Research Guides: Business : Economic Data: Key Resources

Databases

Bloomberg
Real-time news, financial and economic data. Worldwide pricing of bonds, stocks, commodities, currencies, money markets, and mortgages, with historical data. Economic time series, company financial statements, press releases, analysts forecasts, company filings and prospectuses, executive profiles, and more. Bloomberg terminals are available in Feldberg Library.

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
S&P Capital IQ provides a wealth of information on companies, markets and people. Covers market intelligence, financial analysis, screening and targeting, and relationships between people and organizations. Register for an account.

Datastream
Global historical data and analytics: equities, market indices, company accounts, macroeconomics, bonds, foreign exchange, interest rates, commodities and derivatives. Daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, and yearly formats, covering 30+ years. Available within WRDS or by permission within LSEG Workspace.

EIU Viewpoint This link opens in a new window
From the Economist Intelligence Unit, providing information on the business, economic, and political environment for nearly 200 countries. Detailed reviews and analysis of political and economic events, with a 1-2 year political outlook and economic projection.
Global Financial Data This link opens in a new window
Financial and economic time series data covering 200 countries and 20,000 different data series. Includes data on markets from 1690, exchange rates from 1590, interest rates from 1700, commodities from 1500, and inflation from 1264.
EMIS Intelligence (fka EMIS Emerging Markets) This link opens in a new window
Provides information about emerging market countries, their companies, and industries. It includes country profiles; macroeconomic statistics, forecasts, and analysis; reports on financial markets, companies and industries; exchange rates; analyst reports; and business news, both in English and the local languages.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Indexes business and management journals worldwide; covers corporate strategies, marketing, product development, industry conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and more. Includes the full text of articles from many publishers and links to full text options for other articles. 1923 to present.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes business journals worldwide; covers marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, economics and more. Also includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses. Includes the full text of articles from many publishers and links to full text options for other articles. 1886 to present.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Indexes 30+ years of economics literature from around the world. Compiled by the American Economic Association, EconLit is a comprehensive index of journal articles, books, book reviews, collective volume articles, working papers and dissertations.

ICPSR- Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
Inter-university Consortium for Political & Social Research. Find & Analyse Data.
NBER Working Papers
The full text for all working papers since November 1994 is available here. Basic bibliographic information is available for all papers.
SSRN: Social Science Research Network
Social science research papers, working papers series, conference papers across 24 disciplines including: accounting, corporate governance, economics, entrepreneurship, finance, health economics, innovation, ebusiness, leadership, management, marketing, negotiation, and sustainability.

US Bureau of Labor Statistics
Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
US Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
Quantitative analysis and data on national, regional, industry, and international accounts.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Online database consisting of more than 148,000 economic data time series from 59 national, international, public, and private sources. FRED, created and maintained by Research Department at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
Federal Reserve Bank of NY Global Economic Indicators
Economic and financial conditions for the US and selected countries.

OECD iLibrary
For access to OECD statistical databases, click on the STATISTICS tab at the top. Publications - monographs, periodicals, and statistical databases - issued by the Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD).
The World Bank Data Catalog
Global economic coverage.
UN Comtrade
Free access to all of the data available in the UN Comtrade database. The UN Comtrade database contains more than 3.1 billion trade records starting from 1962.
United Nations Statistical Databases
Commodity trade statistics, demographics, Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online.