• Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
1878-2012 (online from Census.gov)
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States 2013 - (in print)
• ProQuest Statistical Insight
Provides abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983.
• Official U.S. Executive Branch Websites
A list maintained by the Library of Congress.
• The American Presidency Project
From UC Santa Barbara. Includes many of the Presidential documents and additional sources, such as...
-- Presidential Debates
-- Audio/Video archive
-- Party Platforms back to 1844
-- State of the Union Addresses and Messages
-- Presidential Signing Statements, and much more.
The site also includes data on topics related to the presidency. See: the Data section for more information.
• American President: A Reference Resource
From the Miller Center at the University of Virginia.
-- U.S. Presidents: information about each administration
-- Transcriptions of secret White House tapes.
-- Oral histories from recent administrations.
-- Speech archive.
• PoliTxt: A Digital Archive of Political Texts
-- Inaugural Addresses, 1789 to present.
-- State of the Union Address, 1913 to present.
-- Televised debates, 1960-1996 (transcripts)
-- Party Platforms, 1840 to present.
• Commision On Presidential Debates
Unofficial transcripts of most presidential and vice presidential debates, 1960-2008.
• Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States.
University of Michigan Digital Library (Online ed.)
Includes papers for presidents Herbert Hoover, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Harry Truman, Dwight D. Eisenhower, John F. Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson, Richard M. Nixon, Gerald R. Ford, Jimmy Carter, Ronald Reagan, G.H.W. Bush , William Clinton.
NOTE: "Browse by Author" is alphabetized by first name, i.e. to find Dwight Eisenhower click on the letter "D." ECXEPT for Frannklin D. Roosevelt - click on "P" for Papers of....
• Hein Online (Online ed.)
Includes papers for presidents Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, G.H.W. Bush, Clinton, G.W. Bush
• United States. President.
Public papers of the presidents of the United states, Containing the public messages, speeches, and statements of the president.
[Washington, U.S.GOVT.PRINT.OFF
Baker Berry J80 .A283 1930- Lacks: 1934-1944
Includes presidents from Hoover to date EXCEPT for Franklin D. Roosevelt
• Roosevelt, Franklin D. (1882-1945)
The public papers and addresses of Franklin D. Roosevelt, with a special introduction and explanatory notes by President Roosevelt ..
New York, Random House, 1938-[c1950]
13 v
Baker Berry E806 .R749
• The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
[Washington, Office of the Federal Register; Distributed by the Supt. of Docs., Govt. Print. Off.]
Baker Berry J80 .A284 v. 1- Aug.1965-Oct. 30, 2000
• The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (Online ed.)
Part of: HeinOnline
1965-2009
If you choose the HeinOnline database scroll down in the list of SUBSCRIBED LIBRARIES to "U.S. Presidential Library."
In that list of files scroll to the end for the Weekly Compilation of Presidentail Documents.
• The Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents (Online ed.)
2009-
This replaces the "Weekly Compilation" as of January 29, 2009.
If you choose the HeinOnline database scroll down in the list of SUBSCRIBED LIBRARIES to "U.S. Presidential Library."
In that list of files scroll the alphabetical list to "D" and "The Daily Compilation...".
The primary source for most Congressional publications, including:
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) researches topics at the request of Congress. CRS produces reports that run from essay to book length, and often serve as important studies on a subject.
CRS reports are not automatically available to the public although citizens may request individual reports from their Congressional representatives.
To increase public availability a number of organizations have collected CRS reports and post them.
- SEE ProQuest Congressional above.
Congressional Reserach Service Reports (University of North Texas)
Open CRS provides citizens access to CRS Reports already in the public domain and encourages Congress to provide public access to all CRS Reports.
Congressional Research Service Reports (Federation of American Scientists/FAS)
The Congressional Research Service, a congressional support agency, does not make its publications directly available to the public online. The FAS collection of CRS reports indexed below primarily addresses national security, foreign policy and related topics. These reports are provided without CRS authorization as a public service.
Congressional Reserach Service Reports (CRS) and Issue Briefs (U.S. Dept. of State)
A selection of CRS reports from 1999 to date.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports (Archive-It.org)
"This collection [website] attempts to bring all CRS Reports together in one place."
Actions taken by Congress on a particular bill or area of legislation result in the creation of documents, i.e. a Bill, Hearings, Reports and Documents, debates, etc.
Tracing those actions and compiling a list of relevant documents constitutes a legislative history.
ProQuest Congressional Publications
1969 to present
U.S. Federal Legislative History Library (Hein Online)
Legislative Histories of Selected U.S. Laws on the Internet (Law Librarians' Society of washington, D.C.)
United States Code Congressional and Administrative News /USCCAN (in print)
St. Paul, Minn., West Publ. Co
Storage K43 78th,2d sess.- 1944-
Baker Berry Ref K43 110th, 1st sess.- 2006 -
USCCAN contains legislative histories from the 80th Congress, 2nd Sess. (1948) to date.
Johnson, Nancy P.
Sources of compiled legislative histories : a bibliography of government documents, periodical articles, and books, 1st Congress-110th Congress / compiled by Nancy P. Johnson.
2nd ed
Buffalo, N.Y. : William S. Hein & Co., 2012.
Baker Berry Ref. KF42.2 2012
NOTE: The 1st Ed. of this title covering the 1st-108th Congresses is ONLINE