspapers, Series 1 and African American Newspapers, Series 2, contain more than 350 titles, primarily but far from exclusively from the nineteenth century. Publication runs may be incomplete or comprised of a handful of issues.
Accessible Archives African American Newspapers presents leading nineteenth- and twentieth-century American and Canadian publications.
Chronicling America includes more than 250 African-American newspapers, primarily but not exclusively from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Publication runs may be incomplete or comprised of few or only a single issue, while other runs are extensive. Speak to your liaison librarian about text analysis via Constellate for all newspapers in Chronicling America and more.
Newspapers and News, Post-1990
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full text resources on topics including current and general news; business and financial information; newspapers; company directories; government and politics; medical and health topics; accounting, auditing, and tax; federal and state laws; legal cases; regulations; and patents.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowIndexes and provides full text to 33,000 news and business information sources from 200 countries in 28 languages, includes regional and industry publications, newspapers, newswires, Web and blog content.
Television and Radio
- Television news archive, Vanderbilt University This link opens in a new windowTV-NewsSearch locates material in the collection of the Vanderbilt Television News Archive. Use this page to perform more complex searches in the headlines and abstracts. In addition to keyword searching, you can make selections according to network, date, reporter, and program type. The database currently includes 835,000 records, including abstracts at the story level of regular evening news programs and catalog records for each special news program. The database will list results of individual story-level records. From each of these records you can press the button to display the listing of the entire program.
Guides to Digitized Historical Newspaper Projects
- Newspaper Digitization Projects: ICONThe International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON) list of open-access and fee-for-service digitization projects.
Guides to Historical Newspapers
African-American Newspapers and Periodicals by ISBN: 9780674007888Publication Date: 1999-02-25"The authentic voice of African-American culture is captured in this first comprehensive guide to a treasure trove of writings by and for a people, as found in sources in the United States, Canada, and the Caribbean."
