Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Miscellany ...
Looking for GIS/S resources, click here.
Summer Programs at Esri
Esri offers 2 summer programs for interested undergraduate and graduate students. Click here for more information. The deadline is usually mid-March. This page also lists other opportunities around the country.
Citing Maps made in GIS
Cartographic citations: a style guide by Call Number: Evans Map Room Ref. Z 6021 .C55 2010ISBN: 9780838985564Publication Date: 2nd ed.This guide is intended to be used in conjunction with a standard style/citation manual, supplying the reader with specific examples for describing cartographic materials. page 5.
New Hampshire geographic data via the Internet
- Atlas of Historical County BoundariesFrom the Newberry Library in Chicago, this is a new product available online to download. These downloadable zipped files contain additional files with the shape files.
- New Hampshire Geodata Portal
The New Hampshire Geodata Portal, developed by the NH GRANIT Clearinghouse at UNH, facilitates the discovery and use of authoritative GIS data, web applications, and related geospatial resources for New Hampshire. (Still a work in progress). - NH State Data CenterThis site provides direct access to numerous data files (data library) about New Hampshire. Usually these files have been modified by OEP to maximize their efficient use. Most of the data are from the Bureau of the Census and other agencies.
- U. S. Forest Service Geodata Clearinghouse
The USDA Forest Service Geodata Clearinghouse is an online collection of digital data related to forest resources. Through the Clearinghouse you can find datasets related to forests and grasslands, including boundaries and ownership, natural resources, roads and trails, as well as datasets related to State and private forested areas, including insect and disease threat and surface water importance. You can also find downloadable map products, raster data, and links to other sources of forest resource information.
New Hampshire geographic data in the Library's collections
- 2003 NAIP Imagery byCall Number: Evans Map Room DVD-ROM G 3741 .A4 2009 .N4From the National Agricultural Imagery Program, the state of New Hampshire.
- Best available DOQs : MrSID format byCall Number: Evans Map Room CD-ROM G 3741.A4 2002 .U55 discs 1-4Publication Date: 2002Contains digital orthophotographs of the New Hampshire quadrangles in Raster image format (georeferenced TIFF files compressed with MrSID). Coordinate Reference: NH State Plane feet, NAD83; resolution: 1 meter.
- ChartTiff order CT63405 byCall Number: Evans Map Room DVD-ROM G 3721 .A25 2009 .C43Collarless topographic sheets for New Hampshire and Vermont at 1:24K, 1:100K and 1:250K.
- GRANIT standard vector data byCall Number: Evans Map Room DVD-ROM G 3741.A25 2009 .N4Publication Date: 2009Contains standard vector data including: administrative and political boundaries; agriculture and farming; biology and ecology; cultural, society and demographic; elevation and derived products; environment and conservation; geological and geophysical; inland water resources; location and geodetic network; transportation networks; and utilities and communication.
- Historic digital raster graphics byCall Number: Evans Map Room DVD-ROM G 3741 .A25 2009 .N42Historic aerial photographs of New Hampshire georeferenced.
Vermont geographic data via the Internet
- 1962, 1963 & 1964 Aerial Photography of VermontAerial photography of Vermont from the early 1960's has been digitized and made available online from the VCGI.
- Atlas of Historical County BoundariesFrom the Newberry Library in Chicago, this is a new product available online to download. These downloadable zipped files contain additional files with the shape files.
- U. S. Forest Service Geodata ClearinghouseThe USDA Forest Service Geodata Clearinghouse is an online collection of digital data related to forest resources. Through the Clearinghouse you can find datasets related to forests and grasslands, including boundaries and ownership, natural resources, roads and trails, as well as datasets related to State and private forested areas, including insect and disease threat and surface water importance. You can also find downloadable map products, raster data, and links to other sources of forest resource information.
- VCGI: Vermont Center for Geographic InformationVCGI is a public non-profit supported in part by the State of Vermont (through the property transfer tax) and in part through grants and fees paid for the products and services it provides to clients (e.g. the VT Agency of Transportation and the VT Enhanc
Vermont geographic data in the Library's collections
- ChartTiff order CT63405 byCall Number: Evans Map Room DVD-ROM G 3721 .A25 2009 .C43Collarless topographic sheets for New Hampshire and Vermont at 1:24K, 1:100K and 1:250K.
- Vermont GIS starter kit 1.2Call Number: Evans Map Room CD-ROM G 70.215 .U6 V47 2004Provides VCGI base map data including: contours, roads, rivers and streams, lakes and ponds, town and county boundaries, place names, land use/cover, and many other basic themes of information (other layers available through the VCGI website), which can be used to create mapping projects.
- Vermont soil data CD byCall Number: Evans Map Room CD-ROM S 599 .V5 V47 2001Contains SSURGO certified soil data for nine counties as well as uncertified data for one county in Vermont. The data is available as ARC/INFO coverage or ARC/INFO interchange (.e00) file format. Twenty of the most widely used attributes for each county are included in a top 20 table.
- Vermont topographic maps byCall Number: Evans Map Room CD-ROM G 3750 2003 .V47 discs 1-3A set of geo-referenced, scanned TIFF image files generated from USGS Digital Raster Graphic (DRG) files. DRGs are created from 1:24K series USGS topographic maps.
Connecticut geographic data via the Internet
- Atlas of Historical County BoundariesFrom the Newberry Library in Chicago, this is a new product available online to download. These downloadable zipped files contain additional files with the shape files.
- Connecticut Department of Environmental ProtectionGIS at DEP plays an important role in their mission of protecting and preserving the environment for present and future generations. DEP develops and maintains a statewide system that can integrate and analyze large amounts of spatial map and file data.
- Connecticut GIS NetworkThis site's main purpose is to act as a forum for all GIS activities in Connecticut.
- MAGIC: Maps and Geographic Information Center, UConnThe Map Library at the University of Connecticut helps disseminate the state's GIS data to all types of users.
Maine geographic data via the Internet
- Atlas of Historical County BoundariesFrom the Newberry Library in Chicago, this is a new product available online to download. These downloadable zipped files contain additional files with the shape files.
- Maine GEOLibraryThe mission of the GeoLibrary is to create an electronic gateway to public geographic information, and to expand and promote the value of geographic spatial data through widespread distribution and innovative use for the benefit of Maine's citizens.
- MEGIS: Maine Geographic Information System
The state's official GIS web presence. MEGIS provides technical support for Maine GIS data, estimates on custom mapping, as well as consultation on data and application development, as time permits. - U. S. Forest Service Geodata ClearinghouseThe USDA Forest Service Geodata Clearinghouse is an online collection of digital data related to forest resources. Through the Clearinghouse you can find datasets related to forests and grasslands, including boundaries and ownership, natural resources, roads and trails, as well as datasets related to State and private forested areas, including insect and disease threat and surface water importance. You can also find downloadable map products, raster data, and links to other sources of forest resource information.
Massachusetts geographic data via the Internet
- Atlas of Historical County BoundariesFrom the Newberry Library in Chicago, this is a new product available online to download. These downloadable zipped files contain additional files with the shape files.
- MassGIS: Massachusetts Geographic Information SystemMassGIS is the Commonwealth's Office of Geographic and Environmental Information, within the Massachusetts Executive Office of Environmental Affairs. Through MassGIS, the Commonwealth has created a comprehensive, statewide database of spatial information.
Rhode Island geographic data via the Internet
- Atlas of Historical County BoundariesFrom the Newberry Library in Chicago, this is a new product available online to download. These downloadable zipped files contain additional files with the shape files.
- RIGIS: Rhode Island Geographic Information SystemThe Rhode Island Geographic Information System (RIGIS) is a consortium of government and private organizations employing computer and communications technology to manage and use a collective database of comprehensive geographically related information.