Geography Reference Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Relevant articles
The cartographic journal by Call Number: Electronic journal articleThis article talks about the "Better Mapping Campaign" from The British Cartographic Society. Mary Spence is one of the authors of Cartography: An Introduction.
Spatial ecology from IJGISCall Number: Electronic journalSpecial issue on Geo-visualization from the International Journal of Geographic Information Science. (2014, v. 28, 10)
Internet resource(s)
- Cartography Guide from Axis MapsTheir goal is to cover important concepts in cartography and flag the important decision points in the map-making process. There isn't always a single best answer in cartography, and in those cases they've tried to outline some of the pros and cons to different solutions. ...
- ColorBrewer 2.0: Color Advice for MapsThis site helps you figure out what color scheme best illustrates your data.
- EagerEyesEagerEyes is Robert Kosara's place to reflect on the world of information visualization and visual communication of data. The goal is to help digest things that are happening in the field and discuss developments that may be tangential or early, but that are likely to have an impact.
- Geovisualization for Knowledge Construction and Decision Support from the NIHGeovisualization is both a process for leveraging these data resources to meet scientific and societal needs and a research field that develops visual methods and tools to support a wide array of geospatial data applications.
- Places & Spaces
Drawing from across cultures and across scholarly disciplines, Places & Spaces: Mapping Science demonstrates the power of maps to address vital questions about the contours and content of human knowledge. ...
Introduction
Geovisualization is the science and art of visualizing and interpreting spatial information. Students will learn the principles and methods of visual analysis of geographic data, using geospatial tools for visual communication and visual thinking. Beginning with the traditional principles of cartography, the course will then cover advanced topics such as flows and networks, 3D landscapes and spaces, animation, and interactive web-based geovisualization. Class time will be divided between discussion of principles and practices, and hands-on laboratory activities.
[Source: Registrar, 12/24/2016] DISTR: SLA
In the Library's collection
These are search terms you can use in the online catalog.
- cartography AND visualizationThis is a keyword search.
- geovisualizationThis is a keyword search.
- visualizationA more general subject search.
- brewer, cynthiaThis is an author search.
Introductory reading(s)
Cartographic relief presentation by Call Number: Baker-Berry GA 125 .I4513 2007ISBN: 9781589480261Publication Date: 1st ed.Eduard Imhof's classic book Cartographic Relief Presentation is once again available. Within the discipline of cartography, few works are considered classics in the sense of retaining their interest, relevance, and inspiration with the passage of time. One such work is Imhof's masterpiece on relief representation. As a unique display of analysis and portrayal, this is an outstanding example of the need for cartography to combine intellect and graphics in solving map design problems. The range, detail, and scientific artistry of his solutions are presented in a teaching context that puts this work in a class by itself, with universal significance.
Designing better maps: a guide for GIS users by Call Number: Baker-Berry GA 105.3 .B74 2016ISBN: 9781589484405Publication Date: 2nd ed.Designing Better Maps: A Guide for GIS Users is a comprehensive guide to creating maps that communicate effectively.
Encyclopedia of geographic information science by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781412913133Geographic information science (GIS) is an emerging field that combines aspects of many different disciplines. As a result, GIS literature is spread widely across the academic spectrum and the vocabulary is an amalgam of all of these fields. Often, given the specialized disciplinary orientations of authors, some expectation of foundational knowledge is assumed in much of the literature, making it difficult for readers from different disciplines to understand the full context of what they are reading. The Encyclopedia of Geographical Information Science provides a condensed but rich resource about themes broadly across the field. It also provides details about the key foundations of GIS, no matter what their disciplinary origins, and is, therefore, an important resource for both academic and corporate libraries. ...
Geographic visualization: concepts, tools and applications by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780470515112Geographic Visualization: Concepts, Tools and Applications is a 'state-of-the-art' review of the latest developments in the subject. It examines how new concepts, methods and tools can be creatively applied to solve problems relevant to a wide range of topics. ...
The geospatial web: how geobrowsers, social software and the Web 2.0 are shaping the network society by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781846288265This volume emphasizes the applications and implications of the Geospatial Web and the role of contextual knowledge in shaping the emerging network society. There is a clear focus on applied geospatial aspects. The book has contributions from a very active research community. Containing chapters from renowned researchers and practitioners, this volume will be invaluable to all interested in this field.
Thematic cartography and geovisualization by Call Number: Baker-Berry GA 108.7 .S58 2009ISBN: 9780132298346This comprehensive volume blends broad coverage of basic methods for symbolizing spatial data with an introduction to cutting-edge data visualization techniques. It offers clear descriptions of various aspects of effective, efficient map design, with an emphasis on the practical application of design theories and appropriate use of map elements. ...- Visualization in modern cartography byCall Number: Baker-Berry GA 108.7 .V58 1994ISBN: 9780080424163Visualization in Modern Cartography explores links between the centuries-old discipline of cartography and today's revolutionary developments in scientific visualization. The book has three main goals: (1) to pass on design and symbolization expertise to the scientific visualization community - information that comes from centuries of pre-computer visualization by cartographers, and their more recent experiences with computerizing the discipline; (2) to help cartographers cope with the dramatic shift from print cartography to a dynamic virtual cartography for which their role is changing from that of map designer to one of spatial information display (and/or interface) designer; (3) to illustrate the expanded role for cartography in geographic, environmental, planning, and earth science applications that comes with the development of interactive geographic visualization tools.
Selected book titles
Atlas of design by Call Number: Baker-Berry GA 101 .A85 v.1 -The Atlas of Design is dedicated to showing off some of the world’s most beautiful and intriguing cartographic design.
Cartography: an introduction by Call Number: Baker-Berry GA 105.3 .D37 2017ISBN: 9780904482256Publication Date: 2nd ed.This book is part of the British Cartographic Society's "Better Mapping Campaign." It show what works well in map design and to help people who map how they communicate with their viewers.- Cartography design annual byCall Number: Evans Map Room GA 101 .C374 no.1 2008Selected maps from around the world intended to illustrate the beauty of mapping.
Envisioning information by Call Number: Baker-Berry P 93.5 .T83 1990ISBN: 9780961392116This book celebrates escapes from the flatlands of both paper and computer screen, showing superb displays of high-dimensional complex data. The most design-oriented of Edward Tufte's books, Envisioning Information shows maps, charts, scientific presentations, diagrams, computer interfaces, statistical graphics and tables, stereo photographs, guidebooks, courtroom exhibits, timetables, use of color, a pop-up, and many other wonderful displays of information. The book provides practical advice about how to explain complex material by visual means, with extraordinary examples to illustrate the fundamental principles of information displays. ...
Making maps: a visual guide to map design for GIS by Call Number: Baker-Berry GA 105.3 .K79 2016ISBN: 9781462509980Publication Date: 3rd ed.Lauded for its accessibility and beautiful design, this text has given thousands of students and professionals the tools to create effective, compelling maps. Using a wealth of illustrations--with 74 in full color--to elucidate each concisely presented point, the revised and updated third edition continues to emphasize how design choices relate to the reasons for making a map and its intended purpose. All components of map making are covered: titles, labels, legends, visual hierarchy, font selection, how to turn phenomena into visual data, data organization, symbolization, and more. ...
Virtual geographic environments by Call Number: Baker-Berry G 70.212 .V57 2012ISBN: 9781589483187Virtual Geographic Environments collects key papers that define the current momentum in GIS and "virtual geographies." Contributions by leading members of the geospatial community to Virtual Geographic Environments illustrate the cutting edge of GIScience, as well as new applications of GIS with the processing and delivery of geographic information through the Web and handheld devices, forming two major directions to these developments. ...
Finding journal article literature
You can find published literature on geovisualization in many publications. You can use a specific, subject index such as GeoRef to find articles. Listed below are a couple of relevant journals. You can also use the search box at the top of the page.
Cartographica: the international journal for geographic information and geovisualization by Call Number: Electronic journalCartographica delivers cutting-edge international research in all aspects of cartography (including the production, design, use, cognitive understanding, and history of maps), geovisualization, and GIScience. ...
GeoRef by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers all areas of the Earth Sciences. It also covers a wide range of Physical Geography too.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Keeping up with the journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for Cartography or GIS? And do you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.