Anthropology Librarian
Amy Witzel
Contact:
230 Baker (Research & Learning)
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
Phone: (603) 646-0790
Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Literature Reviews - Selected Resources
Great for brief introductions to topics when you're first starting your research, as well as definitions of concepts and theories you see mentioned in in-depth scholarship. Often provide a starting bibliography, and a recent, relevant literature review can be a huge time saver for identifying key research.
- Annual ReviewsOnline suite of publications providing literature review articles for a wide range of social sciences & sciences, including Annual Review of Anthropology, Annual Review of Sociology, and more!
The Cambridge World History of Food (vol. 1)Part of the larger "Cambridge Histories" series, which includes other volumes addressing historical trade, etc.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowEthnographic database containing books and articles, and cultural summaries from all regions of the world. Organized by cultures and ethnic groups, and every document is subject-indexed at the paragraph level, facilitating precise retrieval within documents.
International Encyclopedia of AnthropologyRecent (2018), broad, extensive coverage with in-depth articles and bibliographies.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern WorldThe Encyclopedia of the Modern World delves into the period from 1750 to the present, providing special attention to social, economic, cultural and political topics applicable to the time.
- Reaktion Books' publisher series "Edible"
Each volume offers an overview or history of a specific food. We own MANY volumes in the series -- some in paper, some online