AAAS 88.22: Black Womanhood and Freedom

Colonial America, scheduled for completion in 2019, will be released in 5 modules eventually encompassing all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series of Colonial Office files held at The National Archives in London, plus all extracted documents associated with them. Covering the period 1606 to 1822, this unique collection of largely manuscript material from the archives of the British government is invaluable for students and researchers of all aspects of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century American history and the early-modern Atlantic world.

... collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies, sourced from libraries and archives around the world.

Broad archival collection of books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, manuscripts, and maps documenting the history of the slave trade in the Americas and beyond, from the 17th through the 19th century.
Archival collections were sourced from more than 60 libraries including the U.S. National Archives, Library of Congress, Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Yale University, British Library, British National Archives, and Oxford University.

Searchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817)--the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. More than twelve hundred titles and almost one million pages are included.

Series 1-7 offers more than 300 significant 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers from all 50 present states. Series 1, 1690-1876: contains more than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876. Focusing largely on the 18th century, Series 1 is based on Clarence S. Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820" and other bibliographies. Series II, 1758-1900: With more than one million pages from over 200 18th- and 19th-century newspapers, Series II focuses on the period between 1820 and 1860, when the number of titles began to rise dramatically as westward expansion and the penny press helped create thousands of local newspapers and daily editions replaced many weeklies. Along with Series III, Series II provides in-depth coverage of the mid-19th century, including the Civil War. Series III, 1829-1922: With over 125 additional 19th- and 20th-century newspapers totaling more than one million pages, Series III focuses on the period between 1861 and 1900. Its coverage includes the Civil War, Reconstruction and the Progressive Era and extends to World War I and beyond. Many of the titles in Series IV are of historical significance, including The Liberator, William Lloyd Garrison's powerful anti-slavery newspaper. Others include the New Orleans Daily Creole, the first African-American newspaper in America Siwinowe Kesibwi (Shawnee Star), the first newspaper in Kansas and the first to be printed wholly in a native American language the Gaceta de Texas, the first newspaper in Texas and the Maryland Gazette, the oldest continuously published newspaper in America. Many titles in Series V are of special historical significance, including the North Star, the famous anti-slavery newspaper founded by Frederick Douglass. Others include the New Hampshire Sentinel, the first newspaper in the state Hokubei Jiji (The North American) the first Japanese-language newspaper in Seattle. Early American Newspapers Series 8, 9, 12, and 13 added in 2016 provide full publication text coverage of selected American newspapers from the 18th, 19th and 20th Centuries. These three module contain content from over 300 individual newspaper titles from all fifty states and the District of Columbia. (Updated annually)

Indexes information produced by or pertaining to the United States Congress from 1789 to the present. Provides full text for many titles, generally from the early 1990's to the present. Includes bills, laws, legislative histories, committee prints, House and Senate documents and reports, the Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, and Federal Register. Includes full text of Congressional Research Service reports, 1916-present; full text of Congressional hearings, 1824- ; full text of Committee Prints, 1830-2003; and full text of the Serial Set Collection with Maps, 1789-1969. For a complete description of contents, coverage, and update frequency, consult the online Help section.

Presenting every publication from the 15th Congress through the 103rd Congress, including items missing from other editions, the Readex U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 contains over 415,000 individual documents in more than 14,000 volumes. Designed for legislative and historical research, the Readex digital edition features unique browse capabilities and comprehensive metadata, offering new research opportunities for students and scholars in cultural, economic, ethnic, government, military, political and science history and other fields. Readex uses the original volumes to create fine new digital images of every publication, including approximately 56,000 maps. Nearly 14,000 maps and more than 8,000 illustrations appear in high-resolution color.