Research Guides: Business : Companies: Key Resources

Company Databases

Company financials, transactions, significant developments, SWOT analysis

Bloomberg
Real-time news, financial and economic data. Worldwide pricing of bonds, stocks, commodities, currencies, money markets, and mortgages, with historical data. Economic time series, company financial statements, press releases, analysts forecasts, company filings and prospectuses, executive profiles, and more. Bloomberg terminals are available in Feldberg Library.
CalcBench
A database and research tool for financial statement analysis, financial accounting, and auditing of public companies using SEC data.

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
S&P Capital IQ provides a wealth of information on companies, markets and people. Covers market intelligence, financial analysis, screening and targeting, and relationships between people and organizations. Register for an account.
D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
162 million+ public, private, and nonprofit global companies. News, corporate overviews, financial data, market research reports, analyst reports, executive biographies, SWOT analysis, significant developments, strategic initiatives, industry norms, market share. Create lists of companies that match a given set of criteria.
EMIS Intelligence (fka EMIS Emerging Markets) This link opens in a new window
Provides information about emerging market countries, their companies, and industries. It includes country profiles; macroeconomic statistics, forecasts, and analysis; reports on financial markets, companies and industries; exchange rates; analyst reports; and business news, both in English and the local languages.
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Country-specific industry reports include market overviews, data, segmentation, outlook and five forces analysis. Company reports include financials, top competitors, deals and SWOT analyses.

opencorporates
The largest open database of companies in the world

Orbis This link opens in a new window
306+ million public and private companies worldwide: financials in a standardized format, financial strength indicators, ratings, directors and contacts, filings, stock data, PE data, detailed corporate ownership structures, industry research, news, M&A deals and rumors, and global patent agreements.

OSIRIS (via WRDS)
Osiris has information on listed, and major unlisted/delisted, companies around the world. The information is very detailed and includes a lot more than financial reports. Different templates are used to show accounts in the correct formats for their company type and location. It covers around 80,000 companies. Request an account

PitchBook This link opens in a new window
PitchBook tracks every aspect of the public and private equity markets, including venture capital, private equity and M&A. Research and analyze companies, deals, funds, investors and service providers across the entire private investment lifecycle.

Users are limited to 10 downloads per day and 25 downloads per month. (1 download = 1 row of data on an Excel file).
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Business and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies. PrivCo also covers venture capital funding deals, private equity deals, and merger acquisition data.
LSEG (Refinitiv) Workspace This link opens in a new window
LSEG Workspace (fka Refinitiv) provides information on public & private global companies and includes: financials and filings, overview, news & corporate events, deals, share ownership, and analyst reports. Workspace also provides market views as well as screening and analysis for companies, deals/league tables, private equity, mergers and acquisition data, and more. Register for LSEG Workspace
S&P's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Industry surveys of 50+ major U.S. industries, including current environment, industry profile, trends, how the industry operates, key industry ratios & statistics, how to analyze the industry and downloadable comparative company analysis.

Analyst Reports

LSEG (Refinitiv) Workspace This link opens in a new window
LSEG Workspace (fka Refinitiv) provides information on public & private global companies and includes: financials and filings, overview, news & corporate events, deals, share ownership, and analyst reports. Workspace also provides market views as well as screening and analysis for companies, deals/league tables, private equity, mergers and acquisition data, and more. Register for LSEG Workspace

Bloomberg
Real-time news, financial and economic data. Worldwide pricing of bonds, stocks, commodities, currencies, money markets, and mortgages, with historical data. Economic time series, company financial statements, press releases, analysts forecasts, company filings and prospectuses, executive profiles, and more. Bloomberg terminals are available in Feldberg Library.

Company Valuation

See our separate Business Valuation guide for resources on:

Industry Norms
Multiples
Beta and Cost of Capital
Comps
PPC's Guide to Business Valuations

HBS Case Studies

1. Find your cases:

Harvard Business School (HBS) Cases

2. Submit your requests. Specify your are requesting an HBS Case and include title and case number. Requests filled Monday - Friday.

Tuck Students: Limit 5 cases per year. Email request to Feldberg.ILL@dartmouth.edu.
Dartmouth Community: Request HBS cases through Interlibrary Loan.

NOTE: Due to copyright agreements with the vendor, HBS Case Studies will be printed and made available for pickup. We are not allowed to distribute electronic versions of HBS Cases.

Additional Case Study Resources

Candid Issue Lab
Search for case studies of nonprofits and societal issues.
European Case Clearinghouse (ECCH)
Due to ECCH restrictions students must purchase cases directly, the library can't purchase them for you.
MIT Sloan Case Studies
Free teaching case studies on the following topics: Accounting and Finance, Entrepreneurship, Leadership and Ethics, Operations Management, Strategy, Sustainability, and System Dynamics
WARC Case Studies
Marketing and advertising effectiveness case studies.

Looking for Harvard Business Review?

Harvard Business Review (via Business Source Complete)
Available from 10/01/1922