Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Bathymetric data
- GEBCOCall Number: Evans Map Room CD-ROM G 9096 .C2 2003 .B7The General Bathymetric Chart of the Oceans (GEBCO) aims to provide the most authoritative, publicly available bathymetric data sets for the world’s oceans.
- Bureau of Ocean Energy Management: BOEM
The mission of the Bureau of Ocean Energy Management is to manage development of U.S. Outer Continental Shelf energy and mineral resources in an environmentally and economically responsible way. This page leads to GIS data sources and other cartographic information for off-shore energy resources.
Introduction
The word "Foreign" is used here to mean any area outside the 3 main countries of North America. In other words, all countries except Canada, the United States and Mexico.
The data listed here is availble physically somewhere the Library.
Some of the resources are duplicated on the individual lists. Those resources cover the world and therefore those continents.
The World
- Digital Maps for GISCall number: Evans Map Room DVD-ROM G3201.A25 2005 .D54
Currently, there is data for Central & South America.
Data is also available on our local machines. - Global GIS. Global CoverageCall number: Evans Map Room DVD G3201.A25 2003 .G56
This DVD has a variety of data layers for the entire world. You must use ArcGIS to get the specific data for your needs. - Digital Soil Map of the World
The vector data set is based on the FAO-UNESCO Soil Map of the World. The Digitized Soil Map of the World, at 1:5.000.000 scale, is in the Geographic projection (Latitude - Longitude) intersected with a template containing water related features (coastlines, lakes, glaciers and double-lined rivers). - Soil Map of the WorldCall number: Evans Map Room G3201.J3 1970 .F66
This is the paper version of the Digital Soil Map of the World. This set includes explanatory text for legend and each sheet.
The Rest of the Western Hemisphere
- Digital Maps for GISCall number: Evans Map Room DVD-ROM G3201.A25 2005 .D54
Currently, there is data for Central & South America.
Data is also available on our local machines. - Digital Soil Map of the WorldThe vector data set is based on the FAO-UNESCO Soil Map of the World. The Digitized Soil Map of the World, at 1:5.000.000 scale, is in the Geographic projection (Latitude - Longitude) intersected with a template containing water related features (coastlines, lakes, glaciers and double-lined rivers).
- Geographic Names Server
The Geographic Names Server (GNS) is the official repository of standard spellings of all foreign geographic names, sanctioned by the United States Board on Geographic Names (BGN). In addition to the current approved names of features, users may find variant and historical spellings, along with non-Roman script spellings. ... - Global GIS. Global CoverageCall number: Evans Map Room DVD G3201.A25 2003 .G56
This DVD has a variety of data layers for the entire world. You must use ArcGIS to get the specific data for your needs. - GRID-Arendal: Online GIS and Maps Database
GIS data set consist of georeferenced (geo) graphical features which are linked to an attribute database that describs features or polygons on the map. - Soil Map of the WorldCall number: Evans Map Room G3201.J3 1970 .F66
This is the paper version of the Digital Soil Map of the World. This set includes explanatory text for legend and each sheet.
Europe
- Digital Soil Map of the WorldThe vector data set is based on the FAO-UNESCO Soil Map of the World. The Digitized Soil Map of the World, at 1:5.000.000 scale, is in the Geographic projection (Latitude - Longitude) intersected with a template containing water related features (coastlines, lakes, glaciers and double-lined rivers).
- Global GIS. Global CoverageCall number: Evans Map Room DVD G3201.A25 2003 .G56
This DVD has a variety of data layers for the entire world. You must use ArcGIS to get the specific data for your needs. - Soil Map of the WorldCall number: Evans Map Room G3201.J3 1970 .F66
This is the paper version of the Digital Soil Map of the World. This set includes explanatory text for legend and each sheet.
Africa
- Africa Data SamplerCall number: Evans Map Room G 8200 1995 .A47
A set of internationally comparable digital maps for African countries. These data sets can be used to visualize and assess environmental and development conditions in individual countries in a region. - Digital Soil Map of the WorldThe vector data set is based on the FAO-UNESCO Soil Map of the World. The Digitized Soil Map of the World, at 1:5.000.000 scale, is in the Geographic projection (Latitude - Longitude) intersected with a template containing water related features (coastlines, lakes, glaciers and double-lined rivers).
- Global GIS. Global CoverageCall number: Evans Map Room DVD G3201.A25 2003 .G56
This DVD has a variety of data layers for the entire world. You must use ArcGIS to get the specific data for your needs. - Soil Map of the WorldCall number: Evans Map Room G3201.J3 1970 .F66
This is the paper version of the Digital Soil Map of the World. This set includes explanatory text for legend and each sheet.
Asia
- Global GIS. Global CoverageCall number: Evans Map Room DVD G3201.A25 2003 .G56
This DVD has a variety of data layers for the entire world. You must use ArcGIS to get the specific data for your needs. - Digital Soil Map of the WorldThe vector data set is based on the FAO-UNESCO Soil Map of the World. The Digitized Soil Map of the World, at 1:5.000.000 scale, is in the Geographic projection (Latitude - Longitude) intersected with a template containing water related features (coastlines, lakes, glaciers and double-lined rivers).
- Soil Map of the WorldCall number: Evans Map Room G3201.J3 1970 .F66
This is the paper version of the Digital Soil Map of the World. This set includes explanatory text for legend and each sheet.
Oceania
- Global GIS. Global CoverageCall number: Evans Map Room DVD G3201.A25 2003 .G56
This DVD has a variety of data layers for the entire world. You must use ArcGIS to get the specific data for your needs. - Digital Soil Map of the WorldThe vector data set is based on the FAO-UNESCO Soil Map of the World. The Digitized Soil Map of the World, at 1:5.000.000 scale, is in the Geographic projection (Latitude - Longitude) intersected with a template containing water related features (coastlines, lakes, glaciers and double-lined rivers).
- Soil Map of the WorldCall number: Evans Map Room G3201.J3 1970 .F66
This is the paper version of the Digital Soil Map of the World. This set includes explanatory text for legend and each sheet.
Antarctica
- Global GIS. Global CoverageCall number: Evans Map Room DVD G3201.A25 2003 .G56
This DVD has a variety of data layers for the entire world. You must use ArcGIS to get the specific data for your needs. - GRID-Arendal: Online GIS and Maps DatabaseGIS data set consist of georeferenced (geo) graphical features which are linked to an attribute database that describs features or polygons on the map.
- Digital Soil Map of the WorldThe vector data set is based on the FAO-UNESCO Soil Map of the World. The Digitized Soil Map of the World, at 1:5.000.000 scale, is in the Geographic projection (Latitude - Longitude) intersected with a template containing water related features (coastlines, lakes, glaciers and double-lined rivers).
- Soil Map of the WorldCall number: Evans Map Room G3201.J3 1970 .F66
This is the paper version of the Digital Soil Map of the World. This set includes explanatory text for legend and each sheet.