Finding scholarly articles and journals
Academic search complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Defining energy
The physical capacity for doing work. Nearly all our energy derives from the sun, and technical progress has reflected more and more sophisticated uses of energy, from wind and water, through fossil fuels, to nuclear power.
In the early stages of industrialization, energy consumption is closely related to levels of economic development, and per capita GNP—see Zeng et al. (2008) Science 319, 5864 on China. Mature economies tend to be more energy efficient, perhaps because technology improves, and the emphasis shifts to service industries (M. Carr 1997). Even so, the advanced economies still account for most of the world’s energy consumption.
World demand for energy has increased so much that an energy crisis (a potential shortage of energy) has been identified; see the Roosevelt Institution’s 25 ways of solving the energy crisis. This crisis, together with the adverse environmental effects associated with the burning of fossil fuels (greenhouse effect, acid rain) has led to increased emphasis on energy conservation. Energy intensity is energy consumption per unit GDP. AAAG 101 (2011), issue 4 is devoted to new geographies of energy.
Mayhew, S. (2015). Energy. In A Dictionary of Geography. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 26 Apr. 2022
Selected resource(s) for Energy and Geography
Energy humanities: an anthology by Call Number: Baker-Berry T 14 .E58 2017ISBN: 9781421421896How can humanities scholars help us respond to growing concerns about climate change and fossil fuels? Energy humanities is a field of scholarship that, like medical and digital humanities before it, aims to overcome traditional boundaries between the disciplines and between academic and applied research. Responding to growing public concern about anthropogenic climate change and the unsustainability of the fuels we use to power our modern society, energy humanists highlight the essential contribution that humanistic insights and methods can make to areas of analysis once thought best left to the natural sciences. ...- Energy resources and use from the Oxford Bibliographies Online byHuman societies have depended on access to readily available supplies of fuel and other energy resources since the earliest civilizations, because people need energy to conduct work and to survive. This dependence has been an important factor in the location of communities. The earliest sources of energy were animal and human muscle power, including slaves, and various forms of biomass, solar, and wind power. ...
Geographies of energy from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002The past decade has seen an explosion of geographical work around energy. Taking energy research outside the exclusive domain of the technological, these “energy geographies” are unpacking the social, cultural, and political dimensions of energy production and consumption, and the ways by which space, place, landscape, and territory co-constitute such energy processes. While this work strides across human and physical geography, it is within human geography where most of the work is being carried out. This emerging scholarship responds to—and is framed by—key contemporary debates, including climate change, a drive to move toward a low carbon economy, issues of resource constraints and security, and the rise of non-conventional fossil fuels. ...
International encyclopedia of geography: people, the Earth, environment, and technology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780470659632Representing the definitive reference work for this broad and dynamic field, The International Encyclopedia of Geography arises from an unprecedented collaboration between Wiley and the American Association of Geographers (AAG) to review and define the concepts, research, and techniques in geography and interrelated fields. The Encyclopedia assembles a truly global group of scholars for a comprehensive, authoritative overview of geography around the world.
The new continentalism: energy and twenty-first-century Eurasian geopolitics by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780300171020In this groundbreaking book Kent E. Calder argues that a new transnational configuration is emerging in Asia, driven by economic growth, rising energy demand, and the erosion of longstanding geopolitical divisions. What Calder calls the New Silk Road--with a strengthening multi-faceted relationship between East Asia and the Middle East at its core--could eventually emerge as one of the world's most important multilateral configurations. ...- Renewable energy from Oxford Bibliographies Online byA renewable energy source is one that is constantly replenishing itself, including power harnessed from the sun, wind, moving water, and geothermal sources. Energy use by human civilization is best understood in contrast to nonrenewable energy sources, including fossil and fissile fuels, which can be exhausted when resources are depleted at rates faster than they are reproduced. Renewable energy is human civilization’s oldest energy resource. For most of human history, civilization was powered by renewable energy, until the discovery of fossil fuels in the 18th century. ...
The Routledge research companion to energy geographies by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781472464194Energy has become a central concern of many strands of geographical inquiry, from global climate change to the effects of energy decisions on our lives. However, many aspects of the 'black box' of relationships at the energy-society interface remain unopened, especially in terms of the spatial underpinnings of energy production and consumption within nations, cities and regions. Debates focusing on the location and nature of energy flows frequently fail to consider the multiple geographical networks that illustrate and explain the distribution of fuels and services around the world. ...
