Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History of Dartmouth College: Finding Aids

A guide resources for conducting research in Rauner Library's Special Collections on the history of Dartmouth College. It includes finding aids to primary source collections, photographs, and digital collections.

What is a Finding Aid?

A finding aid is a guide to the contents of a collection.

Finding aids generally provide an overview of the collection, a description of the subset of the collection (called a series) and a box or file listing describing the contents of the collection in detail.

Many of Rauner's collections have finding aids that are on-line, but many are only available in paper form in the Reading Room. We are working to get all of our guides on-line.

Searching Finding Aids

There are two ways to get to finding aids. The first is to search in the catalog the other is to search the finding aids directly.

Searching the catalog has the advantage that it will lead you to collections that do not yet have on-line finding aids as well as related books and other resources.

Keep in mind that not all of Rauner's collections are represented in the catalog. If you cannot find what you are looking for, email Peter Carini or Rauner Reference

 

Library Catalog

(It is recommended to start with a keyword search limited to Rauner)

 

Finding Aids

Finding aids provide an overview of the collection and, depending on the level to which the collection has been process, they will also provide a description of the materials in each box. For full processed collection the listing will provide a list of the folder titles in each box.

College Archivist

Peter Carini's picture
Peter Carini
Contact:
Rauner Special Collections Library

6065 Webster Hall

(603) 646-3728
Website
Subjects:Polar Studies