Librarian
Amy Witzel
Contact:
230 Baker (Research & Learning)
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
Phone: (603) 646-0790
Inspiration & Context
Closer to Freedom by Call Number: Online and print copy [Baker-Berry E443 .C36 2004]Publication Date: 2005
Laboring Women by Call Number: Online and print copy [Baker-Berry HT1048 .M67 2004]Publication Date: 2004
Dispossessed Lives by Call Number: Online & print copy [Baker-Berry HT1105.B35 F84 2016]Publication Date: 2018
As If She Were Free by Call Number: Online and print copy [Baker-Berry HT869 .A82 2020]Publication Date: 2020
I didn't intend to add so many Oxford titles, but they're a strong publisher in this area. Realize this is just a small selection of what we own.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowPlease use Dartmouth's VPN for off campus access.
Collection of reference works on the African diaspora, with a focus on the United States. Includes encyclopedias, biographical dictionaries, timelines, maps, and more. Core titles: Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience ; the Encyclopedia of African American History ; Black Women in America, 2nd ed. ; and the African American National Biography.
- Oxford BIbliographies Online: Atlantic HistoryBibliographic essays written by scholars in the field.
- Example essay from Oxford BibliographiesMcDonald, Roderick , & McDonald, Michelle Craig (2010). The Black Atlantic in the Age of Revolutions. Oxford Bibliographies Online: Atlantic History.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineAn enormous collection of handbooks providing survey essays across all disciplines. Relevant titles include: Oxford Handbook of American Women's and Gender History ; The Oxford Handbook of the Atlantic World: 1450-1850 ; and The Oxford Handbook of Slavery in the Americas
- American national biography This link opens in a new windowOffers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. The publication of the online edition makes the ANB even more useful as a dynamic source of information -- updated quarterly, with hundreds of new entries each year and revisions of previously published entries to enhance their accuracy and currency. The ANB Online also features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities.;Features thousands of illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references and links to select web sites.
Books (and more!) in our collection (and beyond!)
- Dartmouth Library Catalog Advanced SearchNote this is restricted to our catalog -- so it searches only bibliographic records - primarily books.
- Example search in Library CatalogGeared toward primary sources [mostly anthologies]
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowWorldCat (the OCLC Union Catalog) books, periodicals, magazines, newspapers, maps, computer data files, manuscripts, sound recordings and any other type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. The database includes records for material from the 11th century to date. New records are added daily.
- HathiTrustExcellent full-text source for books out of copyright
- Internet ArchiveA non-profit digital library provides permanent storage of and free public access to collections of digitized materials, including websites, music, moving images, and nearly three million public-domain books.
FIlling in Gaps
These are primarily subject-specific bibliographic databases that will point you to scholarly articles (and some books/essays). A few search against full-text and link to a PDF, but if not, follow the "Get It" button, as we may have the document through another source.
- America, history and life This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries with abstracts. The database content is drawn from over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. The coverage of America: History and Life also includes citations to book reviews from over 100 major journals of American history and culture and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.
- Biography and genealogy master index This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive index to nearly 12 million biographical sketches in more than 2700 volumes and editions of current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new windowSuite of databases includes periodical indexes covering Black Studies scholarship, as well as indexing articles and reviews from the Black Press (1827-1940), Also includes the full-text of the Chicago Defender newspaper, and overview essays from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
- HAPI online This link opens in a new windowThe Hispanic American Periodicals Index, or HAPI, is a source for scholarship about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States, with coverage from 1970 to the present. It contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Many articles are available in full-text, via the fee-based document delivery service.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowFull text image-based searchable database of legal periodicals. Database coverage for each periodical is from the beginning issue to the most current allowed under contract.
- HLAS online: handbook of Latin American studies This link opens in a new windowContains records describing books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers published in the field of Latin American studies. Coverage includes relevant books as well as over 800 social science and 550 humanities journals and volumes of conference proceedings. Most records include abstracts with evaluations.
- Women's studies international This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary database with broad coverage of gender studies publications - articles, book essays, books, and dissertations.
- Harvard guide to African-American historyA fantastic bibliography that unfortunately is only available in print. Published over twenty years ago, but its subject organization makes it great for browsing. Preview it at Google
- Harvard Guide to African-American History (2001) - PREVIEWWish this was available online - but check Google Book's preview for a sense of what it provides.
Full-Text Article databases
If bibliographic databases come up short, or you have some unique phrases to search -- some selected databases to try
- Can't deal with single-databases? Search all of ProQuest's at onceand then use the side-menu filters to winnow down results. Realize that by searching across multiple databases, you'll lose the precision of database-specific subject headings, methodology filters, etc. But this serves as an alternative to Summon.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, biology, ecology, and other fields of the sciences, humanities, and social sciences.
- Project Muse: premium collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, journals with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields. Coverage includes 426 journals by 106 publishers.
- Dartmouth Libraries Search (home page)Broad, but imprecise. By default, searches across our library catalog as well as many full-text article & book collections. Excludes searching bibliographic databases (other than our catalog). Also excludes some full-text databases, particularly those we get through Ebsco.
Following the paper trail
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, with bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities. Scopus has 55 million records dating back to 1823, 84% of these contain references dating from 1996.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.