Research Consultations
Key Resources
Top choices for article indexes
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window CAS SciFinder-n is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface.Access through the web; one-time registration is required. [Note: DHMC users should contact Biomedical.Libraries.Reference@dartmouth.edu for the link to the CAS "Register for a Scifinder-n Account" page and more information on access to SciFinder.]
- PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
- Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT — Full Text includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
Publisher's full text options
- ACS Publications Includes access to all years of all ACS journals in chemistry and related sciences. The entire archive, 1879 to the present, is full-text searchable. Also includes full-text access to ACS Symposium Series volumes through 2011, and the Advances in Chemistry series.
- ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window Journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books, including business, management, accounting, decision sciences, economics, econometrics and finance.
Research Databases
- Reaxys Based on the combined content of Beilstein, Gmelin, and the Patent Chemistry Database, Reaxys is an extensive repository of reaction and substance property data for organic, organometallic, and inorganic compounds. Substance and reaction profiles provide a tabular view of validated experimental data. Reaxys' integrated synthesis planner supports the development of efficient synthesis strategies.
- Knovel, Academic, Chemistry & Chemical Engineering Provides full-text technical information and interactive tools in engineering and applied sciences. Content includes over 2,000 reference handbooks and databases produced by more than 50 technical publishers and professional societies, organized by subject area.
- Cambridge Structural Database (web)CSD Web version. Full desktop version available (contact Lilly (Lilly@Dartmouth.edu).
- Pistachio.Pistachio is a reaction dataset and interface providing loading, querying, and analytics of chemical reactions. Pistachio builds on and extends existing solutions from NextMove Software to enrich reaction data and provide powerful query capabilities.
- Chemical reactions from US patents(1976-Sep2016)Reactions extracted by text-mining from United States patents published between 1976 and September 2016. The reactions are available as CML or reaction SMILES.
Patents & Technical Reports
- esp@cenet Patents search Worldwide patent database.
- Google Patents with Prior Art Search Check the box, "Include non-patent literature (Google Scholar)", to include prior art.
- USPTO Patent Database Patents may be searched in the USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Database (PatFT). The USPTO houses full text for patents issued from 1976 to the present and PDF images for all patents from 1790 to the present.
Data sources
- SpringerMaterials: the Landolt-Börnstein database This link opens in a new window Based on the 400-volume Landolt-Börnstein New Series, SpringerMaterials is an extensive collection of fully evaluated physical and chemical property data for engineers and physical scientists. SpringerMaterials includes thermophysical properties of common components and mixtures; a data collection on inorganic solid phases, covering crystallographic data, phase diagrams, diffraction patterns, and physical properties; and a collection of chemical safety documents.
- NIST/TRC web thermo tables: WTT This link opens in a new window Complete collection of critically evaluated thermodynamic property data primarily for pure organic compounds. References to experimental data sources and information and methodology related to the evaluations can be found in the complementary hard-copy publications.