Encyclopedias & General Background
- Encyclopaedia of Aboriginal Australia : Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander history, society and cultureBaker-Berry Reference GN666 .E53 1994 (vols. 1-2)
- Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal HistoryOnline
Includes entries such as Maori Law - Te Ara : the Encyclopedia of New ZealandOnline! An extensive work-in-progress (expected completion is 2013), building on the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand.
- To remove and protect - laws that changed Aboriginal lives[from the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS) ]
Timeline with links to legislation affecting Aboriginal people in state, territory and commonwealth jurisdictions.
Books of Note
Reconciliation and colonial power : indigenous rights in Australia by
Baker-Berry JC599.A8 S46 2008
[cover links to preview in Google Books]Aboriginal title and indigenous peoples : Canada, Australia, and New Zealand
Baker-Berry KE7739.L3 A26 2010
[cover links to preview in Google Books]
Searching the library catalog
- subject search Aboriginal Australians -- Legal Status, Laws, Etc.
- Also see subheadings "Civil rights", "Government relations", "Land Tenure", "Politics and government", etc.
- Also search individual communities, e.g., Aranda (Australian people) or Tiwi (Australian people)
- Also see subheadings "Civil rights", "Government relations", "Land Tenure", "Politics and government", etc.
- browse call # K3247K3247-3248 = Indigenous and aboriginal human and civil rights (General or multi-region)
- browse call # KUWe have a VERY small collection in the KU area.
- KU through KUN = Australian Law
- KUQ = New Zealand Law
- KU through KUN = Australian Law
Law Reviews
- Indigenous Law Bulletin (Australia - U. of New South Wales)current tables of contents, with link to external archive
Additional Journal Indexes
- Hawaiʻi Pacific Journal Index This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary Index to scholarly and general interest periodicals published in or about Hawaiʻi and the Pacific, and held in the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Library. Coverage dates back to the 1890s.
- Informit - Humanities & Social Sciences Collection (Australia) (open access database)apparently can use index as guest, but cannot access full-text.
- Find NZ Articles (open access database)Suite of citation databases, including "Index New Zealand" and "Maori Bibliography"
- Index New Zealand (open access database)describes over half a million articles published in New Zealand over the past 20 years. The titles indexed range from popular magazines such as North and South and Consumer to more specialised journals such as New Zealand Law Review and Art New Zealand.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada)
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsThe database contains abstracts of materials from professional journals, major news magazines and books devoted to the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, public law, public administration and public policy. Topics include political institutions, processes, and behavior; international law and politics; policy analysis; public affairs and administration; public law; political theory; and political economics.
- see "Articles" tab on this and other research guides for additional suggestions
Government sites
Note: You may find it easier to start with the Australian Legal Information Institute and New Zealand Legal Information Institute sites, rather than the official government sites.
- Australia - Current Legislation (@ CommLaw)See in particular the "Law By Portfolio" tab, and then follow the "Prime Minister and Cabinet" link.
- New Zealand Courtssee in particular the Maori Land Court
- New Zealand ParliamentSee in particular the Maori Affairs Committee
- New Zealand Prime Minister & Cabinet (Executive)See in particular the Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations
Additional resources
- Agreements, Treaties and Negotiated Settlements (ATNS) project"The ATNS database is an online gateway which links together current information, historical detail and published material relating to agreements made between Indigenous people and others in Australia and overseas."
- Australian Indigenous Law Librarypart of the Australian Legal Information Institute (joint facility of Univ. of Technology, Sydney and University of New South Wales Faculties of Law )
- Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS)See in particular the Research > Resources page
- National Library of Australiapre-scripted search for << aboriginal AND law >>
- National Library of New Zealand - Maori collectionsWhile you might not be able to travel to Wellington, the National Library's site has a number of collections available online. Also offers guidance for Maori research.
- New Zealand Legal Information Institutejoint project of the University of Otago Faculty of Law, University of Canterbury and the Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII) with the assistance of the Law School, Victoria University of Wellington.
- University of Auckland Library - Subject Guide on Maori LawWhile Auckland subscribes to many of the same databases as Dartmouth (e.g., JSTOR), realize this guide is meant for UA students.
Also see Auckland's other Maori subject guides.