Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History of Dartmouth College: Digital Collections

A guide resources for conducting research in Rauner Library's Special Collections on the history of Dartmouth College. It includes finding aids to primary source collections, photographs, and digital collections.

Digital Collections Related to Dartmouth History

Occom Circle Project

Letters, reports, accounts, sermons and journals to, from, and concerning Samson Occom (1723-1792), from the 1740s to the early 1790s. Includes discussion of the formation and early years of Dartmouth College.

Dartmouth Films

A wide variety of films related to Dartmouth College created by students, alumni and the College.

Hanover Maps

Maps of Dartmouth College, Hanover NH and the Upper Valley documenting the area from the 18th century to 20th century in the Evans Map Room. Additional maps of Dartmouth and Hanover are avialble in Rauner Library.

 

Photographic Records

images created by College Photographers Adrian N. Bouchard (1938-1976); Stuart  Bratesman (1985-1993); Joseph Mehling (1993-2011); and Eli Burak (2011-present). Only images  from ca. 2000 will be viewable online, though text descriptions of most  images are available by searching the collection.  Please note the call  number of any image that you wish to use in your project.

Rauner Photo Files

he Dartmouth College Photo Files are a diverse collection of approximately 80,000 photographs related to Dartmouth College, Hanover and the surrounding area. Images date from the early years of photography (ca. 1850s) to the present and include images of nearly all aspects of Dartmouth College life. This is an ongoing project with images being added on a weekly basis. If you do not find what you need here, please contact: rauner.reference@dartmouth.edu

 

College Archivist

Peter Carini's picture
Peter Carini
Contact:
Rauner Special Collections Library

6065 Webster Hall

(603) 646-3728
Website
Subjects:Polar Studies