Research Guides: Art History &amp; Studio Art: Getting Started

Key Resources

Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes, abstracts and full-text from international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins from 1984 to the present. Areas covered include archaeology, architecture, art, film, humanities, marketing, motion pictures and photography. Ser Art Retrospective to find articles from 1929-1984.
Art index retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
Art Index Retrospective provides citations to articles published between 1929-1984. For articles from 1984-present, see Art Full Text.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM)
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
Avery Index To Architecture
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Indexes plans & elevations.
Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
JSTOR Image Search
Search the Artstor Image Library including Dartmouth Collections & content from museums, collections & archives around the world. View & analyze images through features such as zooming. Save both image files & citations.
A&AE Portal
Discover important art and architectural history scholarship from some of the world’s finest publishers and museums. Search, read, cite, note, and more.

Yale University Press sends records to Acquisitions when new titles have been added to the collection
Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global
The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

Search Dartmouth Library Collections

Search the Library for more materials on your subject.

Explore Dartmouth Library Partners

Interlibrary Loan Services
Center for Research Libraries
Dartmouth is a CRL member. CRL holds many newspapers on microfilm and dissertations from foreign countries.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
Online access to public domain books and journals published prior to 1923.
Worldcat
Library holdings from around the world. The database includes records for material from the 11th century to date. New records are added daily.

Art Reference Reources

Oxford Art Online
A database of art terminology, encyclopedic entries on artists and works of art, and images. Includes the Grove Dictionary of Art & Benezit.
Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon = International artists database online

Contains information on artists from all over the world and throughout the ages. Articles from all published volumes of the Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon (AKL), plus index data from Thieme-Becker & Vollmer.
AskART Academic
An online database containing over 52,000 American artists from the early 16th-Century through the present. Some European artists are now being added.