Librarian
Wendel Cox
He/Him/His
Contact:
231 Baker
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
Recommended Resources
- ProQuest political science This link opens in a new windowExtensive coverage and indexing of leading political science and international relations journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text archive of select journals from history, economics, political science, and social sciences.
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new windowAn aggregation of EBSCO indexes from a variety of disciplines, including economics, history, political science, and other social sciences. A complement to ProQuest Central.
- ProQuest central This link opens in a new windowAn aggregation of ProQuest indexes from a variety of disciplines and other news and information streams. A complement to Academic Search Complete.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowFull text image-based searchable database of legal periodicals. Database coverage for each periodical is from the beginning issue to the most current allowed under contract.
Highlighted Journals
- The RUSI JournalThe RUSI Journal is the oldest publication of its kind in the world and a leading forum for exchanging ideas on national and international defense and security issues. Practitioners and scholars alike consider it essential reading for anyone seeking to understand war and conflict, British and international defense and security policies, and military history.
- International Affairs (Moscow, Russia)Offering unique, first-hand analysis of major foreign policy and security issues facing Russia and other former Soviet republics, this is the English translation of the Russian-language journal Mezhdunarodnaia zhizn, published by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation. As such, International Affairs is an excellent primary source for Russia’s foreign policy, worldview, and approaches to international development.
GOVT 004 01: Politics of the World
- Quality of Government Institute: World MapVisualize a variety of political, economic, and civil society indexes and metrics on a global map.
- Our World in DataOur World in Data publishes research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems. It provides research and data that those working towards progress need to serve that community. Additionally, it seeks to inform more people about big problems and to make the decision that they use their energy and resources to contribute to progress.
- Freedom HouseFounded in 1941, Freedom House has established itself through its advocacy, programs, and research as the leading American organization devoted to the support and defense of democracy around the world.
- Democratic Erosion Consortium: Democratic Erosion Event DatasetCapturing events related to democratic erosion and autocratic consolidation across over 100 countries since 2000.
- EIU Country Reports This link opens in a new windowThe Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) provides reports on nearly 200 countries. Each report thoroughly examines and explains the issues shaping the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sector trends, and foreign trade and payments. Detailed two-year forecasts complement the analysis and pinpoint political and economic developments and trends.
- U.S. Department of State: Country Reports on Human Rights PracticesThe annual Country Reports on Human Rights Practices, also known as the Human Rights Reports, cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as outlined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international agreements.
- News and Newspapers Research Guide: AggregatorsScroll down the landing page to the heading "News and Newspaper Databases: Nexis Uni, Factiva, and NewsBank." These databases, known in Libraryland as aggregators, allow you to search across tens of thousands of news outlets simultaneously.
The Oxford Handbook of Comparative Politics by ISBN: 9780199566020Publication Date: 2009-09-07The Oxford Handbook of Comparative Politics offers a critical survey of empirical political science through the collection of chapters written by top scholars in the discipline of comparative politics.
The Oxford Companion to Comparative Politics by ISBN: 9780199738595Publication Date: 2012-10-10Comparativists apply various theories and concepts to analyze the similarities and differences between political units, using the results of their research to develop causalities and generalizations. The Companion thoroughly defines these theories and outcomes, as are major resultant conclusions, comparativists who have significantly influenced the field, and politicians whose administrations have shaped the evaluation of contrasting governments.
GOVT 84.42 01: Identity Politics in Global Perspective
The SAGE Handbook of Research Methods in Political Science and International Relations by ISBN: 9781526459930Publication Date: 2020-10-23The SAGE Handbook of Research Methods in Political Science and International Relations offers a comprehensive overview of research processes in social science, from the ideation and design of research projects through the construction of theoretical arguments to conceptualization, measurement, data collection, and quantitative and qualitative empirical analysis.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.
- Semantic ScholarSemantic Scholar is an initiative of the Allen Institute for Artificial Intelligence. It indexes over 200 million academic papers sourced from publisher partnerships, data providers, and web crawls.
- News and Newspapers Research Guide: AggregatorsScroll down the landing page to the heading "News and Newspaper Databases: Nexis Uni, Factiva, and NewsBank." These databases, known in Libraryland as aggregators, allow you to search across tens of thousands of news outlets simultaneously.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) This link opens in a new windowFBIS was part of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), and its Daily Reports constitute the United States’ principal historical record of political open-source intelligence from 1941-1996. Its original mission was to monitor, record, transcribe, and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories during World War II. After World War II the focus shifted to monitoring broadcasts from communist countries and their satellites, the Arab World, and Latin America.
- BBC Monitoring (1939-2001)Global in reach and intended to provide open-source intelligence to the British government, BBC Monitoring complements the CIA's Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Briefs.
How to Cite
- American Political Science Association (APSA) Style ManualThe APSA's guide revises The Chicago Manual of Style for political science. Full-text available online as a PDF.
Chicago Manual of Style OnlineISBN: 0226817970Publication Date: 2024-09-19Published September 19, 2024, this latest edition presents substantial changes to citation and other directions for scholars, editors, and publishers alike.
