Popular Press Magazine & Newspaper (Current & Historical)
[A tiny fraction of what we own...]
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowRead *current issues* of magazines and newspapers from around the world in full-text, page view. Digital versions of over 7,000 newspapers and magazines in more than 60 languages.
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersSelect historical newspapers for national, regional, and local events. Coverage includes the United States, China, Britain, India, and Canada.
- Women's Magazine ArchiveOffers cover-to-cover archive of 12 women's magazines: Better Homes & Gardens (1922-2005); Chatelaine (1928-2005); Cosmopolitan (1886-2005); Essence (1970-2005); Good Housekeeping (1885-2005); Ladies’ Home Journal (1885-2005); Parents (1926-2005); Redbook (1903-2005);Seventeen (1944-2005); Town & Country (1928-2005); WIN News (1975-2003); Women's Day (1937-2005);
Cookbooks & Menus - Digital Archives (open access)
- Wellcome InstituteLarge, varied collection includes many digitized works. Try searching "cooking", "cookery", or more specific
Archival Databases
- Empire online This link opens in a new window... collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies, sourced from libraries and archives around the world.
- Making of the Modern Worlddocuments the dynamics of Western trade and wealth that shaped the world from the last half of the fifteenth century to the beginning of the twentieth century.
- Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1543-1945 This link opens in a new windowCollection of books, periodicals and pamphlets on women's issues, begun by Aletta Jacobs Gerritsen in the late 1800's. Includes over 4,000 titles, primarily in English, French and German, with coverage back to the 16th century.
- Gale Primary SourcesDown the rabbit hole...
As an example of the variety of archival databases available, here's what we've licensed from one particular vendor (Gale). Includes "Making of the Modern World", "Slavery & Anti-Slavery", and many, many more.