Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History of Dartmouth College: Finding Photographs

A guide resources for conducting research in Rauner Library's Special Collections on the history of Dartmouth College. It includes finding aids to primary source collections, photographs, and digital collections.

How to Access Photographic Images of the College

There are two main sources of photographic images related to the College in the Archives.

1. Photographic Records

Photographic records represents images taken by the College Photographer.  The position of College photographer was established in 1938 to take publicity picture for the College of the campus and campus events.  The catalog includes digital images taken by the College Photographer between 2000 and the present and descriptions of earlier photographs.  We are adding scans of earlier images as we are able.

Searching the Photographic Records Catalog:

Go to the catalog

 

2. Photo Files

 

Photo Files, like Vertical Files, are quick and easy way to get to images related to College events.

 

Photo files are a conglomeration of photographs taken by professionals and amateurs of the College and the surrounding area.  Photo files are arranged by subject (Winter Carnival Queens, Freshman Picture Fights, etc.).  There is a local database of these files that can be accessed from computers in Rauner’s reading room or you can ask a librarian for assistance. The Library is in the process of digitizing the Photo Files, a subset is available and we are adding to these on regular basis. If you do not find what you need here, please contact: rauner.reference@dartmouth.edu

 

Go to Digital Photo Files

 

 

College Archivist

Peter Carini's picture
Peter Carini
Contact:
Rauner Special Collections Library

6065 Webster Hall

(603) 646-3728
Website
Subjects:Polar Studies